• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 11, 2018
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Chris Barton
    Mar 9, 2018
    70
    It's all pretty absurd, but the show is too light on its feet to begrudge for long.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 8, 2018
    67
    Deception isn’t likely to win any awards, except perhaps from the Society of American Magicians. As escapist fare, though, it turns the trick, plays its cards well, pulls a rabbit from the hat, etc. Or as ABC might say, “Abracadabra, here’s to another Castle.”
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Mar 7, 2018
    63
    Platinum-plated nonsense--but also self-aware enough to know just how nonsensical. Deception is mostly just a lot of fun.
  4. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Mar 9, 2018
    60
    The three procedural cases in the episodes I've seen are all decent and sometimes even clever, it's just that a formula sets in so quickly that a lot of dramatic tension is sapped. If every episode is going to have Cameron and his team doing a misdirected illusion to fool the bad guys and the audience is in on that inevitability, we never get to experience the pleasure of magic, which is the whole "being fooled by it" thing.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Mar 12, 2018
    50
    Deception is fairly charming in spite of its blah procedural trappings thanks to Mr. Cutmore-Scott and his character’s bag of tricks and magic team.
  6. 40
    There’s no snap in the storytelling or the filmmaking, just scenes of people talking, talking, talking while the camera sometimes cuts to whatever they’re talking about. Cameron never stops explaining things to other characters, most of whom seem to be there to argue with him or ask follow-up questions so that he has an excuse to explain things some more.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Mar 6, 2018
    30
    Never rising above its hokey premise, the procedural is further sunk by transparent mysteries, hollow supporting characters, and a fatal lack of surprises. Ironically, it feels like the exact opposite of a successful trick: Nearly every turn is telegraphed early and often.
  8. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 8, 2018
    25
    Deception feels not only time-tested, but timeworn.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 46
  2. Negative: 8 out of 46
  1. May 21, 2018
    10
    The cancellation was so quick, it didn't even give Deception a chance to show all its potential - which is huge, because it has a great cast,The cancellation was so quick, it didn't even give Deception a chance to show all its potential - which is huge, because it has a great cast, and a great story, and great character development and relationships.
    Deception might sound silly, when first hearing about it (come on, a magician that helps solve crimes?), but it's incredibly good. It's filled with magic tricks, has twins (everything is better with twins), and fun. And it's a good humor, not a ridiculous, forced humor we find in so many series. It deserves more.
    Full Review »
  2. May 17, 2018
    10
    I think Deception is a great show and definitely worthy of another season. I like that it’s based on twins (hardly any shows based on thatI think Deception is a great show and definitely worthy of another season. I like that it’s based on twins (hardly any shows based on that concept), is different from the usual police/FBI procedurals that are so prolific on TV and that there is some magic involved. It’s something the whole family can watch but still has enough adult themes to interest those who don’t have teenagers etc. There’s murder, theft, general violence but much less gratuitous than in the other police franchises and different enough from the CSI-style shows. . The use of magic (or deception) to help catch the criminals is a nice touch and it’s never that the use of magic solves the crime, only that it helps trap the criminal etc.

    It's good fun and has some great one-liners and I like that the show has started spending a little more time on Jonathan’s story in prison rather than focusing on the case-of-the-week only. It also has some slightly darker elements but the overall tone is optimistic due to the ‘main’ character Cameron being very upbeat mostly. There’s also some surprisingly poignant moments where we get to see more depth from some of the backing characters (even more surprisingly from Vinnie Jones’ character). I dislike though the hints about a romance between Cameron and Kay (the lead FBI agent), as honestly, it’s so cliched to have that element (two main characters falling in love) in yet another show; I do like that the ‘secondary’ characters have a romance instead.

    The main problem has been the lack of advertising focus and the timeslot that was chosen for Deception – many people wouldn’t watch something like this so late on a Sunday.
    Full Review »
  3. May 11, 2018
    10
    I LOVE THE SHOW AND ITS STORY-LINE ESPECIALLY ON HOW THE SCENE IS BEING PRESENTED AND OF COURSE HIGHLIGHTING OF WHAT THE SHOW IS MEANT TO BEI LOVE THE SHOW AND ITS STORY-LINE ESPECIALLY ON HOW THE SCENE IS BEING PRESENTED AND OF COURSE HIGHLIGHTING OF WHAT THE SHOW IS MEANT TO BE "ILLUSIONS/TRICKS". COMEDY AND DRAMA - WELL BALANCED. I'M LOOKING FORWARD FOR MORE TRICKS. Full Review »