Defiance : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 15, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 266 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In 2046, Joshua Nolan (Grant Bowler) returns to his hometown after the wars with aliens have transformed Earth.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    May 15, 2013
    83
    The individual alien races aren't all that fresh. Yet I am engaged by the show's lively metaphor for a polyglot culture fractured by tribalism and Otherness, for a world that can easily put aside past pain and present differences to tackle a common threat.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 17, 2013
    70
    There's a lot of genre-bending in this one but some real entertainment value, dramatic potential and, hell, if it can be half of what Battlestar Galactica was, that's a winning combination.
  3. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Apr 15, 2013
    67
    The pilot is so busy establishing its new world, performances are afterthought generic. But Defiance gets more distinctive, and dramatic, through its next two hour episodes.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 15, 2013
    58
    The show’s pacing, particularly in the first hour, could trigger a nap.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 15, 2013
    50
    Defiance is less gritty than Syfy's best series, "Battlestar Galactica," and the characters aren't as well drawn as on the superior "Farscape." "Defiance" lands at a slightly higher end of the murky middle ground of quality.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Apr 15, 2013
    50
    The visionary environments are without blemish, and the sound design is on the level of some of Hollywood's heavy-hitters. Yet the stodgy inaction between each explosive set piece is so often bereft of substance that to endure Defiance is to lamentably scour its orbit for any exiguous points of engrossment.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 15, 2013
    20
    If you’re a sci-fi fan for whom this stuff can never be too complex, have at it. If you’re not, wait an hour and watch “Revolution.”

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 94
  2. Negative: 23 out of 94
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Like everyone else I didnt think the 2 hour premier is making history as the new Star trek. But its really become my new favorite show. ILike everyone else I didnt think the 2 hour premier is making history as the new Star trek. But its really become my new favorite show. I think the cast is amazing and a perfect fit to the movie, and there is so much room for character development, Something I believe gives longativity to any show. And from playing the game I can certainly say the show has along way to go to fully explain everything and I sure cant wait!!! Expand
  2. Jun 22, 2015
    10
    I just finished Binge-watching both Seasons 1&2 and the first 3 episodes of S3 so that is what this review is based upon. I will start byI just finished Binge-watching both Seasons 1&2 and the first 3 episodes of S3 so that is what this review is based upon. I will start by saying OMG this show is Phenomenal. I had nothing to watch since GOT ended and I decided to watch this and thank God for that bc this show killed it in every area. I will start with the story it takes place on Earth in the year 2046 after multiple alien species landed years prior and centers upon Nolan and Irisa in the Town of Defiance. The story is simple but gets even better as time progresses. I will now talk about the cast which is in my opinion the best part. I will credit the 2 best actors in the show that being Nolan played by Grant Bowler and my favorite character Datak who is played by Tony Curran both are astounding actors. I will also say that all of the actors and actresses did an Amazing job of keeping the story engaging. I will now movie onto the action which I will say is sometimes a tad corny but the majority of the time it's Insanely Epic. I would recommend this show in a heart beat and S3 is so far the Best season yet. F.Y.I one of the main villains in S3 called General Rahm Tak who is played by Lee Tergesen is an absolutely mind blowing villain who is now probably just after 3 episodes my favorite villain of any television show to date. Go and Watch this show Now lolz. Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    We may just have a winner here. I see tons of potential in this show. I wasn't "blown away" by the pilot, but I was very entertained andWe may just have a winner here. I see tons of potential in this show. I wasn't "blown away" by the pilot, but I was very entertained and curious to see more after it ended. I'm rating this a 10 to counter the inevitable trolls that will come here and give it a 0 because it's a SyFY show. Expand
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    8
    I'm not much of a big sci-fi fan but this show is beginning to turn me into one. "Defiance" is well written, fast-paced, action-packed, andI'm not much of a big sci-fi fan but this show is beginning to turn me into one. "Defiance" is well written, fast-paced, action-packed, and has great performances from the cast. The show's plot is very intriguing and the script has a sense of humor on it which definitely works for me. Unfortunately, I find the atmosphere a little bit sloppy yet the effects are still great. I just hope they'll improve this problem in further episodes. But still, I'm excited too see where the show will take us. Expand
  5. Apr 23, 2013
    5
    It has a few good parts, but it is overall slightly boring. It doesn't have the thrills achieved by "The Walking Dead", or the mysteryIt has a few good parts, but it is overall slightly boring. It doesn't have the thrills achieved by "The Walking Dead", or the mystery achieved by "Revolution", it just has a few good shooting scenes. It's disappointing, but you should still watch it, at least the pilot. Expand
  6. Jun 21, 2015
    4
    There are a lot of things I really like about the show. The premise of the war and the general backstory really took me in at the beginning.There are a lot of things I really like about the show. The premise of the war and the general backstory really took me in at the beginning. The actors are good save for one or two minor characters, which is surpsing because usually when I find myself disliking a show the actors certainly don't help.

    The script writing and quality of world design ranges from lazy fan-fic to intern level. The aliens being pasty versions of humans or humans with a slightly different forehead shape I can ignore to a point. While humans would realistically look much more dissimilar to humans, it's a common sci-fi trope that they would be very similar.

    However, the script writing I can't ignore. I wanted to like this show, but there were just moments where the script writing was consistently bad for 10-15 minutes at a time to the point where I paused it to do something else because despite my curiosity of the series and the interesting premise...their lines were just too generic.

    While it's true that you could do much worse for a sci-fi series, there's also much better out there as well. I personally would rather rewatch other sci-fi shows for the third or fourth time than watch this one a single time. It has it's merits, and if you can get past the abysmal dialogue it's a nice "nothing else is on" show, but I wouldn't ever recommend it to any of my friends.
    Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2013
    0
    we all know the show is over period not one show has lasted through a year of silence it will become a mute show. too bad i liked this one,we all know the show is over period not one show has lasted through a year of silence it will become a mute show. too bad i liked this one, now theres no reason to watch it they killed it real quick kinda stinks... Expand

See all 94 User Reviews

Trailers