Derek : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 12, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Derek Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Sep 11, 2013
    100
    It's hilarious, and sad, and ironic, and rich.
  2. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 6, 2013
    75
    Even if his acting feels like a sentimental stunt, Gervais wrote and directed the series with gentle skill. [16 Sep 2013, p.41]
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 10, 2013
    75
    It may be the nicest show you'll ever see.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 12, 2013
    60
    There's an appeal to the gentle spirit of Derek but it would have a stronger pull if the plotting was less dull.
  5. 60
    Derek is engaging and sometimes very funny. Parts of it are ostentatiously sentimental, verging on gooey.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Oct 3, 2013
    50
    It [the (pseudo-documentary) cameras] was effective in The Office; here it’s just repetitive and annoying.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Sep 11, 2013
    40
    The mush outweighs the wit, with episodes ending on tides of sentiment.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    The rating here is completely misleading. This show is incredibly cleverly written and beautifully acted.
    The performances are tender,
    The rating here is completely misleading. This show is incredibly cleverly written and beautifully acted.
    The performances are tender, nuanced, layered and very considered.
    The photography is reminiscent of The Office for obvious reasons.
    It's the subtleties which make this a truly great piece of work, like the little glances to camera.
    The soundtracks chosen for some of the episodes is almost inspired. Some of the actors performances are incredible, main characters and bit parters alike. It's so clever you very easily begin to sympathise with the characters plights, it takes a great deal of effort to remember they're actors!
    Overall, a fabulous endeavour, absolutely not to missed, and a real credit to all concerned.
    I laughed and cried. Thanks.
    Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    One of the funniest loveliest programmes I have ever seen. The elderly actors are so natural and endearing. I have cried laughing and withOne of the funniest loveliest programmes I have ever seen. The elderly actors are so natural and endearing. I have cried laughing and with tears of pure emotion. Expand
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Derek had possibly the best pilot episode I've ever seen, for any series. I loved the show immediately for its wit, impeccable acting, andDerek had possibly the best pilot episode I've ever seen, for any series. I loved the show immediately for its wit, impeccable acting, and genuine emotion.

    Like the other reviewers said, there is not one ounce of pretension in this show - it's a down-to-earth work of art from Gervais that thematically suggests there's more to life than being clever and good-looking. People who loved the realism and profundity of Extras will love this show, but will be happy to find that it's funnier and more tightly written. This is Gervais's most mature work to date and shows his astonishing talent when he's in control of every aspect of a project. The economy of his writing and editing is razor sharp, and there's not one line or one scene in Derek that I would take out. Everything about Derek is perfection - well done Ricky!

    The critics reviews are disappointing. I disagree with their claims that the show is heavy-handed with sentimentality and that the mockumentary style is getting old. The emotions in Derek are real, and Gervais tries to say something honest about humanity without shoving it down our throats - he inspires us to ask questions within ourselves. The fake documentary style feels like a natural way to tell Derek's story - a style Gervais has done before, but nonetheless incredibly fresh in its execution here.
    Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    Probably his most personal work, and certainly his bravest - Ricky Gervais shows us he still still willing to take big risks; it's the onlyProbably his most personal work, and certainly his bravest - Ricky Gervais shows us he still still willing to take big risks; it's the only way to get the big rewards and there are plenty here for the open minded viewer. Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    Absolutley brilliant! I only watched it cus Karl Pilkingtons in it and i love that guy. But this is so much more than i expected. I recommendAbsolutley brilliant! I only watched it cus Karl Pilkingtons in it and i love that guy. But this is so much more than i expected. I recommend doing as i did and watch the whole series in one go, it took me just over 2 hours. Awesome, i really hope they do another series! Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Funny, sad and smart. The humor is similar to The Office but what makes Derek such a good show is that it doesn't rely only on humor. Derek isFunny, sad and smart. The humor is similar to The Office but what makes Derek such a good show is that it doesn't rely only on humor. Derek is a comedy with substance. I cannot recommend it enough. Brilliant. Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2014
    0
    There is literally nothing to like about Ricky Gervaris's 'Derek'. It's mawkish rubbish from beginning to end, stopping only for crass,There is literally nothing to like about Ricky Gervaris's 'Derek'. It's mawkish rubbish from beginning to end, stopping only for crass, playground humour lacking in any wit or sophistication. The nauseatingly twee sentiments extend Gervais's own condescending Twitter presence with clumsy poignancy wrapped up in implausibly naivety. Haters gonna hate? No. In this case, lovers are gonna love. Those convinced by Gervais seem to inexhaustibly excuse his increasingly diminishing returns, sometimes to the point one wonders if they employ any critical analysis at all. This is embarrassing from the man who co-wrote The Office, and evidence once more - as if it was needed - that the nuance and subtlety so wonderfully evident in his earlier work was perhaps not attributable to him. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews