Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Jun 16, 2015
    100
    Superb characterizations and riveting action are leavened by wry humor, making Deutschland delightfully addictive.
  2. Reviewed by: Genevieve Valentine
    Jun 17, 2015
    83
    Deutschland 83 is a stylish take on the spy genre that carefully balances its humor with high stakes, and with Nay as an anchor, promises that this is a spy caper worth a few summer weeks.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Joe McGovern
    Jun 15, 2015
    83
    The series is imbued with retro cool and, similar to the winking hindsight of Mad Men, takes pleasure in mixing a complicated past with a keen sense of pop. [19 Jun 2015, p.57]
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 17, 2015
    80
    The show manages to juggle suspense with light moments without spoiling either mood.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 17, 2015
    80
    The premiere episode of Deutschland 83 delivers an excellent mix of coming of age character drama and espionage derring-do. For viewers not allergic to subtitles, it's well worth watching.
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jun 16, 2015
    80
    It’s serious and it can be stark, but it’s also funny and brisk, a coming-of-age story with a sense of adventure.
  7. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jun 15, 2015
    80
    Beneath the light moments and the spy-versus-spy stuff, the series has a perspective that makes it refreshing.
  8. Reviewed by: Elisabeth Vincentelli
    Jun 16, 2015
    75
    What really makes this eight-episode series stand out is its setting, because a family divided is more impactful than strangers going at each other.
  9. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 15, 2015
    75
    Nothing gets lost in translation in Deutschland 83, especially the timeless human drama.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 4 out of 70
  1. Jun 27, 2015
    8
    The show is a hell of a lot of fun. At first, as someone from the West,it's tough getting our bearings on the East/West German thing, andThe show is a hell of a lot of fun. At first, as someone from the West,it's tough getting our bearings on the East/West German thing, and keeping alliances straight. But in a way, it's a nice companion piece to The Americans, in that the main characters are not your traditionally sympathetic protagonists. You're "rooting" for people who are the traditional enemies. But it makes things fun and fresh. Full Review »
  2. Dec 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I thought that Deutschland 83 was well made and kept me engaged. I found the acting to be top notch and the story totally believable. I was in Germany in 1983 and was in the US Army, some of the events in this story, I was present for and remember well. It was nostalgic, accurate and worth the watch. I give this mini-series ten stars, a knife and a fork and two thumbs up.

    I hope that they will view the success of Deutschland 83 as an indicator that the United States is a market for German shows. Oh, the Generals Daughter and Martin's Fiance, are SMOKING HOT! I could look at more of them being hot.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 25, 2015
    10
    This show is excellent. Great German actors, great plot & accurate historically speaking. Got me hooked straight away! A must see forThis show is excellent. Great German actors, great plot & accurate historically speaking. Got me hooked straight away! A must see for everyone. Love it! Full Review »