• Network: Lifetime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 20, 2013
    80
    A Cherry drama rises or falls on the pretty simple test of whether it’s fun, and Devious Maids has the right stuff to get to there.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 21, 2013
    75
    As he showed on Desperate, Cherry has a knack for creating fun female characters that soar a bit over the top, but not so far over that their problems aren't relatable.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 21, 2013
    75
    The dialogue is as arch as Desperate in its heyday.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    A fun buzz. [1 Jul 2013, p.36]
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    Lotsa good, clean/dirty fun for the clean--and dirty-minded--among us.
  6. It has enough kooky class warfare, sexual shenanigans and whodunit intrigue to make for some escapist summer fun.
  7. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 21, 2013
    70
    An entertaining romp with strong performances, it seems a good fit for Lifetime.
  8. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 21, 2013
    70
    In its early going, it's a fun, summer TV frivolity--an entertaining enough hour of TV that sneaks in moments of social satire.
  9. Reviewed by: Emily Yahr
    Jun 21, 2013
    70
    In the first two episodes, the show has enough momentum to offer some promise, even if Cherry’s vehicles tend to start strong and go off the rails quickly.
  10. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 20, 2013
    70
    Terrifically cast and cleverly constructed, the show has "hit" written all over it.... Although the series reserves its harshest views and most exaggerated portrayals for their Beverly Hills bosses, Hispanic groups grousing about the premise sight unseen aren’t completely off base in their criticisms.
  11. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jun 24, 2013
    60
    For now, the bias towards boring is definitely at work. Cherry should look at “Scandal,” a show in which everyone of every color gets to be troubled and naughty and still expect our sympathy, to see how to improve.
  12. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jun 21, 2013
    60
    The story lines and dialogue may be a bit too cute and contrived to hold viewers’ interest for long. It’s the cast, which includes Ana Ortiz of “Ugly Betty” and Judy Reyes, who played Carla on “Scrubs,” that commands attention.
  13. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 21, 2013
    60
    The characters and situations may be different, but creator/executive producer Cherry's signature tone of arch cattiness leavened with sentimental schmaltz is unmistakable.
  14. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 20, 2013
    58
    After a pretty clumsy start, DM does start to find itself amid a whirl of characters populating not one, not two, but five households.
  15. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 19, 2013
    58
    The Latina female leads are--to put this in a way that's both politically correct and blandly inoffensive--vivacious.... That trademark Cherry wit, written in acid, is evident here. too.... But the biggest problem here is the sprawl--lots of stories, lots of characters, lots of colors--and not one them going anywhere in a hurry.
  16. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 21, 2013
    50
    None of the story lines, from the young maid’s love of her boss’s son to the murder plot, promises to defy expectations. All the show’s potential gets crushed under the weight of over-familiarity and Cherry’s cookie-cutter technique.
  17. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Jun 17, 2013
    50
    There's a strong cast, including Ana Ortiz and Judy Reyes, but there are too many bad stereotypes. [21 Jun 2013, p.60]
  18. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 17, 2013
    50
    Devious Maids has the potential to be better than "Desperate Housewives," but it can realize that potential only if it finds its own substantive identity instead of being just a recycling of the "Housewives" template.
  19. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jun 19, 2013
    37
    The actresses do a good job, too. It’s just a shame they have to do it in a largely dull, predictable show where it’s impossible for them to shine, no matter how hard they clean and scrub.
  20. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 24, 2013
    30
    It would be great to report here that Devious Maids is not that bad, except that it is, despite a lot of real talent on-screen.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    Best part of the pilot "Mrs. Westmore! The baby just said his first word!" "What did he say?" "He called me mama!" This show took time to introduce all the characters, but I think we'll see lots of drama later on in the show. People are probably going to go compare this to Desperate Housewives, so I'll tell you right now, I enjoyed Desperate Housewives much more, but this is a show to keep your eyes on for sure. Full Review »
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    The actresses look professional. The storyline was good. My main concern is that it lost the charm desperate housewives had. Cherry really didn't build up a climax, but the ending did it for me. the first half of the pilot was okay. the second half was extraordinary and that's the Marc Cherry I know. looking forward to it and I hope to see some plot twists and engaging storyline that will keep us tuned in! Full Review »
  3. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    this show is the best, i absoluty love it. It is full of mystery, comedy...... its very interesting and unpredictable. I beg and beg for them to NOT cancel this show!! it is the best and i always look foward to it every sunday. Just please. This show is great and has a lot of fans!! Full Review »