Devious Maids : Season 1

  • Network: Lifetime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 20, 2013
    80
    A Cherry drama rises or falls on the pretty simple test of whether it’s fun, and Devious Maids has the right stuff to get to there.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 21, 2013
    75
    The dialogue is as arch as Desperate in its heyday.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 21, 2013
    75
    As he showed on Desperate, Cherry has a knack for creating fun female characters that soar a bit over the top, but not so far over that their problems aren't relatable.
  4. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    A fun buzz. [1 Jul 2013, p.36]
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    Lotsa good, clean/dirty fun for the clean--and dirty-minded--among us.
  6. It has enough kooky class warfare, sexual shenanigans and whodunit intrigue to make for some escapist summer fun.
  7. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 21, 2013
    70
    An entertaining romp with strong performances, it seems a good fit for Lifetime.
  8. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 21, 2013
    70
    In its early going, it's a fun, summer TV frivolity--an entertaining enough hour of TV that sneaks in moments of social satire.
  9. Reviewed by: Emily Yahr
    Jun 21, 2013
    70
    In the first two episodes, the show has enough momentum to offer some promise, even if Cherry’s vehicles tend to start strong and go off the rails quickly.
  10. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 20, 2013
    70
    Terrifically cast and cleverly constructed, the show has "hit" written all over it.... Although the series reserves its harshest views and most exaggerated portrayals for their Beverly Hills bosses, Hispanic groups grousing about the premise sight unseen aren’t completely off base in their criticisms.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    Best part of the pilot "Mrs. Westmore! The baby just said his first word!" "What did he say?" "He called me mama!" This show took time toBest part of the pilot "Mrs. Westmore! The baby just said his first word!" "What did he say?" "He called me mama!" This show took time to introduce all the characters, but I think we'll see lots of drama later on in the show. People are probably going to go compare this to Desperate Housewives, so I'll tell you right now, I enjoyed Desperate Housewives much more, but this is a show to keep your eyes on for sure. Full Review »
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    The actresses look professional. The storyline was good. My main concern is that it lost the charm desperate housewives had. Cherry reallyThe actresses look professional. The storyline was good. My main concern is that it lost the charm desperate housewives had. Cherry really didn't build up a climax, but the ending did it for me. the first half of the pilot was okay. the second half was extraordinary and that's the Marc Cherry I know. looking forward to it and I hope to see some plot twists and engaging storyline that will keep us tuned in! Full Review »
  3. Sep 11, 2016
    10
    This show should have NEVER been canceled, shame on the network for doing this, it was an excellent show and now they leave us up in the airThis show should have NEVER been canceled, shame on the network for doing this, it was an excellent show and now they leave us up in the air with the cliffhanger from the last season. This show should come back so that it can end it a right way and not leave you hanging. Please bring this show back. Full Review »