• Network: Lifetime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 21, 2013
    60
    The characters and situations may be different, but creator/executive producer Cherry's signature tone of arch cattiness leavened with sentimental schmaltz is unmistakable.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 19, 2013
    58
    The Latina female leads are--to put this in a way that's both politically correct and blandly inoffensive--vivacious.... That trademark Cherry wit, written in acid, is evident here. too.... But the biggest problem here is the sprawl--lots of stories, lots of characters, lots of colors--and not one them going anywhere in a hurry.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 21, 2013
    50
    None of the story lines, from the young maid’s love of her boss’s son to the murder plot, promises to defy expectations. All the show’s potential gets crushed under the weight of over-familiarity and Cherry’s cookie-cutter technique.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 17, 2013
    50
    Devious Maids has the potential to be better than "Desperate Housewives," but it can realize that potential only if it finds its own substantive identity instead of being just a recycling of the "Housewives" template.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 20, 2013
    58
    After a pretty clumsy start, DM does start to find itself amid a whirl of characters populating not one, not two, but five households.
  6. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jun 21, 2013
    60
    The story lines and dialogue may be a bit too cute and contrived to hold viewers’ interest for long. It’s the cast, which includes Ana Ortiz of “Ugly Betty” and Judy Reyes, who played Carla on “Scrubs,” that commands attention.
  7. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jun 24, 2013
    60
    For now, the bias towards boring is definitely at work. Cherry should look at “Scandal,” a show in which everyone of every color gets to be troubled and naughty and still expect our sympathy, to see how to improve.
  8. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Jun 17, 2013
    50
    There's a strong cast, including Ana Ortiz and Judy Reyes, but there are too many bad stereotypes. [21 Jun 2013, p.60]
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    Best part of the pilot "Mrs. Westmore! The baby just said his first word!" "What did he say?" "He called me mama!" This show took time toBest part of the pilot "Mrs. Westmore! The baby just said his first word!" "What did he say?" "He called me mama!" This show took time to introduce all the characters, but I think we'll see lots of drama later on in the show. People are probably going to go compare this to Desperate Housewives, so I'll tell you right now, I enjoyed Desperate Housewives much more, but this is a show to keep your eyes on for sure. Full Review »
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    The actresses look professional. The storyline was good. My main concern is that it lost the charm desperate housewives had. Cherry reallyThe actresses look professional. The storyline was good. My main concern is that it lost the charm desperate housewives had. Cherry really didn't build up a climax, but the ending did it for me. the first half of the pilot was okay. the second half was extraordinary and that's the Marc Cherry I know. looking forward to it and I hope to see some plot twists and engaging storyline that will keep us tuned in! Full Review »
  3. Sep 11, 2016
    10
    This show should have NEVER been canceled, shame on the network for doing this, it was an excellent show and now they leave us up in the airThis show should have NEVER been canceled, shame on the network for doing this, it was an excellent show and now they leave us up in the air with the cliffhanger from the last season. This show should come back so that it can end it a right way and not leave you hanging. Please bring this show back. Full Review »