• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Susan Lucci, Judy Reyes, Brianna Lynn Brown
  • Summary: Edy Ganem, Ana Ortiz, Dania Ramirez, Judy Reyes, Roselyn Sánchez are five maids working in Beverly Hills in the drama inspired by the telenovela, "Ellas son...la Alegría del Hogar" and co-executive produced by Marc Cherry and Eva Longoria.
  • Genre(s): Drama
  • Creator: Marc Cherry
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Jun 23, 2013
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 20, 2013
    80
    A Cherry drama rises or falls on the pretty simple test of whether it’s fun, and Devious Maids has the right stuff to get to there.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    Lotsa good, clean/dirty fun for the clean--and dirty-minded--among us.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 21, 2013
    75
    The dialogue is as arch as Desperate in its heyday.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 21, 2013
    60
    The characters and situations may be different, but creator/executive producer Cherry's signature tone of arch cattiness leavened with sentimental schmaltz is unmistakable.
  5. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jun 24, 2013
    60
    For now, the bias towards boring is definitely at work. Cherry should look at “Scandal,” a show in which everyone of every color gets to be troubled and naughty and still expect our sympathy, to see how to improve.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 19, 2013
    58
    The Latina female leads are--to put this in a way that's both politically correct and blandly inoffensive--vivacious.... That trademark Cherry wit, written in acid, is evident here. too.... But the biggest problem here is the sprawl--lots of stories, lots of characters, lots of colors--and not one them going anywhere in a hurry.
  7. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 24, 2013
    30
    It would be great to report here that Devious Maids is not that bad, except that it is, despite a lot of real talent on-screen.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    this show is the best, i absoluty love it. It is full of mystery, comedy...... its very interesting and unpredictable. I beg and beg for themthis show is the best, i absoluty love it. It is full of mystery, comedy...... its very interesting and unpredictable. I beg and beg for them to NOT cancel this show!! it is the best and i always look foward to it every sunday. Just please. This show is great and has a lot of fans!! Expand
  2. May 4, 2014
    10
    I love this show, it has a lot of great talent and keeps me waiting for the next episode. I just read that if this show does not get goodI love this show, it has a lot of great talent and keeps me waiting for the next episode. I just read that if this show does not get good ratings there may not be a season 3. I really think you should keep this show on the air. It's almost like a modern day Jane Austen story, a great story that one does not want to stop reading. I never saw Desperate Housewives so I can't compare them. I believe the actors in Devious Maids are great, they make you laugh and cry. Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    I was ABSOLUTELLY thrilled about the characters and how they were going to manage all the stuff that was happening on the houses they wereI was ABSOLUTELLY thrilled about the characters and how they were going to manage all the stuff that was happening on the houses they were working. It's amazing how the writers can make you feel things about EVERY single character, and the one you hated the most maybe it's going to turn in your beloved. I just can't describe this series in one word, but I can try with 'realistic'. The series shows how the fathers make everything they can do for their children and I thinks it's a good way to start and ending the series. And I just have good words for the actors and actresses that appears in the serie. Just awesome, specially the acting of the main four maids. Good job! Just waiting for the second season. Expand
  4. Jun 7, 2014
    8
    Devious Maids, created by Mark Cherry, centers around maids who are friends. If you miss Desperate Housewives, this is a great show to watch.Devious Maids, created by Mark Cherry, centers around maids who are friends. If you miss Desperate Housewives, this is a great show to watch. The show has not received as much attention as Desperate Housewives as it airs on the cable channel, Lifetime. The characters are zany and find themselves in all sorts of predicaments. The characters have been well developed, so it is easy to feel a connection to all of them. The writers also do a great job of focusing on the households in which they work and showing the interplay between them. The best part about the show is the funny one liners. Every episode I can count on laughing out loud at something said on the show. The show is not especially well acted, but that is part of the charm. Humor is the reason to watch this guilty pleasure! Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    Best part of the pilot "Mrs. Westmore! The baby just said his first word!" "What did he say?" "He called me mama!" This show took time toBest part of the pilot "Mrs. Westmore! The baby just said his first word!" "What did he say?" "He called me mama!" This show took time to introduce all the characters, but I think we'll see lots of drama later on in the show. People are probably going to go compare this to Desperate Housewives, so I'll tell you right now, I enjoyed Desperate Housewives much more, but this is a show to keep your eyes on for sure. Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    The actresses look professional. The storyline was good. My main concern is that it lost the charm desperate housewives had. Cherry reallyThe actresses look professional. The storyline was good. My main concern is that it lost the charm desperate housewives had. Cherry really didn't build up a climax, but the ending did it for me. the first half of the pilot was okay. the second half was extraordinary and that's the Marc Cherry I know. looking forward to it and I hope to see some plot twists and engaging storyline that will keep us tuned in! Collapse
  7. Apr 20, 2014
    1
    This show used to be so much fun when it was about the maids and the people only they serviced. Now it's become all about the maids families,This show used to be so much fun when it was about the maids and the people only they serviced. Now it's become all about the maids families, boring. Getting away from how you started. I may just give this show up.. Sorry. Expand

Trailers