• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Devious Maids Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Edy Ganem, Ana Ortiz, Dania Ramirez, Judy Reyes, Roselyn Sánchez are five maids working in Beverly Hills in the drama inspired by the telenovela, "Ellas son...la Alegría del Hogar" and co-executive produced by Marc Cherry and Eva Longoria.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 20, 2013
    80
    A Cherry drama rises or falls on the pretty simple test of whether it’s fun, and Devious Maids has the right stuff to get to there.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    Lotsa good, clean/dirty fun for the clean--and dirty-minded--among us.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 21, 2013
    75
    The dialogue is as arch as Desperate in its heyday.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 21, 2013
    60
    The characters and situations may be different, but creator/executive producer Cherry's signature tone of arch cattiness leavened with sentimental schmaltz is unmistakable.
  5. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jun 24, 2013
    60
    For now, the bias towards boring is definitely at work. Cherry should look at “Scandal,” a show in which everyone of every color gets to be troubled and naughty and still expect our sympathy, to see how to improve.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 19, 2013
    58
    The Latina female leads are--to put this in a way that's both politically correct and blandly inoffensive--vivacious.... That trademark Cherry wit, written in acid, is evident here. too.... But the biggest problem here is the sprawl--lots of stories, lots of characters, lots of colors--and not one them going anywhere in a hurry.
  7. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 24, 2013
    30
    It would be great to report here that Devious Maids is not that bad, except that it is, despite a lot of real talent on-screen.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    I was ABSOLUTELLY thrilled about the characters and how they were going to manage all the stuff that was happening on the houses they were working. It's amazing how the writers can make you feel things about EVERY single character, and the one you hated the most maybe it's going to turn in your beloved. I just can't describe this series in one word, but I can try with 'realistic'. The series shows how the fathers make everything they can do for their children and I thinks it's a good way to start and ending the series. And I just have good words for the actors and actresses that appears in the serie. Just awesome, specially the acting of the main four maids. Good job! Just waiting for the second season. Collapse
  2. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    Best part of the pilot "Mrs. Westmore! The baby just said his first word!" "What did he say?" "He called me mama!" This show took time to introduce all the characters, but I think we'll see lots of drama later on in the show. People are probably going to go compare this to Desperate Housewives, so I'll tell you right now, I enjoyed Desperate Housewives much more, but this is a show to keep your eyes on for sure. Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    The actresses look professional. The storyline was good. My main concern is that it lost the charm desperate housewives had. Cherry really didn't build up a climax, but the ending did it for me. the first half of the pilot was okay. the second half was extraordinary and that's the Marc Cherry I know. looking forward to it and I hope to see some plot twists and engaging storyline that will keep us tuned in! Expand