• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Dexter Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 558 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dexter's balancing life as a new father this season, while another serial killer, the Trinity Killer (John Lithgow) stalks Miami.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    100
    The series is as compulsively watchable as ever, with Dexter's marriage, stepchildren, newborn son and stifling suburban life complicating his leisure time.
  2. All your favorites are back in force, with a few twists, but the allure of the series always has been and always will be Hall, who manages to make a killer (who kills only people who deserve it, mostly) likable, believable, engaging and funny, as he works his job as a blood splatter expert at Miami Metro Homicide.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    91
    Any fears you had that marriage and a baby would dull the sharp edge of Dexter--I admit it, I was worried--have been thoroughly allayed by season 4's wonderfully swift, witty, and violent start.
  4. 80
    Watching Dexter endure the bubbly, enforced cheer of family life may make this the best season of the drama series to date.
  5. Dexter will probably never reach the dramatic, creative heights it did in season one, but with this new season the show's producers found a way to sustain the premise by concentrating on the show's characters and, in particular, looking at how Dexter lives with his desire-to-kill rather than dwelling on the myriad ways he might get caught.
  6. He may be sicker than Hank Moody or Larry David, but he’s also a far richer figure, and in his own strange way, just as universal, thanks to the transcendent performance of Michael C. Hall, who deepens every sick joke and raises the stakes on every emotional twist.
  7. This commentary on the emptiness of all-consuming family life might fare better were it not brimming with one suburban cliche after another. These cliches don’t indicate Dexter’s discomfort with the banality of his new environment. Instead, they’re just boring.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 60
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 60
  3. Negative: 2 out of 60
  1. BryanT
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    For anyone who has seen the ninth and tenth episode of this season knows its a 10 rating.
  2. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    this is the best season of this show....the creators of the show outdid themselves with this season...i doubt they will make a season as goodthis is the best season of this show....the creators of the show outdid themselves with this season...i doubt they will make a season as good as this before the show is over. Expand
  3. SteveW
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    This season of Dexter starts off with a bang and the season finale will leave you breathless
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    This is one of the greatest seasons of television ever. Why. John Lithgow as one of the best villains of all time. The Trinity Killer. ThisThis is one of the greatest seasons of television ever. Why. John Lithgow as one of the best villains of all time. The Trinity Killer. This season revolves around Dexter, and Miami metro hunting him down. The plot in intense as hell and the last 4 episodes are some of the greatest ever. and this season has one of the biggest shocker in television history. Expand
  5. JT
    Oct 3, 2009
    9
    I didn't find Season 3 to be all that interesting but if the first episode is a vision of things to come, I think I'll be enjoying I didn't find Season 3 to be all that interesting but if the first episode is a vision of things to come, I think I'll be enjoying Season 4 even more than the first two. Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    One of the strongest seasons in the series, season 4 places Dexter in a unique situation, for a serial killer, as his life develops a deeperOne of the strongest seasons in the series, season 4 places Dexter in a unique situation, for a serial killer, as his life develops a deeper connection to the people who began as mere cover ups in his deeply layered web of secrets.
    Here we are introduced to Arthur Mitchell, Dexter's most disturbed foe in the series thus far. The writing is still darkly comic, nobody is as they seem, the season is hardly short of thrills, and it all comes down to a jaw dropping conclusion none of us could see coming.
    Expand
  7. Aug 31, 2010
    3
    I used to love Dexter, but I can't forgive the tedious formula they can't seem to let go of. Dexter befriends a psychopath and ends upI used to love Dexter, but I can't forgive the tedious formula they can't seem to let go of. Dexter befriends a psychopath and ends up realizing that he's got to kill him or her in every single season. While Dexter needs an entire season to figure that out, we the viewers unfortunately don't. If you can predict the end of the new season without having seen a single frame of it, it screams repetitiveness. Expand

See all 60 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    What did critics think of the Sunday night's series-ending episode of Dexter? Find out inside.
  2. Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale Image
    Published: December 19, 2011
    Did last night's finale of Dexter make up for a lackluster sixth season? Find out what the critics are saying.