• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
Dexter Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 530 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dexter's balancing life as a new father this season, while another serial killer, the Trinity Killer (John Lithgow) stalks Miami.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    100
    The series is as compulsively watchable as ever, with Dexter's marriage, stepchildren, newborn son and stifling suburban life complicating his leisure time.
  2. All your favorites are back in force, with a few twists, but the allure of the series always has been and always will be Hall, who manages to make a killer (who kills only people who deserve it, mostly) likable, believable, engaging and funny, as he works his job as a blood splatter expert at Miami Metro Homicide.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    91
    Any fears you had that marriage and a baby would dull the sharp edge of Dexter--I admit it, I was worried--have been thoroughly allayed by season 4's wonderfully swift, witty, and violent start.
  4. Dexter will probably never reach the dramatic, creative heights it did in season one, but with this new season the show's producers found a way to sustain the premise by concentrating on the show's characters and, in particular, looking at how Dexter lives with his desire-to-kill rather than dwelling on the myriad ways he might get caught.
  5. 80
    Watching Dexter endure the bubbly, enforced cheer of family life may make this the best season of the drama series to date.
  6. Based on what I've seen so far, we're looking at a killer season.
  7. 50
    Dexter’s life as a suburban dad feels claustrophobic, and the show has become repetitive and predictable.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 59
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 59
  3. Negative: 2 out of 59
  1. BryanT
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    For anyone who has seen the ninth and tenth episode of this season knows its a 10 rating.
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    It's safe to say that season four was the best season yet. I found it to have more suspense & more development in Dexter's character. JohnIt's safe to say that season four was the best season yet. I found it to have more suspense & more development in Dexter's character. John Lithgow has to be one of the creepiest serial killer to ever grace a television show. I loved every second of this season! Expand
  3. SteveW
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    This season of Dexter starts off with a bang and the season finale will leave you breathless
  4. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    After not too pleased third season. This season became for me a surprise. Perfect villain, interesting story with such a plot twists, shockAfter not too pleased third season. This season became for me a surprise. Perfect villain, interesting story with such a plot twists, shock ending, and great acting John Lithgow. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This season was brilliant, but not completely flawless. The beginning few episodes meander and plod along, only to be saved by tantalizing glimpses of the ultimate "big bad" John Lithgow as the Trinity Killer.

    The season really picks up and does not let go once Dexter realizes that Trinity is a family man (albeit with a dysfunctional family). It also serves to mirror Dexter's own hopes and fears.

    The secondary story of LaGuerta and Batista's romance did not quite work so well for me, as it's only purpose seemed to be to cause political conflict with the higher-ups at the police dept.

    But no worries, as anyone who has seen this season knows-the last 2 minutes of the final episode make up for any shortcomings this season might have had. I recall watching Dexter dispatch of Trinity in the trash bags in the ocean thinking "there's still a lot of time left here." The twist at the end of that episode left reverberations that are still being felt as the show enters its 8th and final year.
    Expand
  6. JimP
    Nov 11, 2009
    8
    John Lithgow is suitably creepy as the Trinity Killer and Jennifer Carpenter's character (as Dexter's sister) is equally irritating John Lithgow is suitably creepy as the Trinity Killer and Jennifer Carpenter's character (as Dexter's sister) is equally irritating (as usual). I'm a big Keith Carradine fan, so that doesn't hurt either. So far, so good. Expand
  7. Aug 31, 2010
    3
    I used to love Dexter, but I can't forgive the tedious formula they can't seem to let go of. Dexter befriends a psychopath and ends upI used to love Dexter, but I can't forgive the tedious formula they can't seem to let go of. Dexter befriends a psychopath and ends up realizing that he's got to kill him or her in every single season. While Dexter needs an entire season to figure that out, we the viewers unfortunately don't. If you can predict the end of the new season without having seen a single frame of it, it screams repetitiveness. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    What did critics think of the Sunday night's series-ending episode of Dexter? Find out inside.
  2. Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale Image
    Published: December 19, 2011
    Did last night's finale of Dexter make up for a lackluster sixth season? Find out what the critics are saying.