• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
Dexter Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 505 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dexter's balancing life as a new father this season, while another serial killer, the Trinity Killer (John Lithgow) stalks Miami.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    100
    The series is as compulsively watchable as ever, with Dexter's marriage, stepchildren, newborn son and stifling suburban life complicating his leisure time.
  2. All your favorites are back in force, with a few twists, but the allure of the series always has been and always will be Hall, who manages to make a killer (who kills only people who deserve it, mostly) likable, believable, engaging and funny, as he works his job as a blood splatter expert at Miami Metro Homicide.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    91
    Any fears you had that marriage and a baby would dull the sharp edge of Dexter--I admit it, I was worried--have been thoroughly allayed by season 4's wonderfully swift, witty, and violent start.
  4. Dexter will probably never reach the dramatic, creative heights it did in season one, but with this new season the show's producers found a way to sustain the premise by concentrating on the show's characters and, in particular, looking at how Dexter lives with his desire-to-kill rather than dwelling on the myriad ways he might get caught.
  5. 80
    Watching Dexter endure the bubbly, enforced cheer of family life may make this the best season of the drama series to date.
  6. Based on what I've seen so far, we're looking at a killer season.
  7. 50
    Dexter’s life as a suburban dad feels claustrophobic, and the show has become repetitive and predictable.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 59
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 59
  3. Negative: 2 out of 59
  1. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Its such a great show, i'm always on the edge of my seat. every episode feels like a roller coaster, and i've never felt that with any other show before. Micheal C. Hall deserves every award he gets for this show and more, it is the best acting i've seen in a long time. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    There is a reason why everyone says the show is at it's peak through out season 4. It's by far my favorite season and it was perfect from start to finish. Definently makes up for the poor quality of the previous 2 seasons imo. Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    Season 3 could have concluded Dexters story as he sailed on into the sunset with a family he loves, and a dark side that's supplemented by righteousness. But such is the appreciation for reality above fantasy in the script, it keeps going, and in doing so loses none of it's momentum, gearing up for something mesmorisingly epic.

    By the end, i could confidently say i'd never watched anything better on the television than this delightful frightful show.
    Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    Absolutely an amazing season. Arguably the best one out of all the seasons. Lithgow's performance as Trinity is horrifying and gripping at the same time. You can't take your eyes of the screen during this entire season. It is the first Dexter season that is truly shocking and horrifying at many different times. At several moments you can't help but feel a little sick or cry a little. This season is amazingly done. Plain and simple. Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2010
    9
    It is probably because of John Lithgow's great performance, that this season is nearly as good as season 1. I was hoping for a great antagonist and I got one, also the story was really smoothly written and gripping. This season was a pleasant surprise after the previous one in which I think the writers got a little lost. Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    One of the strongest seasons in the series, season 4 places Dexter in a unique situation, for a serial killer, as his life develops a deeper connection to the people who began as mere cover ups in his deeply layered web of secrets.
    Here we are introduced to Arthur Mitchell, Dexter's most disturbed foe in the series thus far. The writing is still darkly comic, nobody is as they seem, the season is hardly short of thrills, and it all comes down to a jaw dropping conclusion none of us could see coming.
    Expand
  7. Aug 31, 2010
    3
    I used to love Dexter, but I can't forgive the tedious formula they can't seem to let go of. Dexter befriends a psychopath and ends up realizing that he's got to kill him or her in every single season. While Dexter needs an entire season to figure that out, we the viewers unfortunately don't. If you can predict the end of the new season without having seen a single frame of it, it screams repetitiveness. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    What did critics think of the Sunday night's series-ending episode of Dexter? Find out inside.
  2. Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale Image
    Published: December 19, 2011
    Did last night's finale of Dexter make up for a lackluster sixth season? Find out what the critics are saying.