• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 447 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 447

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 15, 2010
    1
    This season tries to be big and just ends up being silly. It becomes almost comical that no one connects Dexter to the Trinity killer from season 4. Major holes in the plot line, and all around bad acting make this season only watchable by those with a Dexter addiction. How can you take the show seriously when the main plot of the season revolves around blood that Dexter found in a rental truck that then leads him to a group of serial rapist/killers. This season was just a little too 'scooby doo' for it's own good. Expand
  2. Aug 3, 2011
    1
    This season is living roof that killing off Rita was a huge mistake.

    Judging by the interviews given by the writers that decision was made during shooting. Judging by the emotionally vacuous, often implausible and humour-free fifth season it's clear that prioritisng shock value over overall plot narrative was a mistake.

    Rita forced Dexter to confront his dark passenger, allowing viewers
    to imagine the redemptive/revelatory moment that made for far more gritty emotional tension. In this season Hall's previously good acting can't hide poor writing and poor direction. The narrative is clunky, the silence on last seasons loose ends (eg Trinity visiting a slack mouthed Dexter at work infront of a full office, no one remembering trinity's face as they all witnessed his man hunt hours later), weak anf boring subplots, and also Debs character acts beyond the realms of belief to name a few things...

    Dexter's dealings with Cody and Astor are just too painful to watch - and in general it's all tragedy. Without the whimsical humour that gave seasons 1 and 2 an edge, and made Dexter's character compelling; and without reliance on the code that raised so many moral dilemmas - I really wouldn't waste your time
    Watching this. So disappointed with the Rita killing now.
    Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2010
    4
    i should preface this by saying that i was once a HUGE fan of this show, and continue to be a huge fan of its first two seasons. season 3 was weak, season 4 sucked me in again long enough to watch season 5, and as far as i can tell this seems to be a repeat of season 3. this show has just gone so far to destroy any suspension of disbelief it once had. it's become trite, plodding, and the writers seem to have completely lost sense of their central character. too much focus on secondary characters, as if anyone cares about Battista and LaGuerta's marriage troubles. Not even strong supporting characters like Quinn or Peter Weller's character can save this season. This show has become way too "Dexter-lite" and needs a jolt of energy to reinvigorate it. I say make season six the final season and have it end with him facing some sort of penalty for the crimes he's committed. Watch with caution, this is truly mediocre television. Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    1
    This season is too predictable and it's awful. Me being an huge fan had to force feed my eyeballs on this terrible season. Save yourself the time and don't bother watching it!
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I used to be a big fan of the show because of it's clever ways of showing suspense and Dexter's situations of catching bad guys and all that. Season 5 was so boring. I couldn't watch it all the way through because I got so bored with it. In half of season 5 he's only killed a couple of people because he's too busy moping around about his wife being dead. I didn't come to Dexter to see a soap opera I came to see murder, mystery, and suspense. Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Noooononono... I thought that by killing off Rita the show would change things up. Maybe a season dedicated to Dexter finding out who he was, going around, traveling. That's what I gladly accepted. But no. I loved the previous seasons. The first two were amazing, the third started slowly, but picked things up and I loved that one as well. The fourth was ok, but definetly overrated. But this season just wrapped itself nicely around a big bowl of dramatic unneeded And so I stopped watching Dexter. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 14, 2010
    75
    The acting is what keeps the show addictive--particularly good is Julia Stiles. [29 Nov 2010, p.44]
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    80
    It takes a while for this season to build up some steam--by the third episode, though, we're back in full murderous swing, with some gasp-inducing twist--and things stall whenever the focus shifts to subplots involving Dexter's police co-workers. But whenever Dexter is center stage, Dexter remains one of TV's most gripping dark entertainments.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    90
    Dexter will be hard-pressed to match the big twists that punctuated last season, but the latest campaign is off to an impressive--and impressively unpredictable--start.