• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Dexter Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 490 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dexter tries to move on without Rita. Julia Stiles, Jonny Lee Miller, Chris Vance, and Peter Weller guest star.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    90
    Dexter will be hard-pressed to match the big twists that punctuated last season, but the latest campaign is off to an impressive--and impressively unpredictable--start.
  2. 90
    Dexter is a masterfully creepy-funny serial-killer series, and it continues to both frighten and amuse as it enters its fifth season.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    83
    Sunday's episode is a necessary decompression episode after last season's intense finale.
  4. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    80
    Dexter returns as a slightly fresher show, without doing any damage to the character fans love. I enjoyed the first three episodes back and I imagine most fans will feel the same.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 14, 2010
    75
    The acting is what keeps the show addictive--particularly good is Julia Stiles. [29 Nov 2010, p.44]
  6. The sooner our Dex puts away the Kleenex, the better the season will be. Because who wants to watch a remorseless avenger who's inert with remorse?
  7. 40
    Unfortunately, the rest of the episode follows Dexter's descent into a routine guilt spiral, blaming himself for Rita's death (he should have "been there" to "protect her"), rather than ruminating on how it feels to be on this receiving end of a serial killing. How a series this smart could overlook the far more interesting angle is as much of a wasted opportunity as it is a disappointment.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 46
  2. Negative: 4 out of 46
  1. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Season 5 starts slow since it takes time for the main character (Dexter-Michael C.Hall) to digest the death of his wife.
    Dexter cannot take
    Season 5 starts slow since it takes time for the main character (Dexter-Michael C.Hall) to digest the death of his wife.
    Dexter cannot take revenge for his wife that's what is eating him from the inside. After the introduction of new character Played by Julie Stiles the season takes the grip. You might still feel that we don't know Dexter well enough and he's willing to bend his Rules.
    Season 5 might end as explosive as the 4th season. So Stay Tuned Every Sunday :D
    Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    Dexter plays a good "guilt trip" but we all know he's going to find a new love interest in the coming episodes. The flashbacks from Dexter'sDexter plays a good "guilt trip" but we all know he's going to find a new love interest in the coming episodes. The flashbacks from Dexter's pernicious past add some real depth to the relationship he tried forming with Rita. It really adds some complexity to the angle, and proves that there is a lot more to Dexter than a pointy edge and a full hefty. Stellar kickoff indeed. Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Episode 1 is one my favorite television episodes of all time, from any series, and that's the basis of my 10/10 rating. The rest of theEpisode 1 is one my favorite television episodes of all time, from any series, and that's the basis of my 10/10 rating. The rest of the season continues most of the same themes, but I was only intermittently enamored with the Julia Stiles sequence. Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2011
    8
    This season was an interesting change for the show. The past attempt at giving Dexter an equally damaged lover (a la Season two) was notThis season was an interesting change for the show. The past attempt at giving Dexter an equally damaged lover (a la Season two) was not extraordinary as I've come to expect from the show. This season was done much better, believably easing Lumen (ridiculous name though) into the role instead of just randomly forcing her in. The villain(s) in this season were great, though I wish we found out more of what happened in the backstory between Jordan and his cadre. The best thing about this season is how elegantly everything came together. You see the plot developing slowly over like half the season until you start to see the big picture. Dexter pushed the suspense limit again this season, those on the edge of your seat episode endings. These parts are some of the best moments in Dexter. It builds to a point where you're franticly thinking "He's screwed! How can this be?!" and somehow Dex finds a way out and just leaves you breathless. My only problem with this season is Julia Stiles. She just wasn't the most believable Lumen, I'm sure there was a more undiscovered actress who could've done a better job and I feel like they just cast Stiles for star value. All in all this is a great season of Dexter, much better than the second or third, but not quite as amazing as the fourth. Though it will be incredibly hard to top Lithgow as Trinity, a brilliant villain played by an amazing actor. One of the most deserved Emmys last year. Expand
  5. Jul 27, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This season was very interesting in the way that Dexter was able to have a true and fairly sane partner in Lumen. Dexter and Lumen's dynamic with each other works really well on screen and she is a character that you really want to root for. The main problem with this season that makes it slightly weaker in comparison to previous seasons is that the subplots of this season just aren't quite as intriguing. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    7
    A kind of disappointing season. Most of the episodes are filler but yet entertaining. It is a slow season to. But overall it ain't a badA kind of disappointing season. Most of the episodes are filler but yet entertaining. It is a slow season to. But overall it ain't a bad season. It was entertaining for what it is. I am a big 'Dexter' fan so yeah, it's not perfect. Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2011
    1
    This season is too predictable and it's awful. Me being an huge fan had to force feed my eyeballs on this terrible season. Save yourself theThis season is too predictable and it's awful. Me being an huge fan had to force feed my eyeballs on this terrible season. Save yourself the time and don't bother watching it! Expand

See all 46 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    What did critics think of the Sunday night's series-ending episode of Dexter? Find out inside.
  2. Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale Image
    Published: December 19, 2011
    Did last night's finale of Dexter make up for a lackluster sixth season? Find out what the critics are saying.