• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 434 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 434

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 3, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oh dear. This is not a promising start for season 6.
    It's been a year since the events of last season. I understand WHY they needed to skip a lot of time (both season 4 & 5 took place within a very short amount of time relative to each other, so a gap was needed to offset, I get it), but the way they did it caused one of the main issues with the whole episode. There was so much heavy-handed exposition (and heavy-handed is a term I will probably use repeatedly for the whole episode) that it made everything seem fake...if you have to spend most of the episode explaining what happened before the episode, then you know there's a problem! Remember the whole romance between Batista and Laguerta during seasons 4&5? Well, it's over. Whether that's a good or bad thing is purely up to the viewer, but there's no gravity given to it in the episode: They got divorced, and everything's back to the way it was before, no hard feelings or anything. Really? Such a situation is not unheard of, but it seems MORE like the writers just wanted to wash their hands of it and go a different route. In fact, it seems like they've used the large space of time between seasons to "resolve" a lot of things they didn't want to deal with this season. Quinn seems completely off the hook for Liddy's murder. Sure, Dexter helped him out by fudging the blood results at the end of the last season, but since when is a blood analysis the end-all of an investigation? Yes, it's a necessary step, but there were other implicating factors in Liddy's murder, such as the fact that Quinn had made a crapload of phone calls to Liddy right before he was killed. Well, such complicated issues won't be a problem here, they've all been swept under the rug like they never happened! Apparently to clean the slate for this season's own "issues", which apparently are going to focus on religion. Again, I am going to state how heavy handed this episode was. We've known all along that Dexter is not a religious person; remember that episode in season 5 where Dexter takes the nanny's little saint figurine and told the nanny he didn't like it, but later reconsidered it for Harrison's sake? Well, they redid that as a whole subplot here: Dexter takes Harrison to a preschool but finds out it's a Catholic preschool, so he rejects it, but later reconsiders, because it may help Harrison. Wow, Dexter, are you really going to be spinning your wheels like this, relearning the same things and never getting anywhere? I realize this is a tricky point with shows: the character needs to evolve, but if they go to far from what made them appealing in the first place then the show will collapse. But at the same time, if the character NEVER evolves, despite the various things he experiences which "open his eyes", he feels fake, almost a parody.
    Unfortunately, Dexter did feel like a parody of himself the whole episode. In fact, his first kills in the episode (where he kills two organ harvesters) were out of character for him; did he really kill them by shocking them to death? But isn't Dexter's whole thing his obsession with blood? That's why he stabs them to death! And then, he goes to a class reunion to stalk an old classmate who murdered a highschool friend (and the coincidence factor in all of this had my reality-check meter going crazy), where we get to see Dexter become "popular"...and the ghost of Harry (yes, I know it's not really Harry, just part of Dexter's psyche) actually encourages him to embrace this...which seemed COMPLETELY weird. Harry is supposed to be that part of Dexter's brain that encourages him to be safe and cautious, to blend in, not stand out, to stick to the code. If this is what's going on in Dexter's head I think he's getting mentally unstable (and keep in mind we're talking about a sociopathic murderer here). Then he ends up dancing with his old classmates (it's completely ridiculous to watch and even Michael C. Hall looks embarrassed) and playing football (yes, I know he's trying to get blood; it looks more like an excuse to get Dexter into increasingly absurd situations to get what he wants).
    There was a scene with Batista and his sister here that was just weird, and I don't even know why it was there. It wasn't interesting, it was just strange. Also, it seems like all the actors were "phoning it in," hardly any convincing dialogue at all.
    Now, having said that, it wasn't ALL bad. I'm interested to see how Laguerta's and Batista's promotions play out in the group dynamic. The appearance of this season's villains, while underwhelming, is still somewhat interesting (although why they didn't show the actual murder happening is beyond me). And finding out why Quinn had been acting weird was a relief, and kinda cool, though the ending scene with the shootout in the restaurant seemed completely random.
    Hopefully the season will pick up after a few episodes, but this was not a good start.
    Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    The best season premiere yet. I have no idea how mainstream critics will give the fourth season of breaking bad near perfect reviews and give this mediocre ones when this show is without a doubt at least on par with, if not better, than breaking bad. The first episode gives a small preview of a few different interesting subplots that will no doubt soon be explored. I can't wait to see how the rest of the season turns out Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    As good as ever. Ignore the mainstream critics! This is going to be an Epic season. So glad its starting now, because Breaking Bad's season ends next week. Walking Dead+Dexter = Pure TV watching goodness!
  4. Dec 21, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really wanted to like this Season of Dexter. Now that I have had a chance to experience every episode of this season, I can say with confidence that I didn't enjoy it very much. I could think of several shark-jumping moments around the midpoint of the season alone, and one fatal error that ruined the entire season for me. There is a scene where Dexter SEES Gellar walk into the building. With the twist of Geller being dead all along, this scene is neither addressed or padded with reasons for how he may have seen him. Hell, I would have accepted that he imagined someone else as Gellar, but attempting to fly such a blatant error under the audience's collective noses is insulting. That's just one thing I didn't like. The reasons for Deb being promoted were petty and poorly explained. Really, just to get back at LaGuerta? He didn't take into account her reckless attitude and being an emotional wreck 95% of the time? Someone that stupid deserves to have someone like Deb discover some dirty laundry. And what's worse, Batista just took her promotion sitting down. I mean, really? There's being a good sport about something, and there's being a spineless sod. Batista is the latter. The trinity killer's son reappearing in one episode was unnecessary and felt too much like padding. Did they really need to rehash that one scenario to move the season forward? At the very least, the last episode brings hope that the next season might be the last. This is an excellent idea, because it seems to me that Dexter as a series has run its course. If you're truly a fan of the show, go back and watch the first season. After doing that, watch a single episode of something in season 6. It may feel as if you're watching a completely different show. The overall feel of the show was much darker and more believable. Now it's almost family friendly watching akin to a mid-afternoon soap. Yes there are swears, but there is so much melodrama and contrived scenarios that the series loses all tension and you lose all attachment to the characters you watch on screen. I don't care how heavy of a scenario Dexter or anyone of the Miami Homicide gets into, you know they're going to live through it. Writers, throw a curve ball at the audience every so often. Please. Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One scene pretty much sums up the sheer ridiculousness and humorous of this season and that is the one from the last episode of the season where Dexter is floating in the middle of the ocean after his encounter with Travis and gets rescued by a boat of what appears to be Cuban immigrants trying to get to Miami. One of the immigrants decides it's a good idea to rob everyone while they are still in the middle of the ocean and Dexter rolls up and spears him with a trident. Then Dexter being the badass he is, takes command of the boat and heads back to Miami. This scene along with many others as well as the whole premise for this season were completely unnecessary and quite ridiculous. This show is starting to lose it's edge. Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2012
    4
    This season was unbelievably silly. Gone are the days where Dexter actively tries to not get caught. Now he just sort of wings it and manages to stay under the Miami Metro's radar. The only good subplot of the whole season got killed off halfway through, and while I like Colin Hanks, his part was horribly miscast. I don't know if I've just grown up since I first started watching the series or if it really has gone downhill, but I can say that I just didn't enjoy this season. Expand
  7. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    The season six premiere of Dexter was very funny and entertaining. I don't know if the rest of the season will be as good as the premiere, but i'm hoping for the best.
  8. Jan 2, 2012
    0
    The overall feel of the show was much darker and more believable. Now it's almost family friendly watching akin to a mid-afternoon soap. Yes there are swears, but there is so much melodrama and contrived scenarios that the series loses all tension and you lose all attachment to the characters you watch on screen.
  9. Jan 9, 2012
    7
    The fist half of this season was amazing. BUT, the second half, with perhaps a few expectations was such a missed oppurtunity, and a big let down. Brother Sam was a great character though, and his story was great.
  10. Oct 6, 2011
    9
    Great premiere. That's all I'm rating here though. At the time of this critique that's the only episode that has been on. So, really, don't be ignorant people and predictably bash on the critics. You've only seen one episode so far. The critics have seen more than that. And they've always liked Dexter. Them going from really liking the show to giving a mediocre score should at least make people wonder that maybe future episodes of this new season aren't up to par. Expand
  11. Oct 6, 2011
    4
    There seems to be a low production value that really bothers me. The lighting seems very generic and too bright. The camera angels are boring and shaky. I felt like I was watching a day time soap.
  12. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    I personally think that the new season is amazing. It is definitely as good as ever, Michael C. Hall is in the first episode amazing, especially in his high school 20th anniversary reunion.
  13. Dec 20, 2011
    6
    As a fan of Dexter, I am very disappointed with this season. It does have a bad first impression, but when you watch the next episodes, it gets worse. This season has uninteresting new characters, several plotholes, and (last but not least) poor writing. I don't mind that this season is religiously themed, but when you watch its episodes, it really lacks our interest. However, the season finale really fascinates me and it makes me become impatient for the next season. I hope the next season is better than this season, but it better be good! Expand
  14. Dec 29, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This season, "Dexter" seems desperate to reclaim its daring and dark charm. And completely at a loss about how to do so. Part of the problem is the widening gap between sentimental Daddy Dexter and Dexter the calculating predator, as well as the show's increasing substitution of simple spectacle for its earlier blend of black comedy and insight into our culture's shared nightmares. I had hope for this season, scheduled to take on religion. I had looked forward to some interesting conflicts. Dexter now has a son who, as he did, witnessed the brutal slaughter of his mother, bathed in her blood. Do you send such a son to Catholic school, with its intense focus on a brutally slaughtered deity and thousands of comparably mutilated martyrs? A religion that finds salvation in the most extreme physical suffering? Well, aside from the occasional quick shot of a crucifix, the show avoids such thorny questions, focusing instead on whether Dexter "owes" Harrison religious training, even though he himself does not believe. Oh, and it dangles the idea of redemption for a few episodes but doesn't do much with it, pointlessly killing off its messenger halfway through the season. (The writers should have revisited BRIGHTON ROCK, which asks the fascinating question of whether an evil man can be redeemed despite his best efforts to damn himself.) Anyway, most of the religious conflict is the kind of angsting around I'd expect from "Brothers and Sisters." The season's rival serial killer starts out well enough, representing the twin spiritual dangers of biblical literalism and assurance of a divine mandate that justifies . . . well, anything. Not all that resonant in Dexter's universe but interesting-ish, especially if it were to push a little on the nature of ritual and the religious significance of sacrifice. Nope. Instead, we get increasingly preposterous psychologizing that takes us through several physical impossibilities and/or gross lapses in continuity, winding around until we're back at . . . redemption, with Dexter now trying to redeem a fellow serial killer. Sigh. But Dexter, the character, is at least still recognizable, while nearly every other principal has lost his or her coherence completely. Deb is the worst, though I can't decide whether it's her promotion or her sudden incestuous desire for Dexter that is less convincing. I mean, she has already dated one semi-brother-cum-serial-killer, for heaven's sake; are there really no other taboos to break? The last few seconds of the show held out hope for next season, but the show won't make a comeback without some new blood in the writer's room. Yes, both kinds. Expand
  15. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    In my opinion absolutely without a doubt the best show ever! , and i'm telling you, I've seen great TV shows and movies for more than 7 years, Dexter is the best, it definitely has brilliant acting and great story. Dexter Rules !!
  16. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    Not as good as the other seasons. Leaned more towards religion and the difficult subject about God, but sometimes a show calls for uncomfortable topics. I enjoy the routine Dexter of previous seasons. This season was more complex and dealt with sensitive issues, especially incest and religion. Experimental!
  17. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    Great season, not sure what all the hate is about, after 6 seasons it is still staying fresh.
    The killers are as interesting as ever, Definitely Cannot wait for season 7
  18. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Well, since I love the Dexter series, and critics rate Homeland 1 ( which I loved too) a perfect 10, I have to rate Dexter 6 an 11, like season 5. (The first season of Dexter may have been a 15, in retrospect.) Dexter is above regular series, but it has been noticed by the mainstream, bored viewers and critics. Keep going your own way, Dexter. Don't compete with the middle masses.
  19. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    After watching this season again, I realize this is one of the most amazing seasons of Dexter. Probably the best behind 1, and 4, respectively. This season has been the most exhilirating, scariest, most disturbing, and darkest season yet. It also pushed the supporting cast forward to unknown territory. I loved the way Batista and his partner interacted. The killers were evil, the twist was effective, and the last ten seconds make up for the generic finale. I loved this season, loved the approach, loved the style, and can't wait for Season 7 in September! Expand
  20. May 6, 2012
    5
    What the hell happened? This season is superficial and hollow. The fresh idea to take religion as the central theme was good thinking, if it wasn't for that terribly bad execution. And all this bull about Dexter the Hero is retarded since they showed us in 5 seasons how much he isn't a hero. And for all of us original Dexter fans, that is inacceptable! So let's hope they wont **** up season 7 as well... Expand
  21. May 27, 2012
    0
    Ohh my f... god.... this must be the WORSE season of a GREAT show that use to be, long time ago, very good... now I see how **** a show can become... don't know if it's fame/money... or simply a sentiment of WTF, WATHEVER... we are all famous, and rich... let's do whatever we want...

    crap... simply the BIGGEST DECLINE in a TV show QUALITY, EVER!!!!!!
  22. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I agree that the mainstream critics have thus far rated this opening too low. It was excellent, and the new "badies" are chillingly sinister. This looks to be an awesome season!
  23. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    This is a great show, I agree ignore the critics. Season 4 was a great one, this one should beat it for sure. The premier was great and funny, very entertaining Tv. I love it and can't wait for more!
  24. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Coming off of season 5, which so many people seemed to hate, I actually enjoyed last year. I didnt like the Dexter & Lumen ending but nonetheless good season. On to this season, I really enjoyed the season premiere. I liked the humor at the high school reunion. I think the bad guys are certainly going to be interesting, and different to say the least. I thought it was overall solid and cant wait to see where its going. Expand
  25. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    It's a great show. It has great actors, a great plot, and great character development. Season 6 of Dexter is just as good as any other, and possibly even better.

    That's all there is to say.
  26. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Dexter always seems like it will be hard to enjoy barring the majority of the cast is very unlikeable. Perhaps Michael C. Hall has the ability to overshadow his counterparts. Can't imagine the minds of the writers who develop the wild villains of Dexter and if it's an inside joke to see how many times "Deb" can say F in a season. Regardless, Dexter has continuously been one a compelling drama for six straight seasons. Expand
  27. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This season of Dexter explores the theme of religion with talented guest actors and a familiar, gritty feel to it that makes it well worth your time. With the exception of Deb (and maybe Masuka), the other character arcs are put on hold in the beginning of the season to allow more time for the main plot, which remains gripping. Expand
  28. Oct 26, 2011
    8
    Snakes in the tummy? You had me at the stitches...It inspired my "hommage" blog post today...Dizzy with pain, I turned to my fictional TV hero for help with the blood work. Please check it out and comment, for better or worse...on SinusSister.com

    http://sinussister.com/blog/blood-simple-dexter-nosebleeds-sinus-sisters-dark-passenger/
  29. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Amazing season, I don't know if they are doing it on purpose but the even seasons (2,4 and now 6) are amazing, Dexter season 4 was by far the best on all dimensions and this season is shaping up to be quite as good if not better
  30. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    http://www.nnandmr.blogspot.com/

    this guy writes some really good reviews, check it out. give it a chance!, if you like it give it a follow, and support him!
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Dec 8, 2011
    50
    If there's a TV writers' version of Stockholm syndrome, Dexter is Exhibit A.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Oct 3, 2011
    58
    After a lively and appealingly hilarious premiere, Dexter goes entirely off the rails with two episodes hobbled by clumsy victims-of-the-week and then crushed with endless repetition of the core theme.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 3, 2011
    50
    Having peaked a few seasons back in the amazing John Lithgow season, Showtime's hit Dexter at least seems to be enjoying itself as year six kicks off.