• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
Dexter Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 444 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mos Def, Colin Hanks and Edward James Olmos are the latest antagonists for Dexter, who wonders whether his son will inherit his murdering ways.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 3, 2011
    91
    Dexter likewise remains in solid shape, with new characters generating some additional heat while its namesake keeps plying his trade.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 29, 2011
    83
    A not-bad start that promises to take Dex (and Dexter) in a slightly new and fresh direction.
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 29, 2011
    70
    Mos Def, Colin Hanks and Edward James Olmos play characters with a religious bent in a season that doesn't yet feel as compelling as the one dominated by John Lithgow but allows Dexter to remain the way his fans most want him--alive and killing.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 30, 2011
    60
    It's just that creatively speaking, the current season looks like it's going to require a major late-act rescue.
  5. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Oct 3, 2011
    58
    After a lively and appealingly hilarious premiere, Dexter goes entirely off the rails with two episodes hobbled by clumsy victims-of-the-week and then crushed with endless repetition of the core theme.
  6. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Dec 8, 2011
    50
    If there's a TV writers' version of Stockholm syndrome, Dexter is Exhibit A.
  7. Reviewed by: Jesse Hicks
    Oct 3, 2011
    40
    It's as though the show imagines that if can just cut from one event to another fast enough, no one will notice how shallow it all is.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 61
  2. Negative: 6 out of 61
  1. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    The season was great but final episode was a big bust. But I still loved this years season. In order of seasons I like from best to worse itThe season was great but final episode was a big bust. But I still loved this years season. In order of seasons I like from best to worse it have to go 1,4,2,6,5, and 3. Can't wate for 7 how will everything turn out u think?? Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    I personally think that the new season is amazing. It is definitely as good as ever, Michael C. Hall is in the first episode amazing,I personally think that the new season is amazing. It is definitely as good as ever, Michael C. Hall is in the first episode amazing, especially in his high school 20th anniversary reunion. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    The best season premiere yet. I have no idea how mainstream critics will give the fourth season of breaking bad near perfect reviews and giveThe best season premiere yet. I have no idea how mainstream critics will give the fourth season of breaking bad near perfect reviews and give this mediocre ones when this show is without a doubt at least on par with, if not better, than breaking bad. The first episode gives a small preview of a few different interesting subplots that will no doubt soon be explored. I can't wait to see how the rest of the season turns out Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    Maybe critics gave it so much crap because this season is about religion based murders but I honestly think it's the second best season of theMaybe critics gave it so much crap because this season is about religion based murders but I honestly think it's the second best season of the show (behind Season 4 of course). DDK (Doomsday Killer) is a very entertaining villain and gives Trinity a run for his money as the show's best villain. Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    7
    over rated and falling apart. this season really stretched the disbelief past breaking point. the show got back some of its intrigue, but itsover rated and falling apart. this season really stretched the disbelief past breaking point. the show got back some of its intrigue, but its hard to take it seriously as anything but melodrama at this point. Expand
  6. Jul 27, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers. Although this season was still interesting and a lot of fun to watch it was just much less interesting than the previous seasons. Unlike every other season the writing appeared to be lacking some on all fronts. The contrast of Dexter's brother appearing to him and Travis seeing the professor was interesting but other than that and Deb finding out Dexter's secret at the end of the season there's not too much to say on the interesting or innovative aspect for this season. Collapse
  7. May 27, 2012
    0
    Ohh my f... god.... this must be the WORSE season of a GREAT show that use to be, long time ago, very good... now I see how **** a show canOhh my f... god.... this must be the WORSE season of a GREAT show that use to be, long time ago, very good... now I see how **** a show can become... don't know if it's fame/money... or simply a sentiment of WTF, WATHEVER... we are all famous, and rich... let's do whatever we want...

    crap... simply the BIGGEST DECLINE in a TV show QUALITY, EVER!!!!!!
    Expand

See all 61 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    What did critics think of the Sunday night's series-ending episode of Dexter? Find out inside.
  2. Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale Image
    Published: December 19, 2011
    Did last night's finale of Dexter make up for a lackluster sixth season? Find out what the critics are saying.