• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 492 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 492

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    For me Season 7 is the most interesting this show has ever been after having watched two episodes. I've always been a fan of Dexter although it felt as if it was getting more and more uninteresting. Now that his sister knows who he really is we are learning more about Dexter's character than ever before. Both episodes had creepy breathtaking moments where we could see Dexter at his best. On the downside scenes of the rest of the team has been working on have been quite boring. But there are definitely more things to come with LaGuerta looking into the killing of Doakes and Louis Greene trying to ruin Dexter's life. I'm really excited and can't wait for the next episodes. Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    the one thing that always been proved that however know Dexter secrete is ether dead or gone but this time its different Cuz this is Debra **** morgan this time there is someone who's not going anywhere ,,, I think all Dexter fan dig this and as always the writers always show us that therre is a story here about the Ukrainian mob and whatever,,,, they show us that this is not some lame drama show this show is about a serial killer ( a good one ) always been always will be and all the drama is just a side story .......................... Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2012
    9
    This is the "Dexter" that I missed last season. Yeah, the killers were interesting, but there wasn't any real interesting developments with the main characters; obviously this season is different. I can't wait to see where the story goes.
  4. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Alas, the dreaded moment dexter has been avoiding his entire life has come to pass, and its every bit of a rollar coaster that we could wish for, this season delivers on all levels (so far) and i can't wait to see how it pans out.
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Dexter probably is the one of the greatest shows ever made and this season shows that. The relationship between dexter and deb,the drama,the action,the horror all are amazing filled with breathtaking moments and excellent acting and directing
  6. rah
    Oct 15, 2012
    10
    After what seemed like an incompetent 2 seasons, Dexter finally finds its stride with Deb's new revelation. The combination of the brother-sister dynamic, moral ambiguity, and suspenseful plot have us waiting to see what will happen week after week. Based on the first three episodes and Michael C. Hall's incredible performance, I can tell this season will prove one of the more interesting and more entertaining seasons in Dexter's history. I highly recommend watching this phenomenal season and phenomenal show. Dexter is without a doubt, back on top. Expand
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    So good! But I'm concerned as to what is actually going to happen to Dexter once people figure out his secret...where will the plot go from there? The fact that no know knew about Dexter and his dark passenger gave something to the show but now that Debra knows will this mean that some part of the show will be compromised although I understand that this had to happen.
  8. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    After a not-so-extraordinary season 6, Dexter is back! With a bang! Courtesy to an amazing new storyline, a talented supporting cast (including Yvonne Strahovski as Hannah McKay & Ray Stevenson as Isaak Sirko), an absolutely brilliant performance by Jennifer Carpenter (definitely worth an Emmy nomination), and a perfect performance by Micheal C. Hall! Glad the show finally made these changes, and finally after the 4th season, we get to see the Dexter that we all missed! Cant wait for Season 8! Expand
  9. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    A great season since the fourth excellent writing and acting keep it up..team Dexter :) 1.) Micheal C. Hall is excellent as always.
    2.) Guest star Ray Stevenson is steals the show.
  10. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    Much better than the previous season. There are several interesting dynamics in this season. The relationship between Deb and Dexter and then the complication of Hannah is very interesting. Also this season does what the other seasons really don't do. It makes a villain seem very human. Unlike in other seasons were the big serial killers of the season were pure evil or close to pure evil both Hannah and Isaak's characters are in ways relatable and are much more morally ambiguous. Expand
  11. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    "Dexter is the show more exciting, dramatic and elaborate ever seen. And this season is unique as is each season,
    Dexter is no longer a secret, tries to deal with Debra and the things she discovers ... and a new murderer of a mafia that wants to kill cops ... the story is so great
  12. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    When I started watching Dexter for the first time I was thinking "Wow, this show is going to be amazing," and that statement stayed the same throughout the series until season 6 where it lost nearly all of its intense and surprising moments (Although season 5 did start the downhill trend). After all that I was starting Season 7 with the notion that watching this show might become a chore and there will be nothing left to keep me coming back each episode besides an obligation to see it through to the end, which so happens to be season 8, but man was I in for a surprise. When I started season 7 it was exhilarating! Obviously we knew Debra caught Dexter from last season, but the way they pushed that story forward was crazy. It was something they did not beat around the bush for and the show benefited from that in a big way. Now with the way the first episode ended and how the following episodes are only complicating the situations between Dexter and Debra (in a good way) while also intensifying things on the inside of Miami Metro and with the storyline around the Mafia I can only see this as being one of the greatest seasons. Collapse
  13. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    So far so awesome! This season's game changer has brought a level of intensity that has grabbed me attention since the first 5 seconds. 5 episodes in, and I think we have a new "best season" on our hands.
  14. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    Dexter is the fastes hour on TV. I love this season, seems strangley less dark (?) anyway, if you have never watched Dexter, start at season one, you will be hooked. Unless you are offended by profanity or some gore.
  15. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    The season premiere had me more excited than I was after watching the season 2 premiere. Here it was his sister who found him. I think it was the best episode of the show. But they couldn't capitalize on the great start and introduced subplots no one was interested in. I was a bit disappointed and left off after episode 9, and came back after a while only because I could not quit after 7 seasons. The last three episodes really redeemed the whole season somewhat, and my score jumped from 7 to 9. The show did not stop short of letting the plot get morally ambiguous. No longer is it about keeping innocent people out of it. This benefited the story. Dexter was never a show about doing what was right. The writers aren't playing safe anymore and that's good to know. Indeed it helped freshen things up. There was a kind of cliffhanger at the end. I'm most certainly coming back for more next season. Expand
  16. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    The race to the end is on for Dexter Morgan in Season 7. With one season remaining, the build-up to the end is evident, especially in recent episodes. The dynamic with his sister Debra is more tense-filled than ever, not to mention his lust for a fellow killer. This is a side of Dexter we haven't seen in years, Season 4 specifically, and taking place directly after the DDK events of Season 6 places us right in the middle of all the action. The walls are beginning to close in, and in Season 7, we are seeing it happen. Expand
  17. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    After watching all seasons and being disappointed with season 6....we are back on track now for some REAL Dexter action. This season is awesome, I'm three episodes in and can't wait to see the next one. I'm hooked again!
  18. Oct 18, 2013
    9
    I want to give this season an 8.5... but there is no such option...
    Anyways, getting to my point: I loved this season! After 2 years of disappointment, Dexter has made a comeback and got my hopes up for a terrible follow-up in season 8.
    If you want to enjoy the series, end here and pretend it ended on a good note ;D
  19. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its amazing. Season 5 was a dreadful mess, then Season 6 was much better, still wasn't the greatness as Season 4, but better. Dexter executives knew this had to be the best season or else the last remaining audience would have been alienated. I can finally now write a fair review to this season now that I've seen all 12 episodes. Season starts out where Season 6's GIANT cliffhanger left off: Debra catching Dexter killing Travis Marshall. There are 3 parts of this season. Part 1 of this season focused on Debra trying to figure out how to deal with her brother's secret, part 2 was Debra dealing with Dexter's new found love Hannah McKay (Yvonne Strahvoski of "Chuck" fame) who, by the way, was the best Dexter love interest since Rita. And part 3 was Debra trying to protect Dexter and keeping the homicide branch of Miami Metro sane and intact. Issac Zirko (played by Ray Stevenson) was simply a great antagonist for Dexter is Season 7. The way he thought he could kill Dexter, and had the best chance to do it out of all the other Dexter antagonists, IMO. The way the writers transitioned from Zirko to the final stretch of the season was seamless. It was like the start of a whole new season, and in a way it was. The season finale was an episode that many saw coming since LaGuerta found the blood slide in S7 E1, but NOBODY could have seen it happen the way it happened. Debra killing LaGuerta was easily just as shocking as last years shocker with Debra finding Dexter, and thinking about last years cliffhanger seems like ancient history compared to what happened in the Season 7 finale. I was a little disappointed in the way the season finale ended, no big cliff hanger like previous seasons, but that is seriously the only complaint I have for Season 7. Can't wait for Season 8, the final season. Should be amazing. Expand
  20. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Dexter is my man..just can never wait until Sunday night!! I still wish
    Remus ( Julia Stiles ) would have filmed just one more season
    With Dexter. Also the book "Darkly Dreaming Dexter" was
    also a good read!! I hope this show "never" ends!!
    I also adored him in Six Feet Under, another wonderful "dark" show!!
  21. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Maybe the best season along with the second! i'm really impressive with the amazing job of the writers and cast! I really recommend this season and this series to everyone.
  22. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    Dexter Was able to bounce back from one terrible season and two not great ones. The show is better then ever with Hall giving his best performance in the series. And the best part is that in the end the series is left wide open for the final season.
  23. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    Dexter season 7 takes the series on a new and different course by not having a major antagonist. However all the minor stories make the season as whole a lot better. The Dexter en Deb story is taken to a new level and ends in a phenomenal final scene in which the actors put forth one of the best performances ever which end up as epic but not over-exaggerated ending. This might be the season every Dexter fan waited for because none of the story arcs had been stalled for too long and they all felt like they contributed to the story. Expand
  24. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    Rejuvenated! It may never have the unforced brilliance of Seasons 1 & 2, but this season got many things right. The story centered itself on Dexter's emotional journey once more allowing the show to immediately hit it's stride. The performances have been superlative. hair-raisingly good. Michael C. Hall wow! Jennifer Carpenter was head & shoulders above Claire Danes. Even David Zayas and Lauren Velez were great. The 2 guest stars Ray Stevenson & Yvonne Strahovski knocked it out of the park! This season deserves a 10 for the acting alone. Expand
  25. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    A Huge return to form after season 6. This is easily the best season along with 1 and 4. One very smart thing they did was change up the formula. After Deb finding out about Dex at the end of 6. Their relationship completely changed, and this was very well handled. But th best part of this season, Ray Stevenson as Isaak Sirko, Mob boss out for revenge. For anyone who grew wary of this show and wanted to quit i suggest not to. You'll get this season. One of the shows bests. Expand
  26. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    This makes up for season 6 entirely. It is such a well rounded season. I am done with the show and i'm writing my final reviews for this show. Great season overall.
  27. Aug 7, 2014
    9
    I'm midway through the 7th season...and it's still good..The concept of the amoral serial killer should have worn thin by now..but no..the new twists and turns in Dexter's character keep it fresh...I've even warmed to Quinn..which took a little time. The shock value is still here. The deadpan humour is still fun. The supporting cast is still top..The new baddie, Issac, is a little different from what came before, but he is more sympathetic and...boy his accent (sounds a little South African) ... Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 4, 2012
    80
    Structurally, the whole thing feels fresh again, and even if I have doubts about how the writers will wring two worthy seasons out of the new dynamics (Showtime has committed to airing at least one more season), the three 2012 episodes I've seen efficiently pulled me back in.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 4, 2012
    100
    The game changer sets season 7 on an exciting new course. [8 Oct 2012, p.60]
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 1, 2012
    83
    [Deb's new] knowledge, and the way it alters Dexter and Deb's relationship, shakes the series out of the doldrums it's been in for several years now.