Dexter : Season 7

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Dexter Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 605 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 4, 2012
    100
    The game changer sets season 7 on an exciting new course. [8 Oct 2012, p.60]
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 28, 2012
    90
    Dexter's quality has ebbed and flowed over the years (peaking in the John Lithgow season), but so far, this season is looking like a riveting winner.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 1, 2012
    83
    [Deb's new] knowledge, and the way it alters Dexter and Deb's relationship, shakes the series out of the doldrums it's been in for several years now.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 28, 2012
    80
    Some Dexter fans have thought the show meandered around for the last couple of seasons as if it were waiting for something to happen. Now it has.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 4, 2012
    80
    Structurally, the whole thing feels fresh again, and even if I have doubts about how the writers will wring two worthy seasons out of the new dynamics (Showtime has committed to airing at least one more season), the three 2012 episodes I've seen efficiently pulled me back in.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 28, 2012
    70
    Assuming this is ramping up toward the finale, the key players are engaged in ways that prove occasionally shocking and disarmingly funny.
  7. Reviewed by: Abhimanyu Das
    Sep 28, 2012
    63
    Unfortunately, the season's primary threat is an unimaginatively depicted Ukrainian mob faction.... Still, there's enough potentially promising material in the evolution of Debra and Dexter's relationship, and the first few episodes of the season contain glimpses of the morbid playfulness that animated the show's initial seasons.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 52
  2. Negative: 5 out of 52
  1. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Maybe the best season along with the second! i'm really impressive with the amazing job of the writers and cast! I really recommend thisMaybe the best season along with the second! i'm really impressive with the amazing job of the writers and cast! I really recommend this season and this series to everyone. Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    "Dexter is the show more exciting, dramatic and elaborate ever seen. And this season is unique as is each season,
    Dexter is no longer a
    "Dexter is the show more exciting, dramatic and elaborate ever seen. And this season is unique as is each season,
    Dexter is no longer a secret, tries to deal with Debra and the things she discovers ... and a new murderer of a mafia that wants to kill cops ... the story is so great
    Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    the one thing that always been proved that however know Dexter secrete is ether dead or gone but this time its different Cuz this is Debrathe one thing that always been proved that however know Dexter secrete is ether dead or gone but this time its different Cuz this is Debra **** morgan this time there is someone who's not going anywhere ,,, I think all Dexter fan dig this and as always the writers always show us that therre is a story here about the Ukrainian mob and whatever,,,, they show us that this is not some lame drama show this show is about a serial killer ( a good one ) always been always will be and all the drama is just a side story .......................... Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2016
    9
    The seventh season kicks off with Debra being pulled into Dexter's real life. As a result we constantly see situations arise that puts them atThe seventh season kicks off with Debra being pulled into Dexter's real life. As a result we constantly see situations arise that puts them at odds with each other. Will Debra go against everything she believes in and stood for to protect her brother?

    There's a really solemn tone to this season. We get more growth from Dexter and Debra as characters. There's a constant sense of tension as we wonder if anyone else will catch wind of Dexter's hidden secrets. Secrets that will no longer bring down just himself if discovered.

    The season still has issues with painting Dexter as a real father. He seems to spend no time with his kids, step-children or directly blood related. It makes it kind of hard to believe Dexter when he (regularly) mentions how all he wants to do is be with Harrison (his blood child) considering he's regularly leaving him for lengthy, extended periods of time with the nanny. Speaking of Dexter's family it's great to see the return of his step kids Astor and Cody, even if only for such a brief amount of time. There's so many things the show could have done with those two it's almost a crime they aren't in it more.

    However even with it's shortcomings the whole season is incredibly strong. There are new focuses, conflicts, growth, a love interest, and incredibly compelling villain in Ray Stevenson. It all makes for another exciting, gripping, and blood soaked season of Dexter. One that ends with huge consequences that I can't wait to see play out in season 8.
    Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2012
    8
    I admit I was a little worrried because after reading the plot online, It seemed like a poor season with lack of a good villain. However,I admit I was a little worrried because after reading the plot online, It seemed like a poor season with lack of a good villain. However, after watching a few episodes and realizing that the main villaini is played by Ray Stevenson, All my worries went away. Only two episodes in but it has been pretty solid so far. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2016
    6
    During the first couple of seasons, when the show was at its very best, Dexter at least aimed to retain some sense of realism despite itsDuring the first couple of seasons, when the show was at its very best, Dexter at least aimed to retain some sense of realism despite its slightly unrealistic premise. Season upon season this sense of realism was steadily eroded until we ended up with the terrible ‘Doomsday Killers’ sixth season. Worrying that it may have ‘jumped the shark’ for good I didn’t have particularly high hopes for season seven but whilst watching I gradually came to accept that it is just not the same show it was during its early years. That doesn’t make season six any less rubbish but it has allowed me to try to somewhat enjoy this season for what it is. Expand
  7. May 21, 2013
    0
    I loved the first 5 seasons of Dexter, as each one developped a new side of his personality (even if according to the man himself "he only hasI loved the first 5 seasons of Dexter, as each one developped a new side of his personality (even if according to the man himself "he only has one level"). We got to know him as a serial killer with a dark childhood, then as an addict trying to cover his tracks. Season three saw him as a family man and loving father to be and season four trying to juggle too many roles. There were many funny moments, until the unexpected demise of innocent Rita. However, season 5, with his theme of redemption and the introduction of another innocent character was also pretty interesting. I also liked the Deb-Quinn relationship, on the same path of redemption.

    Unfortunately it was downhill from there. Season 6 was risible with its Biblical killings and some of the worse investigative work ever. Not to mention the ghosts.... But this season was terrible. It lacked focus, moving from Ukrainian mob to sexy female killer to arsonist. The love stories were atrociously bad and cliche'. Once again Dexter thinks he found another serial killer who can "understand him" and love him the way he is. Of course, it does not hurt that said female killer could also be a model.

    All females in Dexter are stereotype pretty, with perfect features and gorgeous bodies. Plastic girls with plastic souls, therefore perfect for Miami. So Dexter is happily in love, producing the most cringe-inducing dialogues ever. Quinn is also in love, guess what? With yet another babe, a luscious blonde stripper. Deb may (or may not) be still in love with Dexter. They all lie their way through the whole series. In fact, they lie so much that I found it difficult to keep track and then I lost interest.

    I wished intensely for Dexter to get killed by Isaak, or at least for his morally revolting girlfriend to get her pretty face smashed by a baseball bat. But cheating liars don't get as much as a bruise. I wish they pulled the plug on Dexter in season 5. Serial killers should not get to live happily ever after and this story is dragging on and getting extremely repetitive. What is worse, is not even remotely funny as it used to be.
    Expand

See all 52 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    What did critics think of the Sunday night's series-ending episode of Dexter? Find out inside.
  2. Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale Image
    Published: December 19, 2011
    Did last night's finale of Dexter make up for a lackluster sixth season? Find out what the critics are saying.