Dexter : Season 8

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Dexter Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 434 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The final season picks up six months after the shooting that changed Dexter and Debra's relationship.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 28, 2013
    88
    This could all pay off spectacularly. [8 Jul 2013, p.36]
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 25, 2013
    80
    Charlotte Rampling makes Dr. Evelyn Vogel troubling and vaguely creepy, which probably isn’t what Dexter needs. She also opens up a dialogue on whether a psychopath like Dexter might be part of nature’s deliberate design, the human version of alpha predators. So we’ve got the philosophical and we’ve got the visceral as we count down to the last hours.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jun 28, 2013
    80
    Rampling brings her primly authoritative presence and a stern look to the task. Her scenes with Hall crackle with tension.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 28, 2013
    70
    Dexter's scenes with Vogel and Deb are so electrifying and morbidly juicy that the subplots involving Dexter's co-workers in Miami Metro Homicide seem more than ever like dreary padding.
  5. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jul 1, 2013
    70
    Interestingly, Dexter settled into a groove that suggested it could go on for years.... If Dexter regains its eerie footing (and it appears it will), look for it to explode in the final weeks. Sunday's edition says the surprises have just begun.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 26, 2013
    67
    Sit back, don't think, and expect some good performances--especially by Jennifer Carpenter.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Jun 25, 2013
    50
    Ironically mirroring Dexter's strict adherence to Vogel and Harry's carefully drawn guidelines, the series abides by a strict set of narrative routines that it only marginally alters in the hopes of replicating the wild success and catharsis of its inaugural season again and again.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 65
  2. Negative: 30 out of 65
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    The premiere was a strong start to what I believe will be an even stronger season. The spiraling downfall of the main characters is trulyThe premiere was a strong start to what I believe will be an even stronger season. The spiraling downfall of the main characters is truly remarkable and sinister. With James gandolfini dead and the endings of dexter and breaking bad this summer, it feels like an era of television is coming to an end. Dexters finale will be iconic, I guarantee it. Expand
  2. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I couldn't wait to watch this season and was not disappointed! The writers get off the blocks with a bang and we could literally see the beginning of the end for our beloved serial killer from the very first episode.

    The star performer? I would say it was Jennifer Carpenter. Playing the guilt wracked Deb on a path to self destruction, she fits the role to a T. The clarity with which Dexter opens the first episode couldn't end with a bigger contrast towards the end of the episode as he starts losing control and lets his "dark passenger" take over more than just once. Which leads us to the question, "Who is truly on their path to self destruction?" Not even his projections of Harry could rein him this time which sets up an interesting season ahead.
    Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    6
    A weak season overall with no sense of danger throughout. But it's still Dexter. The final episode was very powerful but as is often theA weak season overall with no sense of danger throughout. But it's still Dexter. The final episode was very powerful but as is often the case with finale's, very controversial. I do think Dexter should have ended a while ago but it's still a treat to watch. Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2014
    4
    It was the worst one. The show was dragging unimportant things and nothing good was happening at all. Got so bored watching this, had to watchIt was the worst one. The show was dragging unimportant things and nothing good was happening at all. Got so bored watching this, had to watch all these episode to reach at an equally disappointing end. Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The final chapter is one of the worse chapters I have witness in the story of entertainment.

    Looking for Hanna? Yeah lets go outside with my bright yellow hair and not even sunglasses on. For a smart fugitive that is utterly moronic.

    Then we have the ninja private detective. Paranoid fugitive doesn't notice him to be sit half meters away until the bus start running; and just because he brought her attention.

    Did you kill somebody inside a police department? Don't worry bro, sure the judge have no questions for ya' you are good to go hermano.

    My sister is dead? Better desecrate her body. F_ck the rest of our friends and the great funeral she would have got.

    My son is away? F_ck that little b*tch too. No dad emotional or financial support for you.

    So better drive my boat into a tornado and kill myself; and use my superpowers to get out of there and stay in my cabin forever afterwards.

    Is like the writers got drunks and wrote the worse script possible. Seriously, where did they hire those people? There are fan made seasons which are way more elaborate.
    Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    0
    this was possibly the worst season of a television show that i have ever seen. the whole season was a disaster. the characters were not thethis was possibly the worst season of a television show that i have ever seen. the whole season was a disaster. the characters were not the same the writing was horrible and the plot was unbelievable. good thing the writers made up for it in the worst series finale of a show i have ever seen. Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    0
    If you find yourself laughing in the final moments of a serious drama series, you know that something as gone awry. The final season could notIf you find yourself laughing in the final moments of a serious drama series, you know that something as gone awry. The final season could not have been further from what should have been expected. There was no closure, unnecessary plot "twists" and all around sloppy writing. I feel absolutely robbed having watched 8 seasons to have it closed out like that. Expand

See all 65 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    What did critics think of the Sunday night's series-ending episode of Dexter? Find out inside.
  2. Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale Image
    Published: December 19, 2011
    Did last night's finale of Dexter make up for a lackluster sixth season? Find out what the critics are saying.