Dexter : Season 1

  • Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1537 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JulianC
    Oct 4, 2006
    5
    My rating is based only on the first episode, and it pains me that it cannot be higher since I had high hopes for the show, and still do. In the first episode, everything in the show seemed over-simple. Many characters and situations seem to merely be props for the show's concept. The show is so drowned in voice-over that I never felt as though there were any real action - only My rating is based only on the first episode, and it pains me that it cannot be higher since I had high hopes for the show, and still do. In the first episode, everything in the show seemed over-simple. Many characters and situations seem to merely be props for the show's concept. The show is so drowned in voice-over that I never felt as though there were any real action - only summary. Hall is very charming as Dexter, but even he may not be able to pull it off if they ask him to provide 40 minutes of voice-over every episode. The reason I still have high hopes is that it would be natural for the amount of voice-over to drop as the series progresses. I think the writer of the novel just wanted to get all his witty little first person naration lines in verbatim. The thought occurred to me more than once that this was more like a book on tape than a TV show. Expand
  2. ColbyC
    Apr 10, 2008
    6
    A great moral tale, but poor execution of the police side of the show. Dexter himself is a compelling and interesting character, but the supporting cast consists of too many one-dimensional characters. I chaulk it up to poor writing.
  3. WilliamC
    Oct 8, 2006
    6
    I taped this show for my wife, who is in the hospital.We were both big fans of SIX FEET UNDER and Michael C. Hall---I was very excited watching the first 40 minutes or so, rehearsing things I would say to her when she came home before viewing the tape "It is just VERY VERY GOOD" It is VERY different!" It's very much like a good noir mystery or murder novel, or an updated, upscale I taped this show for my wife, who is in the hospital.We were both big fans of SIX FEET UNDER and Michael C. Hall---I was very excited watching the first 40 minutes or so, rehearsing things I would say to her when she came home before viewing the tape "It is just VERY VERY GOOD" It is VERY different!" It's very much like a good noir mystery or murder novel, or an updated, upscale noir film, just in color, and a little shorter." Then I made the mistake of leaving the room for about 5 minutes, and when I came back Dexter had a victim strapped down on a table, and was gleefully interrogating him, acting as an Angel of Death who commits real murder on those he has determined have gotten away with murder. This Star Chamber type justice is done on a man who keeps getting away with DUI murders, and has been trickily tracked by Dexter, after he is acquitted in one more trial, and (the part I missed) apprehended or kidnapped somehow, and brought in to some industrial area warehouse to be killed by Dexter, now apparently a moonlighting serial killer. So what I am saying is, as much as this show seemed to have going for it, for me it "jumped the shark" in its first episode. Expand
  4. JoeBob
    Oct 9, 2009
    5
    A show where the main character is a serial killer is a really original and great and creepy idea. But the idea of a serial killer with a conscience killing other serial killers is really lame and cheesy. And thats what this show is about. So Dexter is not really a serial killer. More like a sadistic superhero or something. That's what makes it not creepy. It could have been a great A show where the main character is a serial killer is a really original and great and creepy idea. But the idea of a serial killer with a conscience killing other serial killers is really lame and cheesy. And thats what this show is about. So Dexter is not really a serial killer. More like a sadistic superhero or something. That's what makes it not creepy. It could have been a great and really creepy and disturbing show but its just too cheesy for my tastes. Expand
  5. StanleyW.
    May 2, 2008
    6
    Boring. Nothing special.
  6. Nov 7, 2012
    6
    This show was great until season 5 and then it starts to lose its raw character. By season 7, the killings are minimal (which take a lot way), the story is trying to be complicated and its just a terrible AND predictable. Nudity went out the window in season 6 to appeal to a larger audience. Not that its a big deal, but it def contrubuted to the raw character the show had. I am not likingThis show was great until season 5 and then it starts to lose its raw character. By season 7, the killings are minimal (which take a lot way), the story is trying to be complicated and its just a terrible AND predictable. Nudity went out the window in season 6 to appeal to a larger audience. Not that its a big deal, but it def contrubuted to the raw character the show had. I am not liking seaon 7 at all. Its just everything QQing.....turned into a soap opera... Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2014
    5
    The further I got into this series the more I couldn't stand Michael Hall's voice and the annoying characters that kept getting piled on. If you stopped around season 3 or so you might save yourself.
  8. Sep 22, 2014
    6
    Achei este seriado com um ritmo muito arrastado, apesar de bom. O final realmente é surpreendente, mas nada de demais também, não chega a impressionar. O modelo de uma solução de crime por temporada (pelo menos na 1) é interessante, porém, nao prende a atenção. Longe de seriados empolgante que você não consegue de parar de ver (a la Lost).
  9. Sep 24, 2013
    6
    I really really loved this serie, but the last seasons seems kinda rushed to me, it was hard to follow the scenario directions, and the last episode just killed me, that's just an artistic suicide, I was expecting a dramatic ending, or maybe a naive, with no moral, but happy ending, but they just did so much non-sense, that it dropped Dexter from a 9 to a 6 to me, I'm very disappointed.
  10. Sep 17, 2014
    5
    I can see how people liked this show. I watched a few episodes and it's interesting and I guess it's okay. I just never really got into it or found it mind blowingly amazing or particularly good I guess....meh
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    80
    The morals of this provocative show are as intriguing as its cases.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Endelman
    75
    Though his cliche hard-boiled voice-over doesn't work, much of this series... does. [29 Sep 2006, p.73]
  3. Reviewed by: Adam Sternbergh
    70
    Dexter treats extreme violence much in the same way that GoodFellas did: as something horrifying, intoxicating, seductive and thrilling, all at the same time.