• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
Dexter Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1460 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Julie Benz, Lauren Velez, Lauren Velez
  • Summary: Six Feet Under's Michael C. Hall is still dealing with death, just in a different way. In this adaptation of Jeff Lindsay's novel "Darkly Dreaming Dexter," Hall stars as a forensics pathologist who moonlights as a serial killer. (He's not all evil, though; he only murders bad guys.)
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
  • Creator: Jeff Lindsay
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Oct 1, 2006
  • Episode Length: 52
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. 100
    Fantastic, fascinating, creepy, charming and gruesome.
  2. 100
    If you want edge, here's Dexter. [9 Oct 2006, p.41]
  3. Sick, twisted and darkly funny, "Dexter" is easily the best drama in Showtime history.
  4. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    80
    The morals of this provocative show are as intriguing as its cases.
  5. Reviewed by: Adam Sternbergh
    70
    Dexter treats extreme violence much in the same way that GoodFellas did: as something horrifying, intoxicating, seductive and thrilling, all at the same time.
  6. The grotesqueries of "Dexter" are not something that can easily be dismissed with the old "you don't have to watch" line. We don't have to watch. We do have to live among the viewers who will be desensitized, or aroused, by this show.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 429
  1. robync
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    This is the best show on TV. Michael C. Hall is great!!! The cast is amazing. I hope this show is around for many years!!!
  2. CanO.
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    great show
  3. MichaelD.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    A finely drawn character study masquerading as a blood-splashed procedural, Dexter explores what it means to feel human
  4. martinp
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    amazing show
  5. LuluF.
    Dec 17, 2008
    10
    Best...Show...Ever! After the first five minutes into Season One, I've been hooked. I've even got my dad addicted to this. I'm Best...Show...Ever! After the first five minutes into Season One, I've been hooked. I've even got my dad addicted to this. I'm venturing to say this is better than The Simpsons. Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    Very exciting unusual story series.
    Impressed by the protagonist.
    I like this movie series. I hope that the extension will be even more interesting.
  7. PrestonV
    Oct 7, 2006
    0
    Dexter's mind is the fancy of the modern world and the writers morbid sense is displayed as a virtuoso.Murder and enjoyment of such Dexter's mind is the fancy of the modern world and the writers morbid sense is displayed as a virtuoso.Murder and enjoyment of such things as entertainment is the highest example of America in decline. To enjoy perversity is to lose all human inhibitions. Watch Dexter and you will. Expand

See all 429 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    What did critics think of the Sunday night's series-ending episode of Dexter? Find out inside.
  2. Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale Image
    Published: December 19, 2011
    Did last night's finale of Dexter make up for a lackluster sixth season? Find out what the critics are saying.