• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Dexter Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1511 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Six Feet Under's Michael C. Hall is still dealing with death, just in a different way. In this adaptation of Jeff Lindsay's novel "Darkly Dreaming Dexter," Hall stars as a forensics pathologist who moonlights as a serial killer. (He's not all evil, though; he only murders bad guys.)
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. It's bold, different and exciting, with a central character and performance that take your breath away.
  2. 100
    If you want edge, here's Dexter. [9 Oct 2006, p.41]
  3. The series quickly establishes itself as an elegant study in horror.
  4. Violence, like deficit spending, is a very American vice. “Dexter” is yet another temptation that is almost impossible to resist.
  5. Reviewed by: Adam Sternbergh
    70
    Dexter treats extreme violence much in the same way that GoodFellas did: as something horrifying, intoxicating, seductive and thrilling, all at the same time.
  6. The grotesqueries of "Dexter" are not something that can easily be dismissed with the old "you don't have to watch" line. We don't have to watch. We do have to live among the viewers who will be desensitized, or aroused, by this show.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 431
  1. robync
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    This is the best show on TV. Michael C. Hall is great!!! The cast is amazing. I hope this show is around for many years!!!
  2. CanO.
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    great show
  3. MichaelD.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    A finely drawn character study masquerading as a blood-splashed procedural, Dexter explores what it means to feel human
  4. martinp
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    amazing show
  5. ScottH.
    Jan 5, 2009
    10
    My wife and I love the show and hope that it will run for many years. We only wish there were more episodes per season.
  6. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    Season 1 of Dexter is easily the most captivating 12 episodes of anything I have seen so far in my life. After seeing probably the first 2Season 1 of Dexter is easily the most captivating 12 episodes of anything I have seen so far in my life. After seeing probably the first 2 episodes you are just hooked and you really want to know what happens. It's hard to grab my attention like that with tv shows. One day I wouldn't mind watching all 12 back-to-back; it would be the best/longest movie ever! Expand
  7. PrestonV
    Oct 7, 2006
    0
    Dexter's mind is the fancy of the modern world and the writers morbid sense is displayed as a virtuoso.Murder and enjoyment of such Dexter's mind is the fancy of the modern world and the writers morbid sense is displayed as a virtuoso.Murder and enjoyment of such things as entertainment is the highest example of America in decline. To enjoy perversity is to lose all human inhibitions. Watch Dexter and you will. Expand

See all 431 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    What did critics think of the Sunday night's series-ending episode of Dexter? Find out inside.
  2. Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale Image
    Published: December 19, 2011
    Did last night's finale of Dexter make up for a lackluster sixth season? Find out what the critics are saying.