Dexter : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Dexter Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1659 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Six Feet Under's Michael C. Hall is still dealing with death, just in a different way. In this adaptation of Jeff Lindsay's novel "Darkly Dreaming Dexter," Hall stars as a forensics pathologist who moonlights as a serial killer. (He's not all evil, though; he only murders bad guys.)
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. It's bold, different and exciting, with a central character and performance that take your breath away.
  2. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    100
    If you want edge, here's Dexter. [9 Oct 2006, p.41]
  3. The series quickly establishes itself as an elegant study in horror.
  4. Violence, like deficit spending, is a very American vice. “Dexter” is yet another temptation that is almost impossible to resist.
  5. Dexter treats extreme violence much in the same way that GoodFellas did: as something horrifying, intoxicating, seductive and thrilling, all at the same time.
  6. The grotesqueries of "Dexter" are not something that can easily be dismissed with the old "you don't have to watch" line. We don't have to watch. We do have to live among the viewers who will be desensitized, or aroused, by this show.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 442
  1. diamondr
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    i hope this show will be on for a lond time.. if not i am going to be sad... :(
  2. Mr.Tang
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    No fancy words here, it's just a brilliant show that's worth my time and the time of those who aren't put off by it's No fancy words here, it's just a brilliant show that's worth my time and the time of those who aren't put off by it's darker content. It's takes a certain perspective to enjoy it and don't let those comments of "America in decline" stop you from gaining a new one. Expand
  3. MichaelD.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    A finely drawn character study masquerading as a blood-splashed procedural, Dexter explores what it means to feel human
  4. ML
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    Yep. The best show I've seen on the tube. Mr Hall is the new king!!!
  5. LuisF.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    One of the best tv series right now. Hope they can keep the good pace till the end.
  6. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    Very exciting unusual story series.
    Impressed by the protagonist.
    I like this movie series. I hope that the extension will be even more interesting.
  7. PrestonV
    Oct 7, 2006
    0
    Dexter's mind is the fancy of the modern world and the writers morbid sense is displayed as a virtuoso.Murder and enjoyment of such Dexter's mind is the fancy of the modern world and the writers morbid sense is displayed as a virtuoso.Murder and enjoyment of such things as entertainment is the highest example of America in decline. To enjoy perversity is to lose all human inhibitions. Watch Dexter and you will. Expand

See all 442 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    What did critics think of the Sunday night's series-ending episode of Dexter? Find out inside.
  2. Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale Image
    Published: December 19, 2011
    Did last night's finale of Dexter make up for a lackluster sixth season? Find out what the critics are saying.