Do No Harm : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 31, 2013
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 25
  2. Negative: 13 out of 25

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 31, 2013
    60
    Do No Harm is a resolutely lightweight entertainment whose silliness isn't necessarily a deal breaker--if you turn off the right parts of your brain, you might enjoy it.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    Far more sentimental than thrilling--there are no real monsters under this hospital bed--it plays more like a mash-up of "A Gifted Man" and "The B- in Apartment 23."
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    Do No Harm isn't so bad. It isn't so good, either.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    Cole is good and Price is evil. And neither one of them is remotely interesting.
  5. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    Do No Harm expects us to accept the dual-personality premise without grounding it in anything believable.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 30, 2013
    50
    Created by David Schulner, the series has done itself a disservice by hewing away from the fantastic and toward the mundane.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 29, 2013
    42
    It's simply not coherent enough to sustain weekly interest.
  8. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 31, 2013
    40
    Show creator David Schulner has failed to craft a workable TV concept, but he does keep the hours tumbling forward effectively, bringing in a number of subplots--Jason's wounded ex-girlfriend, a hostile co-worker trying to bring him down--to distract us from the nonsense.
  9. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jan 31, 2013
    40
    Because Do No Harm wants to be more than just some shlocky Jekyll and Hyde--remake it has made Ian a very bad man, and yet he is not nearly bad enough.
  10. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 30, 2013
    40
    The gimmick undercuts what could have been a decent doctor show with benefits --that is, a solid romance between lead characters Dr. Jason Cole (Steven Pasquale) and Dr. Lena Solis (Alana De La Garza).
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
  1. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    An awesome show. I watched the Pilot episode with my dad and I was hooked right away. The cast is solid, the acting is perfect and the storyAn awesome show. I watched the Pilot episode with my dad and I was hooked right away. The cast is solid, the acting is perfect and the story to me had kind of a "Dexter" feel. I highly recommend this show to anyone who is a fan of Showtime's Dexter. Full Review »
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    I personally enjoyed this first episode when a friend introduced me to it this past weekend. As someone who is in the medical field, myI personally enjoyed this first episode when a friend introduced me to it this past weekend. As someone who is in the medical field, my attention was captured right off the bat with the character, and I was really digging the tension that was built right away. Looking forward to how this show plays out. Full Review »
  3. Feb 4, 2013
    7
    I don't see where all the disdain is coming from, I think Do No Harm offers something a little different from what's being offered out thereI don't see where all the disdain is coming from, I think Do No Harm offers something a little different from what's being offered out there right now. I for one, am weary of all doctor/cop/lawyer related drama shows and enjoy the freshness that Do No Harm brings to the genre. It's no Dexter I assure you, but if the story manages to develop the villain into a more sinister character, then this series can count on this viewer. Full Review »