• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 31, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Do No Harm Image
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dr. Jason Cole (Steven Pasquale) suffers from Dissociative Identity Disorder and between the hours of 8:25 p.m. and 8:25 a.m. he becomes another man, the devious Ian Price.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 25
  2. Negative: 13 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jan 25, 2013
    80
    There's considerable charm in this medical-drama concoction, which comes with the usual generous supply of spectacular brain disorders nobody you know will ever get--and in Mr. Pasquale's Dr. Cole, a confident, dedicated surgeon.
  2. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    Do No Harm expects us to accept the dual-personality premise without grounding it in anything believable.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    Cole is good and Price is evil. And neither one of them is remotely interesting.
  4. 30
    Do No Harm's biggest fault, besides lackluster dialogue, is its overall air of deep insecurity, a quality that's unfortunately too common on network dramas.
  5. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 31, 2013
    25
    The only thing hokier than the show's preposterous premise is the writing.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 28, 2013
    25
    Part Dr. Jekyll, part Mr. Hyde and all dumb.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
  1. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    I don't understand where all of the disapproval and negativity is from. I'm not saying the writing is the best, but the plot, the directing/filming, and the acting are great! The reason why I am so drawn to this show, is because this theme does not occur in ANY other TV show. Not only is it an excellent take on a current Dr. Jekyll Mr. Hyde, but unlike most "doctor" based drama, it's a stereotypical E.R. doctor, whereas this is neurosurgery, a much more interesting field. Also, the other "medical" shows have no gore factor, whereas this does. Honestly, everything about this show appeals to me as an audience and ultimately keeps me on the edge and needing to see the next episode: what a drama should do. All of these extremely low ratings are just a dramatic exaggeration on a specific flaw of an otherwise well-mapped out series. I thoroughly enjoy watching it. Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    I personally enjoyed this first episode when a friend introduced me to it this past weekend. As someone who is in the medical field, my attention was captured right off the bat with the character, and I was really digging the tension that was built right away. Looking forward to how this show plays out. Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    An awesome show. I watched the Pilot episode with my dad and I was hooked right away. The cast is solid, the acting is perfect and the story to me had kind of a "Dexter" feel. I highly recommend this show to anyone who is a fan of Showtime's Dexter. Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2013
    8
    I think this show is great, it keeps you wanting to see the next episode right away. The cast is perfect and very likeable. I really hope it catches on so that we can all see what happens... Expand
  5. Feb 4, 2013
    7
    I don't see where all the disdain is coming from, I think Do No Harm offers something a little different from what's being offered out there right now. I for one, am weary of all doctor/cop/lawyer related drama shows and enjoy the freshness that Do No Harm brings to the genre. It's no Dexter I assure you, but if the story manages to develop the villain into a more sinister character, then this series can count on this viewer. Expand
  6. Feb 2, 2013
    4
    A 0 is a bit of an exaggeration. This show leaves you wanting to know what will happen next (what a drama should do), but the writing and acting aren't so good. Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2013
    0
    Once again, NBC is trying to deal with shows that wants to get good ratings. But still nothing works. Animal Practice, Failed (Didn't they remember another animal show on NBC way back in the day called Mr. Smith?). Deception, soon going into the chopping block. And now, Do No Harm. It is the same slot at 10 p.m. on Thursday since the long-lived "ER" always showed NBC against the other networks who's their boss. Unfortunately, since "Do No Harm" is now the lowest-rated show on television since ABC's "Work It" and FOX's "The Return of Jezebel James," they must be careful because every year another show in the TV Death Watch is about to get even nastier. Sorry, NBC. This show is gonna be next in line and so does "The Mob Doctor" and hope they don't survive while getting the axe. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews