User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 145

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2014
    7
    Doctor Who continues its run with great episodes, developed characters and a lot of emotion. David Tennant handles the reins of the Doctor very well and so does Billie Piper as Rose Tyler. However, its main problem is its weak antagonists. Few are memorable, the rest are either funny or stupid.
  2. Oct 16, 2014
    9
    Tennant's stage experience takes the character of the Doctor to new heights in this series. As the show effectively revolves around a single character (the Time Lord) it tends to rise and fall on the strengths of its central actor. The scripts were engaging and while I take a point away from the score for the companion being a bit of a shallow tag along Barbie-type character at timesTennant's stage experience takes the character of the Doctor to new heights in this series. As the show effectively revolves around a single character (the Time Lord) it tends to rise and fall on the strengths of its central actor. The scripts were engaging and while I take a point away from the score for the companion being a bit of a shallow tag along Barbie-type character at times overall this season was among the best of the new series. Expand
  3. Jul 16, 2014
    7
    So new doctor, new series, hopefully some improvements from the previous series, the question is are there any?... well yes and no, but we'll get to that later, first of all I'll like to say how great David Tennant is, easily better than Eccleston and better than some of the classic doctors. (not to say I dislike any doctors, each of them brings something new and unique, this is out ofSo new doctor, new series, hopefully some improvements from the previous series, the question is are there any?... well yes and no, but we'll get to that later, first of all I'll like to say how great David Tennant is, easily better than Eccleston and better than some of the classic doctors. (not to say I dislike any doctors, each of them brings something new and unique, this is out of preference) Tennant's portrayal is much more lively and brings a more cheeky side to the show however having elements of low temperament same as Eccleston, but enough comparing. Billie Piper is the same as ever, nothing really changed apart from the ending . You have a decent story ark which follows a similar path to "Bad Wolf" more development into Rose's family and above all more interesting and developed plot's that contrast well with the Doctor and his companions. I will follow the same style as last time and give a brief opinion on each story then come to a conclusive decision afterwards.

    2,01: New Earth
    New Doctor, New Earth, even though this story is solid, its nothing really spectacular, it doesn't even promote The Tenth Doctor very well, with some of the same gags used from the previous series, however its pretty straight forward and self explanatory, for the first televised off world story of the new series. 6th out of 10 stories
    2.02: Tooth and Claw
    After a very average start we get a really good episode, that's justified, concluded in its time frame, well acted, and just good doctor who. everything comes together nicely in this episode. 2nd out of 10 stories
    2.03: School Reunion
    This episode is one of those ones which tries to feed on the fear you might have had when you were little but doesn't do anything to effect you now, it just ends up being a bit silly, luckily a return of some older friends sort this one out from failure. 8th out of 10 stories
    2.04: The Girl in the Fireplace
    Fairytale is written all over this one, its smart, funny and very charming easily the best of season 2 with some truly great imagination here and brilliant who to compliment it. 1st out of 10 stories
    2.05: Rise of the Cybermen/ 2.06: The Age of Steel
    given its rather confusing premise, this two parter is well kind of bland, it just acts on what the Cybermen do not who they are however the steaks are here but apart from a simple plot line and some menacing looks from the doctor to compliment the fact that the Cybermen are old enemies, there isnt a lot going for this one either. 5th out of 10 stories
    2.07: The Idiot's Lantern
    first of all I don't see how this title has anything to do with the story? the story how ever is a little underwhelming and very basic, in terms of narrative, it has some good moments but on the whole very mediocre. 7th out of 10 stories.
    2.08: The Impossible Planet / 2.09: The Satan Pit
    Riddled with suspense, this story is simple but never the less interesting, with great acting, horror and mystery, this is the closest the new series of doctor who has come to being scary, a great two parter!
    3rd out of 10 stories
    2.10: Love and Monsters
    For all the criticism it gets, its not that bad, still the weakest of the bunch, but this episode has good pace its just rather silly and unnecessary taking the focus away from doctor who and putting the humans first, no doubt it works but it isn't doctor who. 10th out of 10 stories
    2.11: Fear Her
    possibly my least favourite story, its just I couldn't put it last as the previous story already stole that position, Fear Her is just well...boring basically, a simple story that isn't, memorable nor anything special, just simple doctor who. 9th out of 10 stories
    2.12: Army of Ghosts / 2.13: Doomsday
    This two parter fuses good storytelling together bringing mystery,love, terror, and old enemies, however its all a bit to familiar to that of previous stories and feels like we are treading over common ground again, this is still a good two parter and good finale at that. 4th out of 10 stories.

    So at the end of the second series yes, there have been a few improvements noticeably in the narrative and storytelling, but its all turned a bit mediocre apart from a few good episodes there rest are well, just average, the tension and turmoil is still there just less of it, which doesn't surprise me seeing as its a new doctor i just wish this series wasn't littered with unfunny gags which are just a bit cringe.
    Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2014
    6
    Don't get me wrong I Really liked david tennant in this season, but people need to look past the actor and into the stories, the first story (the christmas episode) I had no idea who this new doctor was, he was given about 15 minutes of screentime the rest he was sleeping, he was completely brilliant in that time though, I have to say after the alright christmas episode, we're given...Don't get me wrong I Really liked david tennant in this season, but people need to look past the actor and into the stories, the first story (the christmas episode) I had no idea who this new doctor was, he was given about 15 minutes of screentime the rest he was sleeping, he was completely brilliant in that time though, I have to say after the alright christmas episode, we're given... another episode where half the time the doctor is a skin **** and is soooo boring.. I enjoyed the next couple of episodes aftet that and school reunion and girl in the fireplace were by far the best episodes of the season and the finale was just as good, the great departure of rose **** and the departure of many other companions, the cybermen are great but basically, that's all I can say.. yes a lot of good **** but then, Rose is a **** the doctor seems to act so much like a bloody human half the time I forgot he was even a time lord, rose is annoying throughout the season and the only episode I would give a 10 is the girl in the fireplace, the rest maybe 6s or 7s and maybe one 9 to school reunion but omg.. fear her and love and monsters are **** disgraceful, fear her is utterly **** 1/10 and love and monsters... ending, david tennant POUNDS THA PAVEMEnt!... no.. and the character introduced is **** 0/10 the season was alright but not perfect like some people are making it out to be, they need to understand, david tennant being "hot" isn't a good enough reason for a 10/10... 6/10 Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    Absolutely loved this. David Tennant is a perfect Doctor and combined with Rose, they make the perfect team. I loved each and every episode and my eyes were practically glued to the tv during the amazing season finale. A fantastic season overall.
  6. Feb 18, 2014
    9
    The leap from Christopher Ecclestone to David Tennant was a major one. David Tennant made a charming doctor, unlike the when the 9th tried to be completely serious. Billie Piper plays a fantastic role as Rose. When I think of Doctor who, I think of this David Tennant, Peter Davisson Tom Baker.
  7. Dec 8, 2013
    7
    Doctor Who continues its run with great episodes, developed characters and a lot of emotion. David Tennant handles the reins of the Doctor very well and so does Billie Piper as Rose Tyler. However, its main problem is its weak antagonists. Few are memorable, the rest are either funny or stupid.
  8. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    Season 2 was a real big miss for me. Tennant is a solid actor but he really has no defining moments this season outside of the end of the christmas special. The rest of the cast was alright, No complaints. The story telling was far better this season as well. The biggest complaint I have though is all the secondary characters, such as the protagonist and antagonist for the episode(s),Season 2 was a real big miss for me. Tennant is a solid actor but he really has no defining moments this season outside of the end of the christmas special. The rest of the cast was alright, No complaints. The story telling was far better this season as well. The biggest complaint I have though is all the secondary characters, such as the protagonist and antagonist for the episode(s), getting far more screen time and lines then the doctor and his companion. I think that sort of sucks because it killed any chance for Tennant to really shine.

    It's such an unsatisfying season and I really did not like it one bit.
    Expand
  9. May 29, 2013
    8
    This season started off with the benefit of a new Doctor: David Tennant is significantly better than his predecessor. I think he's more amusing when he's whacky and more compelling when he's serious. Good match for the role! This season definitely has some better character development than the first season, and many of the individual episodes are more interesting. My only major complaintThis season started off with the benefit of a new Doctor: David Tennant is significantly better than his predecessor. I think he's more amusing when he's whacky and more compelling when he's serious. Good match for the role! This season definitely has some better character development than the first season, and many of the individual episodes are more interesting. My only major complaint is that, as with the first season, there isn't much of a story arc. Lots of things happen, but there doesn't seem to be much point in the end. Definitely a great show and well worth watching, but I think it gets better with later seasons. Expand
  10. May 23, 2013
    7
    Few viewers would deny that David Tennant makes for an excellent Doctor and his on-screen chemistry with companion Rose Tyler (Billie Piper) is nothing short of excellent. Despite this I found my interest did begin to wane on occasions during this ‘second’ season.

    This was in large part due to the fact that each episode is almost entirely self-contained meaning there is little in terms
    Few viewers would deny that David Tennant makes for an excellent Doctor and his on-screen chemistry with companion Rose Tyler (Billie Piper) is nothing short of excellent. Despite this I found my interest did begin to wane on occasions during this ‘second’ season.

    This was in large part due to the fact that each episode is almost entirely self-contained meaning there is little in terms of ongoing storylines to bring me back episode after episode in the way that other sci-fi shows like the Battlestar Galactica did. When the show is at its best, such as in the episode ‘The Girl in the Fireplace’, this is not really a problem but as was the case with season one the quality can vary greatly from week to week and so some episodes can be quite dull and a bit of a chore to sit through.
    Collapse
  11. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    David Tennant's spin on The Doctor is great. I like how he is much more dark, conflicted and lonely than other Doctors before him. I mean if you were immortal but your whole race was dead and you went on traveling all of space and time only to know that everyone you ever love is mortal and only around for a short time I think it would at that kind of darkness to you. David Tennant isDavid Tennant's spin on The Doctor is great. I like how he is much more dark, conflicted and lonely than other Doctors before him. I mean if you were immortal but your whole race was dead and you went on traveling all of space and time only to know that everyone you ever love is mortal and only around for a short time I think it would at that kind of darkness to you. David Tennant is definitely one of the best, if not the best Doctor. As always the stories were great and the special effects were great too. Expand
  12. Dec 29, 2011
    8
    This season kind of was more based on The Doctor's and Rose's relationship rather than what was to come. It slightly failed near the end, what with Love & Monster's. I did love certain aspects of it, such as the Cat People (one of my favourites of the series), but I did love the story arc, which always fits in nicely. Often people have described it as complicated, but I just describe thatThis season kind of was more based on The Doctor's and Rose's relationship rather than what was to come. It slightly failed near the end, what with Love & Monster's. I did love certain aspects of it, such as the Cat People (one of my favourites of the series), but I did love the story arc, which always fits in nicely. Often people have described it as complicated, but I just describe that as a challenge, rather than sitting there not doing anything or thinking anything. I've always loved The Doctor's personality and the way it changes each time he regenerates. It's good to have variety, and although I almost lose faith in Doctor Who, it always comes back, fresh and new, ready for a new season. Expand
  13. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very good season of Doctor Who. Probably better than the first, in some ways. Russel T. Davies isn't the best writer / producer, but he get's it done. The one thing I didn't like about this season was the romance between The Doctor and Rose. I had a very hard time believing their romance. All in all, though, I'd say it was pretty good, and Tennent gives an excellent performance. Expand
  14. May 22, 2011
    9
    One of the best Doctor Who series ever. Great acting, tense action, some brilliant writing and great characters. Hated the episode with the Absorbaloff though.
  15. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    If it's possible, this season was even better than the last. David Tennant is by far the best Doctor of all the The Doctors. He's added a dimension we haven't seen before. It's a kind of shadow of sorts, a loneliness.
  16. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    It's ironic now to remember that many people were concerned that new Doctor Who David Tennant might not live up to Chris Ecclestone in the run up to series 2. Those concerns were unfounded as David Tennant not only enjoyed great chemistry with Piper but turned out to arguably be the finest actor to have played the iconic character. The second series is more ambitious than the first despiteIt's ironic now to remember that many people were concerned that new Doctor Who David Tennant might not live up to Chris Ecclestone in the run up to series 2. Those concerns were unfounded as David Tennant not only enjoyed great chemistry with Piper but turned out to arguably be the finest actor to have played the iconic character. The second series is more ambitious than the first despite the character of Rose Tyler becoming slightly unlikeable. A loud and impressive finale showed that Doctor Who could last and its revival has gotten stronger and stronger. Expand

There are no critic reviews yet.