User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 131

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2014
    8
    This series starts sluggish but by the time it finishes, it's as strong as ever. The antagonists are better and so are the special effects. However, some episodes feel just typical Doctor Who (The Doctor's Daughter and The Sontaran Strategem / The Poison Sky) and doesn't compare well against other episodes.
  2. Oct 16, 2014
    10
    Series 4 exemplifies the new series at its peak, able to explore wide ranging topics with a strong versatile cast. Donna in particular shows profound character development throughout; something typically missing with the companions. Tennant as usual gives a stellar performance as the Doctor. A wide range of guest writers, including Steven Moffat, provide a steady stream of fresh ideas.

    My only quibble is with Davis' scripts; so much more could have been done near the end of this series yet he was starting to show signs of burnout before handing over writing duties to Moffat in Season 5. Much of the social agenda axe-grinding in his latter episodes feels jarring and out of place and would have been better left out entirely. Donna's fate feels like a bit of a cop-out; I would have preferred to see her character develop fully and stay developed instead of Davies hitting the Big Red Reset Button in an attempt to generate pathos. Yes, it works, but it feels cheap on retrospect in comparison to Moffat's work in the later seasons with River.

    Overall, more fun than problems with this series though. Highly recommended!
    Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2014
    8
    It was Pretty good, not excellent, not like series 1 or 3, not that good, but I can say it was better than series 2.. series 2.. was pretty awful but this season, what I can say is that, Fires of Pompeii was really nice, turn left was incredible, forest of the dead and silence in the library were brilliant and midnight was completely insane! I loved all of those episodes, they were the best of the season.. however this episode had an episode known as the doctors daughter.. Which was **** daleks are back, again... not giving a weaker performance than last time but still pretty poor. david tennants goodbye was really sad however got a bit to extreme and the waters of mars as the special was really good, however the end of time, pt 1 and pt 2 were kinda **** not a great season... but fairly good.. not as bad as season 2... as it didnt have as many **** episodes but it did have some good ones. Expand
  4. Jul 20, 2014
    8
    So the last series of the Tenth Doctor and seeing as I forgot to do the specials I'll put them in too, and as I'm going to run out of word count I'll keep this brief, David Tennant is same as normal but a sense of annoyance is creeping in, Catherine Tate is ok I guess, but this story ark where she is the centre of the universe malarkey is stupidly far fetched, the character is ok but can get annoying at some points. anyway down to business.

    The Specials -
    The Christmas Invasion:
    loved this story, simple, effective and a great introduction to the Tenth Doctor I
    The Runaway Bride:
    silly, repetitive, not really much going for it VII
    Voyage of the Damned:
    as always with Russell T. some sort of iconic appearance always seems necessary, overlooking that, this story is just ok. V
    The Next Doctor:
    pretty clever, some twisty narrative going on in this one, but is spoiled by unnecessary cadavering. IV
    Planet of the Dead:
    quite liked this one, its different, and has some new elements that unfold later on. II
    The Waters of Mars:
    pretty good again especially after a long break, emphasis on horror here and I like it! III
    The End of Time:
    This two parter is overly complex, boring and dragged. A nice execution of the Tenth Doctor (not in that way) and a big surprise which no one saw coming. VI

    4.01: Partners in Crime
    Terrible, one of the worst stories ever, overly stupid and tediously camp, cant slate this one enough. 10th out of 10 stories
    4.02: The Fires of Pompeii
    This ones ok, pretty simple and doesn't do what annoying back in time stories do which is focus on how they cant change events, pretty simple, quite mediocre. 7th out of 10 stories
    4.03: Planet of the Ood
    pretty average, nothing much to say this about this one, a casual watch, that doesn't grip nor excite you, but a good twist at the end 8th out of 10 stories
    4.04: The Sontaran Stratagem / 4.05: The Poison Sky
    With a long gap from television, the talk of the sontarans exited me and this two parter really brings out the best of both worlds, intriguing story and iconic villains with some returning friends this two parter is a gem. 4th of 10stories
    4.06: The Doctor's Daughter
    for an episode that I thought I was going to detest, it actually turned out to be one of the best, nicely paced, full of action, a simple plot but still pretty good. 5th of 10th stories
    4.07: The Unicorn and the Wasp
    And the camp writing returns! with a silly and rather annoying script that gets rather annoying, this episode starts to feel more like a parody of Agatha Christie rather than Doctor Who. 9th out of 10 stories
    4.08: Silence in the Library / 4.09: Forest of the Dead
    Like always Steven Moffat brings out the highlight of the season, however not in this case, and interesting and intriguing story non the less but another took its place..sorry 2nd of 10 stories
    4.10: Midnight
    probably my favourite or second favourite David Tennant stories ever, Midnight and Blink are masterpieces. 1st of 10 stories
    4.11: Turn Left
    It seems that in every series there is a quirky type of episode, this one however takes this biscuit a really interesting and convoluted story that gets you pumped for the finale. 6th out of 10 stories
    4.12: The Stolen Earth / 4.13: Journey's End
    WOW what a finale, this is probably the biggest most mind boggling finale to date, full of action, prophecy's, timey wimey voodoo magic, even though its extremely far fetched, this a bit of fun and needs to be taken with a pinch of salt, yes its not a finale that you can watch over an over again but to wrap up everything its a pretty decent effort. 3rd of 10 stories

    so overall another pretty decent series, however its themes and generic conventions are a little silly and tedious at some points but hey, its Russell's last series so, I'll let him of, yet again the same sort of tale with this series as the first two, half the series is good, the rest is annoying or just plain bad Doctor Who, I guess its always a matter of opinion but i really do think and still believe a change was defiantly necessary. David Tennant was a great doctor and journey's end just proved that, the companions are a bit hit and miss but on the whole after 4 series, i'm proud to be a fan of new who.
    Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    This season is amazing. David Tennant is still the perfect Doctor and Catherine Tate is hilarious. With that said, I didn't really like the Doctor and Donna relationship as much because it was all friendly with no element of romance, which is something I'd gotten used to with this show. However, this season features new aliens and characters from seasons 1-4. That combined with very well written episodes and an amazing story arch make this one if the best seasons of Doctor Who ever. Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    Doctor who covers many genres, and with the inclusion of Catherine Tate as Donna Noble, she adds hilarious comedy, which adds to the show's greatness. The final episodes show just how great a season this was.
  7. Feb 2, 2014
    8
    This series starts sluggish but by the time it finishes, it's as strong as ever. The antagonists are better and so are the special effects. However, some episodes feel just typical Doctor Who (The Doctor's Daughter and The Sontaran Strategem / The Poison Sky) and doesn't compare well against other episodes.
  8. Sep 28, 2013
    6
    I am surprised I like Tate as much as I did this season because I am not a fan of her other work, That being said she was a fantastic companion. Tennant, as always, is an enjoyable doctor. The story telling was rather good this season and certainly interesting to watch. That being said, It was a real grind to finish the last few episodes because they weren't that interesting and very far too long. However, We are introduced to a new doctor at the end of the season so it all makes up for it. Tennant will be missed but I can't wait to see how the new doctor is next season.

    Overall, A solid season but no real defining moment that made me love it.
    Expand
  9. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Once again a great season. Donna kind of annoyed me at first, but she grew on me as time went on. Her character is supposed to be a bit annoying anyway. In fact I just re-watched the episode were she was introduced, it was on TV over the holidays and the way her personality and The Doctor's personalities contrast with each other humourously is great! I was concerned when I found out this would be David Tennant's last season as The Doctor, he was a good Doctor. Expand
  10. Sep 3, 2011
    8
    Catherine Tate is, I think, an underrated companion. She is annoying at times, but she's very very funny. David Tennent is whiney and annoying at this point, and I was excited to see him go. Silence in the Library is incredible and, in general, anything written by Moffat is going to be good. All in all a great season.
  11. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Season (or rather series) 4 made my laugh and cry many times. The main mission of TV (to entertain) has been completed. Episodes: 'The Unicorn and the Wasp' and 'Turn Left' belong to my favourites and explain what 'Doctor Who' is really about. David Tennant as the Doctor and Catherine Tate as Donna have been a huge pleasure for my eyes. Maybe 'The Stolen Earth' and 'Journey's End' are a bit confusing (as if the writers tried to make a perfect end for each plot), but two-part 'The End of Time' is a wonderful compensation. Expand
  12. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    David Tennant will be sorely missed, as will Russell T Davies. This season kept up the high quality of what we've come to expect from Doctor Who. We have child-like curiosity intermingled with a very dark Doctor this season. It's like age and youth combined. Tennant really is one of the exceptional actors of our time.
  13. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    The final full season with David Tennant is full with exceptional quality episodes where Steven Moffat delivers a classic with his 'Silence in the Library/Forest of the Dead' two-parter. Catherine Tate improves as the season wears on but David Tennant is always sensational, particularly in Russell T. Davies' genuis 'Midnight'. The finale is an overblown juvinile mess but it is still quite fun.

There are no critic reviews yet.