User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 163 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 163

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2011
    1
    Steven Moffat's storylines are for the most part ridiculous and full of plot holes. Matt Smith is but a shadow of Christopher Eccleston and David Tennant - good enough for the Doctor's nephew, but not the Doctor himself. Amy Pond is an uninteresting girl with no life, obsessed with the Doctor and Rory is just as pathetic. The music theme has changed for the worse and I even hate the new sonic screwdriver! Russell T. Davies, David Tennant, Billie Piper, Catherine Tate, you are terribly missed... Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2012
    1
    This is about the worst Sci Fi I've seen since Voyager and the show seems to hate character development, the doctor is a superstar so its just a self suck fest when he is around, Amy Pond is terrible and being a **** seems to count as a character and her husband is a giant wuss that just watches his **** of a wife love another man every episode. What happened to this show?
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the season is a continuation of the trends in the first season with Matt Smith as the doctor, with writing that is vastly inferior to every previous doctor. the writers don't know what the doctor would do in most situations and are ignoring the personal growth of the doctor over the years. the writers should not have let any of the daleks survive if they were not going to use them. the only appearance of a dalek in this season was for 1.5 minutes at the last episode. in the previous season he said that he was going to hunt down the daleks, but he found them and did nothing about that huge problem. Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Simply a case of bad to worse. Why people continue to buy into Moffat's shambles is beyond me. What is generally promised to be another one of his 'shocking twists' (the identity of the astronaut, how the Doctor survives the killing blow) is quickly shown to be a tediously obvious anti-climax. Another one of Moffat's one-trick dogs is revealed in the form of the 'dreaded' Silence, who... make people forget. Not exactly the greatest threat that reality has ever faced, the Silence only work as a fitting analogy for the current version of the show itself - at first appearances, impressive and arrogant, but ultimately does nothing, goes nowhere and is instantly forgettable. Other flaws in this series include a lazy 'theme' episode that cashes in on the latest Pirates of the Caribbean film, the reduction of the TARDIS to a shallow and hurredly written comedy eccentric, and Amy and Rory's disturbing and nonsensical lack of concern after their baby is revealed to be a Flesh clone and melts. Expand
  5. Dec 26, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love Doctor Who and everything about it. However, since the show introduced the River Song character I feel like throwing a shoe at the television whenever she appears. A woman who looks like a 50 year old grandma constantly throwing herself at a man who looks 25. I've never in my life seen a more unlikeable character. All the moments that could've been spent with the Doctor and his companions, or some aliens, or anything else, was wasted on that horrible, horrible, obnoxious, nauseating female. Ridiculous. Thanks Moffat. Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2014
    4
    Oh dear...
    Well my disappointment continues and this time it plummets to near rock bottom. The whole show is now unnecessary Americanised, the main story is stupidly complicated and is concluded very poorly, I don't mind it when the show changes but when it doesn't work it feels like putting two repelling magnets together, however there are a few good stories here that do need to be
    praised, and the directing, acting is as good as was before, in fact most of the positives culminate around those areas. This series is way more missable than the previous one and I recommend that you don't watch this series if you do, watch the ones that aren't connected to anything. with that said lets get this over and done with.
    A Christmas Carol:
    A parody on the Charles Dickens novel, entertaining for only the Christmas spirit apart from that a causal watch, Michael Gambon is as great as always though.
    6.01: The Impossible Astronaut / 6.02: Day of the Moon
    This two parter starts of interesting, before it gets too gun hoe and well "American" and you don't even need to think about it, however some really good imagination as this series starts of promising, I did like this two parter. 3rd out of 11 stories
    6.03: The Curse of the Black Spot
    A seemingly interesting story, with a good amount of pace that keeps you from getting bored, this is before it gets silly, which makes this story just another causal watch. 5th out of 11 stories
    6.04: The Doctor's Wife
    probably the best episode of the series, great plot, really good cinematography work and overall good acting which keeps the episode flowing as is unveils it interesting mystery's 1st out of 11 stories
    6.05: The Rebel Flesh / 6.06: The Almost People
    This two parter is a dull as it is boring...oh wait same thing. The whole story could be wrapped up in a single episode, I found it hard to care about this one. 8th out of 11 stories
    6.07: A Good Man Goes to War
    This episode takes a different turn, a rather different type of story than normal which surprisingly works, but yet again this gun hoe style return and feels like and advert to america, never the less I liked this episode and it reveals some well kept secrets. 4th out of 11 stories
    6.08: Let's Kill Hitler
    THE WORST EPISODE OF NEW WHO< TERRIBLE
    Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 2 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 25, 2011
    80
    [An] immediately exciting new season.
  2. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Apr 15, 2011
    100
    A terrific two-parter that features aliens, Richard Nixon, and crackling dialogue. [22/29 Apr 2011, p.92]