Doctor Who Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Doctor, Amy, and Rory continue their adventures in the TARDIS beginning with a stop in 1960s America.
  • Genre(s): Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Apr 15, 2011
    100
    A terrific two-parter that features aliens, Richard Nixon, and crackling dialogue. [22/29 Apr 2011, p.92]
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 25, 2011
    80
    [An] immediately exciting new season.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Absolutely an incredible season starting with the classic Doctor character Matt Smith has created and taking a very dark and sinister turn very quickly. This is an amazing start to the season and I have a feeling it's going to be a long summer waiting for more Doctor Who. Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Basically a continuation of Season 5. If you liked Season 5 you will like this season, if you did not like season 5 you will not like Season 6. I personally enjoyed Season 5 and Season 6. I didn't really care for the change in format to the opening credits for the first time (that I am aware of) since the first Doctor Who episode ever in 1963, it was alright once for the opening to Season 6 to refresh your memory of what is going on, but hey! I watch the show, I know what is going on, you don't have to tell me at the start of every Season 6 episode lol. But other than that I enjoyed this season. Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    Doctor Who is simply ................... perfection.
  4. Apr 19, 2014
    7
    Definitely my least favorite season. I didn't like the plot of the season compared to the other ones. While the acting was great and the individual episodes were entertaining, some of the episodes trailed away from the main story and seemed pointless. Despite all of this, Season 6 is still pretty good and definitely worth watching. There's plenty of action and drama. Not my personal favorite, but still a good season. Expand
  5. Dec 20, 2011
    7
    A hit-and-miss season. After the pure concentrated awesomeness that was season 5, I had high expectations for the next season, and while Doctor Who will never suck, this was a disappointing season. The season had a rough start and a rough finish. The story arc felt disjointed with the whole of the season only coming in in uneven intervals in the beginning, middle and end of the season (it was like Steven Moffat wasn't communicating with the rest of the writers). Ironically the best episodes this season were the ones that had absolutely nothing to do with the mediocre part of a story arc which continued on from the previous season and STILL hasn't been resolved. Ultimately this season has its great episodes, good episodes, average episodes and bad episodes. Not as good a season 5 but still worthwhile. Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2011
    6
    I'm a long time Doctor who fan so I'm not being swayed by any opinions this is just how I feel and I would never want to ruin the name of my favourite programme but with this series I must admit I'm disappointed.
    we start in 1960's America with Richard Nixon as the president and we get an odd shock twist which I'm not going to spoil.
    THE STORY : the story in my opinion is very weak, once again we revolve around making theories in our heads about River Song and we have some boring villains .
    THE WRITING: the writing isn't very good in my opinion I honestly think that Steven Moffat needs to give it up, his first season was interesting but now he's trying to get to complex which in many ways isn't very good.
    THE DOCTOR: The Doctor is Matt Smith and if we categorise the doctors we could simply say he's for the kids while David Tennant was supposed to be a good looking gentleman for the women and Christopher Eccleston was a darker Doctor who revived the programme.
    overall i think steven moffat needs to go so we can get good enemies, good stories which aren't to complex since we know that the target audience is children. 6/10 where is Tom Baker when you need him
    Expand
  7. May 29, 2011
    1
    Steven Moffat's storylines are for the most part ridiculous and full of plot holes. Matt Smith is but a shadow of Christopher Eccleston and David Tennant - good enough for the Doctor's nephew, but not the Doctor himself. Amy Pond is an uninteresting girl with no life, obsessed with the Doctor and Rory is just as pathetic. The music theme has changed for the worse and I even hate the new sonic screwdriver! Russell T. Davies, David Tennant, Billie Piper, Catherine Tate, you are terribly missed... Expand

See all 22 User Reviews