Doctor Who : Season 6

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Doctor Who Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 227 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Doctor, Amy, and Rory continue their adventures in the TARDIS beginning with a stop in 1960s America.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Apr 15, 2011
    100
    A terrific two-parter that features aliens, Richard Nixon, and crackling dialogue. [22/29 Apr 2011, p.92]
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 25, 2011
    80
    [An] immediately exciting new season.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Absolutely an incredible season starting with the classic Doctor character Matt Smith has created and taking a very dark and sinister turnAbsolutely an incredible season starting with the classic Doctor character Matt Smith has created and taking a very dark and sinister turn very quickly. This is an amazing start to the season and I have a feeling it's going to be a long summer waiting for more Doctor Who. Expand
  2. tce
    Jun 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Doctor Who is hitting new heights of quality and intelligence. A compelling narrative, run through with twists and turns, is propelling one of the most enigmatic Doctors and one of his most troubled entourages towards a seemingly inescapable tragedy - at the start of the first episode. Steven Moffat knows how to make you pay attention, that much is certain! Answers to the mystery of season 5 still lie tantalisingly out of reach, but the emergence of the ugly (and ever so dapper) manipulators, the Silence, assures that we'll know everything very soon. Matt Smith relaxes superbly into the role of the Doctor, taking a more composed and less scatterbrained approach than his debut in season 5, but Amy's "burden" seems to be sidelining her into plot device territory while the lovable Rory becomes (or at least pretends to be) more macho. River Song's story arc is at last hitting its nitty-gritty and we're about to learn just what her deal is, why she's incarcerated, and where her attachment to the Doctor originates. That's a fascinating plotline, even if it seems to be heading in dubious directions ("my love"?) and Alex Kingston has a sort of classic charm that eases the wait for River to finally reveal some depth. At the heart of it all, though, is the Doctor, and I'm already reserving the tissues for when he ultimately has to confront the tragedy surrounding Miss (or Mrs...?) Song's timey-wimey relationship with him. Keep it up, Team Moffat! Your dazzling ambition for Who is working wonders, even if there is still the odd naff script worming its way in from time to time. Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    A fantastic new series, with Matt Smith being better than ever, Karen Gillan and Arthur Darvill being exceptional as always, and Alex KingstonA fantastic new series, with Matt Smith being better than ever, Karen Gillan and Arthur Darvill being exceptional as always, and Alex Kingston fantastic as River Song. Brilliant new episodes, brilliant arc - just plain awesome, really. Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2014
    7
    Definitely my least favorite season. I didn't like the plot of the season compared to the other ones. While the acting was great and theDefinitely my least favorite season. I didn't like the plot of the season compared to the other ones. While the acting was great and the individual episodes were entertaining, some of the episodes trailed away from the main story and seemed pointless. Despite all of this, Season 6 is still pretty good and definitely worth watching. There's plenty of action and drama. Not my personal favorite, but still a good season. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2014
    7
    Steven Moffat seems to have gone mad with this series now. Season 6 makes this very clear. Steven Moffat focused so hard on jokes, andSteven Moffat seems to have gone mad with this series now. Season 6 makes this very clear. Steven Moffat focused so hard on jokes, and sexuality that it seems he forgot he was writing a Doctor Who season, and not softcore porn. Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2015
    4
    To much storyline, which ends with a bang. Has it's moments, but some episodes are just plot. The Rebel Flesh bores, and The God Complex isTo much storyline, which ends with a bang. Has it's moments, but some episodes are just plot. The Rebel Flesh bores, and The God Complex is boring when they aren't making jokes. The Doctor's Wife is great, but still overrated. The Wedding of River Song has a lot of good moments, but the solution is terrible, as is the name, seriously Moffat I thought you preferred to be spoiler free. Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2012
    1
    This is about the worst Sci Fi I've seen since Voyager and the show seems to hate character development, the doctor is a superstar so its justThis is about the worst Sci Fi I've seen since Voyager and the show seems to hate character development, the doctor is a superstar so its just a self suck fest when he is around, Amy Pond is terrible and being a **** seems to count as a character and her husband is a giant wuss that just watches his **** of a wife love another man every episode. What happened to this show? Expand

See all 26 User Reviews