Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Doctor Who Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 185 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Doctor, Amy, and Rory continue their adventures in the TARDIS beginning with a stop in 1960s America.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Apr 15, 2011
    100
    A terrific two-parter that features aliens, Richard Nixon, and crackling dialogue. [22/29 Apr 2011, p.92]
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 25, 2011
    80
    [An] immediately exciting new season.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Absolutely an incredible season starting with the classic Doctor character Matt Smith has created and taking a very dark and sinister turnAbsolutely an incredible season starting with the classic Doctor character Matt Smith has created and taking a very dark and sinister turn very quickly. This is an amazing start to the season and I have a feeling it's going to be a long summer waiting for more Doctor Who. Expand
  2. tce
    Jun 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Doctor Who is hitting new heights of quality and intelligence. A compelling narrative, run through with twists and turns, is propelling one of the most enigmatic Doctors and one of his most troubled entourages towards a seemingly inescapable tragedy - at the start of the first episode. Steven Moffat knows how to make you pay attention, that much is certain! Answers to the mystery of season 5 still lie tantalisingly out of reach, but the emergence of the ugly (and ever so dapper) manipulators, the Silence, assures that we'll know everything very soon. Matt Smith relaxes superbly into the role of the Doctor, taking a more composed and less scatterbrained approach than his debut in season 5, but Amy's "burden" seems to be sidelining her into plot device territory while the lovable Rory becomes (or at least pretends to be) more macho. River Song's story arc is at last hitting its nitty-gritty and we're about to learn just what her deal is, why she's incarcerated, and where her attachment to the Doctor originates. That's a fascinating plotline, even if it seems to be heading in dubious directions ("my love"?) and Alex Kingston has a sort of classic charm that eases the wait for River to finally reveal some depth. At the heart of it all, though, is the Doctor, and I'm already reserving the tissues for when he ultimately has to confront the tragedy surrounding Miss (or Mrs...?) Song's timey-wimey relationship with him. Keep it up, Team Moffat! Your dazzling ambition for Who is working wonders, even if there is still the odd naff script worming its way in from time to time. Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    A fantastic new series, with Matt Smith being better than ever, Karen Gillan and Arthur Darvill being exceptional as always, and Alex KingstonA fantastic new series, with Matt Smith being better than ever, Karen Gillan and Arthur Darvill being exceptional as always, and Alex Kingston fantastic as River Song. Brilliant new episodes, brilliant arc - just plain awesome, really. Expand
  4. Apr 25, 2014
    7
    It isn't as good as the previous series but with better visual effects and consistent great performances by all actors & actresses & aliensIt isn't as good as the previous series but with better visual effects and consistent great performances by all actors & actresses & aliens involved. The huge character arcs are twisty and provide a backbone to the series but overarches for too long. Otherwise, this series is more complex and dark than the previous ones. Expand
  5. Dec 20, 2011
    7
    A hit-and-miss season. After the pure concentrated awesomeness that was season 5, I had high expectations for the next season, and whileA hit-and-miss season. After the pure concentrated awesomeness that was season 5, I had high expectations for the next season, and while Doctor Who will never suck, this was a disappointing season. The season had a rough start and a rough finish. The story arc felt disjointed with the whole of the season only coming in in uneven intervals in the beginning, middle and end of the season (it was like Steven Moffat wasn't communicating with the rest of the writers). Ironically the best episodes this season were the ones that had absolutely nothing to do with the mediocre part of a story arc which continued on from the previous season and STILL hasn't been resolved. Ultimately this season has its great episodes, good episodes, average episodes and bad episodes. Not as good a season 5 but still worthwhile. Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2011
    6
    I'm a long time Doctor who fan so I'm not being swayed by any opinions this is just how I feel and I would never want to ruin the name of myI'm a long time Doctor who fan so I'm not being swayed by any opinions this is just how I feel and I would never want to ruin the name of my favourite programme but with this series I must admit I'm disappointed.
    we start in 1960's America with Richard Nixon as the president and we get an odd shock twist which I'm not going to spoil.
    THE STORY : the story in my opinion is very weak, once again we revolve around making theories in our heads about River Song and we have some boring villains .
    THE WRITING: the writing isn't very good in my opinion I honestly think that Steven Moffat needs to give it up, his first season was interesting but now he's trying to get to complex which in many ways isn't very good.
    THE DOCTOR: The Doctor is Matt Smith and if we categorise the doctors we could simply say he's for the kids while David Tennant was supposed to be a good looking gentleman for the women and Christopher Eccleston was a darker Doctor who revived the programme.
    overall i think steven moffat needs to go so we can get good enemies, good stories which aren't to complex since we know that the target audience is children. 6/10 where is Tom Baker when you need him
    Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2012
    1
    This is about the worst Sci Fi I've seen since Voyager and the show seems to hate character development, the doctor is a superstar so its justThis is about the worst Sci Fi I've seen since Voyager and the show seems to hate character development, the doctor is a superstar so its just a self suck fest when he is around, Amy Pond is terrible and being a **** seems to count as a character and her husband is a giant wuss that just watches his **** of a wife love another man every episode. What happened to this show? Expand

See all 27 User Reviews