Doctor Who : Season 7

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 219 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 219

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    You'll probably be undecided with Season 7 until "Angels Take Manhattan", arguably the series' best episode to date. Don't fret about Jenna Louise-Coleman as the new companion, though. She's brilliant.
  2. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Finally Rory is more than just a comedic device and starts to step up and be a man (well this season and also Season 6), Amy is still great as is Matt Smith as the doctor. This is a short season but the episodes were all good with a shocking end to the short season. After what took place at the end of this season I am interested to see what Season 8 will be like. I don't want to say moreFinally Rory is more than just a comedic device and starts to step up and be a man (well this season and also Season 6), Amy is still great as is Matt Smith as the doctor. This is a short season but the episodes were all good with a shocking end to the short season. After what took place at the end of this season I am interested to see what Season 8 will be like. I don't want to say more to avoid any spoilers. Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    Absolutely brilliant! This is the reason Doctor Who is more popular now then ever before. In the tradition of such shows as The Twilight Zone and The X-Files, DW has such boundlessly imaginative stories, concepts and characters. It can go anywhere and anytime within this universe and the occasional other. Every episode is like being a kid walking into an alien toy store.
  4. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    Doctor Who is Great. the whole concept of every episode being able to take place anywhere at any time is wonderful and opens up so many windows into the possibilities of eventualities which Steven Moffat and co-writers achieve so well
  5. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    No Spoilers: Series 7 Part 1 continues the adventures of the doctor and the on off companions Amy and Rory. Each episode seems fresh and uses a different genre to make it feel like a big blockbuster. Action, comedy, thriller and western are the genres used here to good effect. The first episode "Asylum of the Daleks" has the right amount of action and character moments, by this I mean theNo Spoilers: Series 7 Part 1 continues the adventures of the doctor and the on off companions Amy and Rory. Each episode seems fresh and uses a different genre to make it feel like a big blockbuster. Action, comedy, thriller and western are the genres used here to good effect. The first episode "Asylum of the Daleks" has the right amount of action and character moments, by this I mean the actors have got their character worked out which started to come through in series 6. Karen Gillan and Arthur Darvill have portrayed a number of stages of their relationship on the show and Series 7 feels like a natural progression, they enter their final stages on the show as they leave in episode 5. Their performance's are heart breaking as they should be and their epic exit from the show isn't a let down in the american set "The Angles Take Manhattan". Matt Smiths performance continues to be as fun and weird as in the last series as the Doctor. The first and last episodes of the first part of the series are the best but the middle three aren't without merit. The second, a sort of comedy wasn't my taste but as a one off it was fun also Mark Williams plays Rory's dad gives a brings the story to life. "A Town Called Mercy" continues the series, filmed in Spain is a good story but can't live up to the Toby Whitehouse's last script "The Girl Who Waited". The 4th episode suffers a bad ending which leaves you confused which is a shame since the rest is one of the series' strongest to date. The special and visual effect continue to measure up to movie standards and there are enough twists, turns, brilliant acting, explosions and Daleks to keep you watching. Also look out for the new companion Clara Oswin who is brilliantly played by Jenna Louise Coleman who completely changes the show. If Part 2 keeps this up this will be the best series of NeWho to date! Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Loved season 7 very much! It had so much change but pulled off everything very nicely and had some great stories and set for the 50th anniversary in a big/EPIC way! :D
  7. May 15, 2014
    8
    There were a few episodes which misfired but overall, brilliant acting from Matt Smith and all his companions, clever plotting from the writers, brilliant visual effects, great villains and many other small things contributed to make this one fine Doctor Who series.
  8. Feb 22, 2014
    8
    "So basically - OHHH - So basically the Doctor Who Christmas Anniversary special starts off... starts off with.. a... christmas celebration.. umm.. in Clara's household with her... with her... with her gran... mother father and she - oh no no sorry - before it the doctor's investigating this thing, all these ships orbiting around a planet... ugh... the episode includes such things as bald"So basically - OHHH - So basically the Doctor Who Christmas Anniversary special starts off... starts off with.. a... christmas celebration.. umm.. in Clara's household with her... with her... with her gran... mother father and she - oh no no sorry - before it the doctor's investigating this thing, all these ships orbiting around a planet... ugh... the episode includes such things as bald Matt Smith, ugh, it is full of action has Daleks, Cybermen and also includes The Silence; I CAN'T EVEN REMEMBER THE EPISODE WITH ALL THIS! **** I ****ing give up. The episode was ugh; the episode was 4/5. It was... It was really quite good, good special effects, loads of monsters and a good story. I'm sorry I couldn't review it more but just god gosh that was hot. Ok where are the more tissues?" Will Expand
  9. Oct 13, 2014
    7
    Steven Moffat had a lot to make up for after the hit and miss series 6, so did he make for it, let's find out:

    Asylum of the Daleks is an incomprehensible mess (3/10) Dinosaurs on a Spaceship is fun & exciting (9/10) A Town called Mercy is fun but flawed (5/10) The Power of Three is a nice establishing story for Amy & Rory's finale (7/10) The Angels take Manhattan throws away
    Steven Moffat had a lot to make up for after the hit and miss series 6, so did he make for it, let's find out:

    Asylum of the Daleks is an incomprehensible mess (3/10)
    Dinosaurs on a Spaceship is fun & exciting (9/10)
    A Town called Mercy is fun but flawed (5/10)
    The Power of Three is a nice establishing story for Amy & Rory's finale (7/10)
    The Angels take Manhattan throws away everything Power of Three established (6/10)
    The Snowmen doesn't even try to make sense (3/10)
    The Bells of Saint John is a bit redeeming for Moffat (8/10)
    The Rings of Akhaten is loads of fun story-wise (9/10)
    Cold War is very middle of the road (5/10)
    Hide can't decide what it's all about, but I still like it (7/10)
    Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS, I don't need to explain why this is bad (3/10)
    The Crimson Horror sort of divides my opinions (6/10)
    Nightmare in Silver is an odd beast with ridiculously overpowered cybermen (7/10)
    The Time of the Doctor is way too bizarre (7/10)

    So yeah another hit and miss series, the fact that I don't have a single 10/10 here suggests that this is more hit than miss, as for the specials:

    The Day of the Doctor is an awesome celebration (9/10)
    The Time of the Doctor is really what Matt Smith deserved as a finale (10/10)

    Anyway let's hope series 8 can deliver more hope to doctor who.
    Expand
  10. Mar 31, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Note: Includes review for specials too.
    After seeing Series 5 & 6 I waited and waited for the Doctor to come back. Month after month I just could not take it anymore. September 2012 I was rewarded with only Part 1 of Series 7. The first episode went out with a bang with a surprising cameo from Jenna Coleman but then the other episodes then started to drain the enjoyment of Asylum of The Daleks until there was Angels in Manhattan which then tampered with my empathy to all over the place. At the end of the episode I was left trembling with Amy's & Rory's heartbreaking farewell.
    December 2012 and I was still crying over Amy and Rory and so did the Doctor saying he had "retired" from saving the Universe. This Christmas special made me feel a little bit more hopeful after being left with the cliffhanger of "The Impossible Girl". Part 2 had the same story as Part 1 as in how good they were. Some episodes in between were a bit okay, but the Crimson Horror seemed a bit unnecessary and Nightmare in Silver would have been better without those annoying kids and that it was actually more of a two-parter. Name of The Doctor is amazing and so far one of my favourite episodes (up there with The Eleventh Hour) with another brilliant cliffhanger of The War Doctor which confused me into thinking he was going to be no.12 'til I done a bit of research to find he is not.
    November 2013 and I was pumped up to see the 50th Anniversary Special Day of the Doctor and that too is so brilliant that I'm not going to give any spoilers. The very next month I got my tissue packet ready to see Time of the Doctor and the episode didn't seem very interesting with all those skips in between with Clara but the regeneration was tearful and brave and had everything except for the music which they basically recycled from The Rings of Akhaten's Long Song but nothing can beat the cameo included which shall never be spoiled.
    I gave it a 7/10 for the long waiting in the beginning and for the bad episodes included AND for not having exclusive music for the Doctor's regen. Slightly disappointed but I do hope Series 8 is going help me feel better.
    Expand
  11. Apr 19, 2014
    9
    The season as a whole was very good. I certainly enjoyed part two of the season more than the first. Matt Smith is just as funny and clever as always, but the new companion has definitely helped the series. I enjoyed the storyline mainly. The mystery kept me watching each week. Although I didn't care much for the ending, season 7 is easily the best season of Doctor Who under Steven Moffat.
  12. Jan 12, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This season was kinda all over the place. Great send-off for Amy and Rory (though the whole not going back to New York didn't make a whole lot of sense--meet them in Utah or something!). I loved the first episode as well, the Western one, and the Christmas special (that hat!). In fact Eleven's Christmas Specials have all been great, when he sells that infectious enthusiasm. Sleek new TARDIS interior design. Clara is a much weaker companion though, and her episodes were mostly forgettable until the last few. The "Of The Doctor" trilogy was flawed but amazing. Much praise to Murray Gold for consistently brilliant music. Though I don't think they pulled off the old man make-up very well, the way they wrapped up Eleven's storylines and his farewell speech in Time Of The Doctor was nothing short of magic. Expand
  13. Mar 17, 2015
    9
    One of the best Series to date, with only Hide and The Name of the Doctor disappointing. The first half is amazing, introducing Brian and Kate, and the second half is OK, with Clara being it's only downfall. I enjoy every episode of the season, even the underrated Cold War and Nightmare in Silver.
  14. Jun 12, 2016
    10
    While not the best series, still 10/10. The best episode is the Power of Three: Chibnall did some amazing character work in one episode alone. The Angels take Manhattan, The Snowmen, Asylum of the Daleks, and the Name of the Doctor were all amazing.
  15. May 21, 2017
    7
    good quality episodes makes this a good season to start and great acting from matt smith check this
    season out only if you care about the quality and to be entertained.
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 1 Critic

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    May 15, 2013
    91
    The British import--which wraps its third season under writer Steven Moffat (Sherlock) on May 18--remains a riot of witty weirdness.