Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Doctor Who Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 158 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Doctor, Amy, and Rory meet up with Daleks in the first episode of the seventh season that will have the Ponds moving on before a new companion (Jenna-Louise Coleman) is introduced.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    May 15, 2013
    91
    The British import--which wraps its third season under writer Steven Moffat (Sherlock) on May 18--remains a riot of witty weirdness.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    You'll probably be undecided with Season 7 until "Angels Take Manhattan", arguably the series' best episode to date. Don't fret about JennaYou'll probably be undecided with Season 7 until "Angels Take Manhattan", arguably the series' best episode to date. Don't fret about Jenna Louise-Coleman as the new companion, though. She's brilliant. Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Finally Rory is more than just a comedic device and starts to step up and be a man (well this season and also Season 6), Amy is still great asFinally Rory is more than just a comedic device and starts to step up and be a man (well this season and also Season 6), Amy is still great as is Matt Smith as the doctor. This is a short season but the episodes were all good with a shocking end to the short season. After what took place at the end of this season I am interested to see what Season 8 will be like. I don't want to say more to avoid any spoilers. Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    Absolutely brilliant! This is the reason Doctor Who is more popular now then ever before. In the tradition of such shows as The Twilight ZoneAbsolutely brilliant! This is the reason Doctor Who is more popular now then ever before. In the tradition of such shows as The Twilight Zone and The X-Files, DW has such boundlessly imaginative stories, concepts and characters. It can go anywhere and anytime within this universe and the occasional other. Every episode is like being a kid walking into an alien toy store. Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Note: Includes review for specials too.
    After seeing Series 5 & 6 I waited and waited for the Doctor to come back. Month after month I just could not take it anymore. September 2012 I was rewarded with only Part 1 of Series 7. The first episode went out with a bang with a surprising cameo from Jenna Coleman but then the other episodes then started to drain the enjoyment of Asylum of The Daleks until there was Angels in Manhattan which then tampered with my empathy to all over the place. At the end of the episode I was left trembling with Amy's & Rory's heartbreaking farewell.
    December 2012 and I was still crying over Amy and Rory and so did the Doctor saying he had "retired" from saving the Universe. This Christmas special made me feel a little bit more hopeful after being left with the cliffhanger of "The Impossible Girl". Part 2 had the same story as Part 1 as in how good they were. Some episodes in between were a bit okay, but the Crimson Horror seemed a bit unnecessary and Nightmare in Silver would have been better without those annoying kids and that it was actually more of a two-parter. Name of The Doctor is amazing and so far one of my favourite episodes (up there with The Eleventh Hour) with another brilliant cliffhanger of The War Doctor which confused me into thinking he was going to be no.12 'til I done a bit of research to find he is not.
    November 2013 and I was pumped up to see the 50th Anniversary Special Day of the Doctor and that too is so brilliant that I'm not going to give any spoilers. The very next month I got my tissue packet ready to see Time of the Doctor and the episode didn't seem very interesting with all those skips in between with Clara but the regeneration was tearful and brave and had everything except for the music which they basically recycled from The Rings of Akhaten's Long Song but nothing can beat the cameo included which shall never be spoiled.
    I gave it a 7/10 for the long waiting in the beginning and for the bad episodes included AND for not having exclusive music for the Doctor's regen. Slightly disappointed but I do hope Series 8 is going help me feel better.
    Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is completely ridiculous, this season was frustrating, irritating and borderline stupid. I liked a few of the episodes such as dinosaurs on a spaceship, power of three, cold war, rings of akhaten, hide and the day of the doctor and that's about.. not even half of the series, most of the episodes were borderline **** Matt Smtih was great, amy and rory were great in their last moments, but I cannot deny, that Asylum of the daleks is probably the worst dalek story to come out of the new who history, terrible **** continuity errors all over the place and it completely **** over 49 years worth of build up, Town called mercy was pretty horrid, Angels take manhattan, **** over the angels and made them no longer scary and my God do I never want to see the weeping angels in another doctor who story.. PLEASE!!!! the snowmen was quite terrible with the "just because" flaw everywhere, the bells of saint john had nothing to do with the bells of saint john, there are all these things that really pissed me off about the season, ok, most of the episodes were ok, but there was nothing special to be seen at all in this season, sadly the episodes that are below average for me, are asylum of the daleks, snowmen, journey to the centre of the tardis and probably Angels take manhattan, but the ending to that was superb, I loved matt smiths final moments and I loved the 50th, as the 50th for me was the best episode of doctor who, since a good man goes to war. Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Rory and Amy were the staples holding together the poor script that was Steven Moffat's writing. Steven writing them out was like throwing away your food while trapped on a desert island. Steven Moffat seems to not be writing a script, but throwing everything from Doctor Who together in a blender. The Crimson Horror is very stupid. Why didn't the Doctor go back in time to save Eda from being experimented on? Nightmare in Silver COULD have been a good episode, if those kids weren't in it. The Name of the Doctor was a waste of an episode. In the end, you don't even learn the doctor's name. Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    2
    Season 7 this show is getting tired. The problem? The writing. Despite punchy performances from it's actors, the stories simply aren'tSeason 7 this show is getting tired. The problem? The writing. Despite punchy performances from it's actors, the stories simply aren't there. New companion Clara is ably played, but has zero chemistry with Matt Smith. Dull and predictable it's time this show took another rest. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews