• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: May 30, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 4
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    May 30, 2012
    80
    Watching this show feels like walking around Manhattan, and you don't have to be a dog person to think that's fun.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    May 30, 2012
    75
    Dogs is a perfectly pleasant show based on the perfectly reasonable proposition that dogs are people, too.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    May 30, 2012
    75
    Dogs in the City is perfect summer fluff for city dog owners.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    May 30, 2012
    70
    Fans of Animal Planet's "It's Me or the Dog" or National Geographic's "Dog Whisperer with Cesar Millan" will recognize this summer series about New Yorkers and the canines that own them for the copycat it is, but who cares?
  5. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jun 7, 2012
    80
    Alert to every deranged impulse of his clients, Mr. Silver brings his lessons home with vigor and wit.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Sep 17, 2012
    3
    Justin is trying a little too hard to be different from the Dog Whisperer. He's **** and arrogant without the goods to back it up. From the three episodes I've watched, I felt like it was mostly a day-in-the-life of big-city folks and their dogs. I think he deserves another season to get more confident and secure and improve on connecting better with his clients. Full Review »
  2. Oct 13, 2012
    2
    On a personal note; I find Justin to come across as an awful and arrogant guy who just tries too hard. The owners he 'helps' are (sometimes) just as clueless. And what's with the Americans? Don't you guys walk your dogs? I remember one owner who took her dog out for walks approx. 15 mins per week (!). You have got to be kidding me.
    But, apart from that; if he is a dog trainer, I'm the Queen of England. Terrible show.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 4, 2012
    0
    Here's my critique of the show: http://dubuquedogtrainer.hubpages.com/hub/Dogs-In-The-City-A-Critique-of-the-First-Episode

    I have sufficient
    reason to believe that Justin Silver is an imposter, not a real dog trainer. If he is a real dog trainer, his knowledge and skills are amateurish at best. Full Review »