• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: May 30, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 4
Dogs in the City Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dog trainer/behaviorist Justin Silver helps solve problems between New York owners and their canines.
  • Genre(s): Reality
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jun 7, 2012
    80
    Alert to every deranged impulse of his clients, Mr. Silver brings his lessons home with vigor and wit.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    May 30, 2012
    80
    Watching this show feels like walking around Manhattan, and you don't have to be a dog person to think that's fun.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    May 30, 2012
    75
    Dogs in the City is perfect summer fluff for city dog owners.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    May 30, 2012
    75
    Dogs is a perfectly pleasant show based on the perfectly reasonable proposition that dogs are people, too.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    May 30, 2012
    70
    Fans of Animal Planet's "It's Me or the Dog" or National Geographic's "Dog Whisperer with Cesar Millan" will recognize this summer series about New Yorkers and the canines that own them for the copycat it is, but who cares?
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    Watched both of the shows and loved the pace and wit of the show. Great choice in dogs, trainer and owners!! Was already a fan of Beefy whoWatched both of the shows and loved the pace and wit of the show. Great choice in dogs, trainer and owners!! Was already a fan of Beefy who also surfs by the way. Brilliant to use him for the first show. Expand
  2. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    Just love this show. Love his attitude, insight, and is obvious affection towards the dogs.
    I have read other books and watched other shows,
    Just love this show. Love his attitude, insight, and is obvious affection towards the dogs.
    I have read other books and watched other shows, and in the short time this show was on
    I learned much more then all the other venues combined. So looking forward to the next season.
    Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    i love Justin and his dogs. i wish Justin would get in contact with me to help us with our dog. he is so gentile and respectful of thei love Justin and his dogs. i wish Justin would get in contact with me to help us with our dog. he is so gentile and respectful of the animals, you can really see a love of animals in him. i work for a pet store nation wide chain and i recommend his show to everyone. Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2012
    8
    I like the main person in this show and all of the problems that are encountered by dog owners, particularly in a big city. These areI like the main person in this show and all of the problems that are encountered by dog owners, particularly in a big city. These are problems that many people have and the show will be tremendously useful to them and helpful to those of us who already have dogs even though they may not have problems (yet). I enjoy the show very much. Collapse
  5. Jun 8, 2012
    7
    Justin Silver's credentials may be a tad iffy but he seems quite good at training the owners, and after all it's they who cause 90% of theJustin Silver's credentials may be a tad iffy but he seems quite good at training the owners, and after all it's they who cause 90% of the dogs' behaviors. Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    3
    Justin is trying a little too hard to be different from the Dog Whisperer. He's **** and arrogant without the goods to back it up. From theJustin is trying a little too hard to be different from the Dog Whisperer. He's **** and arrogant without the goods to back it up. From the three episodes I've watched, I felt like it was mostly a day-in-the-life of big-city folks and their dogs. I think he deserves another season to get more confident and secure and improve on connecting better with his clients. Expand
  7. Jun 4, 2012
    0
    Here's my critique of the show: http://dubuquedogtrainer.hubpages.com/hub/Dogs-In-The-City-A-Critique-of-the-First-Episode

    I have sufficient
    Here's my critique of the show: http://dubuquedogtrainer.hubpages.com/hub/Dogs-In-The-City-A-Critique-of-the-First-Episode

    I have sufficient reason to believe that Justin Silver is an imposter, not a real dog trainer. If he is a real dog trainer, his knowledge and skills are amateurish at best.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews