• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 11, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Apr 9, 2012
    83
    Raunchy and at times genuinely funny, Apartment 23 is jam-packed with promise--and inconsistencies.
  2. Reviewed by: David Eckstein
    Apr 13, 2012
    80
    Don't Trust the B---- in Apt 23 offers a new take on an old formula and it succeeds. It's weird, well cast and, most importantly, funny.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Apr 12, 2012
    80
    The show mines the long-standing tension between those who believe in fate and those who believe in control while holding all strains of outrageous behavior up for both mockery and scrutiny.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 11, 2012
    80
    The show from creator Nahnatchka Khan is fresh and funny, with fast-paced jokes and witty cynicism in abundance.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Apr 11, 2012
    80
    Don't Trust the B---- in Apartment 23 is one of the funnier network shows of the season.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 11, 2012
    80
    Even if the bitch leaves you cold, something happening in and around Apartment 23 ought to make you laugh.
  7. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Apr 11, 2012
    80
    Unlike some of the more uneven odd-couple series that have premiered in recent years, Apartment 23 could turn into a trustworthy address for laughs.
  8. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Apr 10, 2012
    80
    It's quick, quippy, and quite funny.
  9. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 10, 2012
    80
    Don't Trust the B---- in Apt. 23 gets off to a strong comedic start with a quick-witted, fast-paced premiere episode.
  10. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 11, 2012
    75
    Don't Trust the B---- in Apartment 23 is a deliciously nasty comedy that takes a well-worn formula and whips it to life with clever writing and an engaging cast.
  11. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 11, 2012
    75
    Contrary to the title, you can trust the B---- for a good laugh.
  12. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Apr 10, 2012
    75
    As entertaining as it may be, Apt. 23 does seem like an odd tonal match for the sweeter, more realistic Modern Family. Still, it's nice to see ABC giving a great time slot to a very good show.
  13. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 10, 2012
    75
    Principally armed with Ritter and Van Der Beek, [series' creator/executive producer/writer, Nahnatchka Khan] makes Don't Trust the B a find if not a treasure just yet.
  14. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 10, 2012
    75
    The series which starts out badly (idiotic masturbation jokes), builds quickly. And the co-stars are flat out terrific together.
  15. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Apr 10, 2012
    75
    The series isn't jaw-droppingly hilarious, but the writing is self-assured and full of punchy, Tweetable one-liners; its thin skein of a concept is enough to lend the proceedings some narrative structure, but not enough to make it feel programmatic, and its central performances are confident right out of the gate.
  16. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 9, 2012
    75
    The result is not only that the show is funny, but that we also actually like both June and Chloe.
  17. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 6, 2012
    75
    The jokes hop all over the place but the show, like Chloe, is refreshingly wild. [16 Apr 2012, p.49]
  18. 70
    The pilot is funny but exhausting, but I doubt the show's ability to sustain this tone and these characters over the long term.
  19. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Apr 10, 2012
    70
    I'm happy to report that not being a fan of James Van Der Beek from the "Creek" didn't prevent me from enjoying the actor in the moderately amusing ABC sitcom.
  20. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 6, 2012
    70
    All told, though, there's a lot to like here, and even an evolution to the Chloe-June relationship that--the former's eccentricity notwithstanding--borders on a budding friendship.
  21. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 10, 2012
    67
    Some of it works, while other pieces either need to be dropped or improved going forward. Fortunately, there's a solid foundation in Walker and Ritter as the uneasy roommates.
  22. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Apr 6, 2012
    67
    It has some of the off-kilter charm of Better Off Ted. [13 Apr 2012, p.78]
  23. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 11, 2012
    63
    The former "Dawson's Creek" hunk provides much of the charm and limited punch lines until Apartment 23 starts to find its way in later episodes.
  24. It all makes for a scattered, hit-or-miss proposition. Some gags land. Others fall flat.
  25. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Apr 27, 2012
    60
    It's an unpretentiously low-down sitcom about a female odd couple--morally speaking, that is--with characters sufficiently odd, plots that unfold with sufficient zest, to lure a viewer in.
  26. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 11, 2012
    60
    The jokes just works best in moderation.
  27. Reviewed by: Jon Caramanica
    Apr 10, 2012
    60
    While there are moments of snappy dialogue, it's sometimes snappier than the characters themselves.
  28. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Apr 12, 2012
    50
    Apt. 23 isn't particularly funny, but at least it doesn't have a laugh track to beat you over the head with this fact.
  29. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Apr 10, 2012
    30
    This trope--an actor playing a surlier, fictional version of himself--has been done to death already, and Don't Trust the B---- leans too heavily on the actor's state of celebrity limbo, filling in late-'90s jokes and references where the real laughs ought to be.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 8, 2012
    8
    Season is over and I kind of miss this weirdly hilarious show. What makes it better than the other two girls-in New York show (yes, 2 brokeSeason is over and I kind of miss this weirdly hilarious show. What makes it better than the other two girls-in New York show (yes, 2 broke girls) is that there is no need to make a comment about your genitals every 5 seconds. Apartment 23, is a good, quirky and sexy comedy we all should expect to start this fall for its second season. Did I mention Van Der Beeck plays himself in the show? You got to watch it. Full Review »
  2. May 9, 2012
    9
    Okay, after four episodes of pure hilarity, I can safely say that I really really like this show. I know theOkay, after four episodes of pure hilarity, I can safely say that I really really like this show. I know the actor-playing-a-stylized-version-of-himself trope has been done and overdone countless times, but James Van Der Beek is just so charming and funny that he makes it feel fresh. The writing is sharp and fresh and has a uniquely definite voice of it's own. It's smart, funny, charming, and clever and is definitely worth a watch. Full Review »
  3. Apr 22, 2012
    4
    Oh joy, yet another show based in New York, let's hope this one ups the ante and doesn't drive our opinions of the city into the ground. ItOh joy, yet another show based in New York, let's hope this one ups the ante and doesn't drive our opinions of the city into the ground. It seems to be mandatory to include a sex scene in your pilot episode and this show wastes no time as it opens with a slightly humorous romp between two characters whom have yet to be named unless of course you've choked on any promo footage prior to viewing. The roommate walks in to find her fiance being screwed (on her birthday cake) that is as we smile before the show's title screen rolls.

    A few more social jokes are thrown in our direction as we realize this show isn't half as bad as the title may suggest which is verified by a rather hilarious scenario that features the main character's dream job prospect going up in near literal flames, we again laugh due to our superiority in combination with suitable casting choices and witty line as we are absorbed into the show with a smooth progression as the main character initiates a hunt for a suitable roommate when upon decision your expected token asian warns her of incoming threat.

    Unfortunately, the quirkiness runs dry as we're presented with censored nudity, perverts from across the way and James Van Der Beek if for some reason you happened to neglect which forgotten celebrity they used to boost this shows starting appeal though our hopes are raised ten minutes into the filler when we're exposed to witnessing a seemingly innocent youth get wasted at the expense of a minor laugh as we're sent to the beginning of the episode and a small reconcile and a premature end to a lacking episode.

    You're still not sure what you just watched but it was enough to confuse you into the second episode we're sure.
    Full Review »