• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 11, 2012
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Apr 27, 2012
    60
    It's an unpretentiously low-down sitcom about a female odd couple--morally speaking, that is--with characters sufficiently odd, plots that unfold with sufficient zest, to lure a viewer in.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 11, 2012
    60
    The jokes just works best in moderation.
  3. Reviewed by: Jon Caramanica
    Apr 10, 2012
    60
    While there are moments of snappy dialogue, it's sometimes snappier than the characters themselves.
  4. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Apr 12, 2012
    50
    Apt. 23 isn't particularly funny, but at least it doesn't have a laugh track to beat you over the head with this fact.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 8, 2012
    8
    Season is over and I kind of miss this weirdly hilarious show. What makes it better than the other two girls-in New York show (yes, 2 brokeSeason is over and I kind of miss this weirdly hilarious show. What makes it better than the other two girls-in New York show (yes, 2 broke girls) is that there is no need to make a comment about your genitals every 5 seconds. Apartment 23, is a good, quirky and sexy comedy we all should expect to start this fall for its second season. Did I mention Van Der Beeck plays himself in the show? You got to watch it. Full Review »
  2. May 9, 2012
    9
    Okay, after four episodes of pure hilarity, I can safely say that I really really like this show. I know theOkay, after four episodes of pure hilarity, I can safely say that I really really like this show. I know the actor-playing-a-stylized-version-of-himself trope has been done and overdone countless times, but James Van Der Beek is just so charming and funny that he makes it feel fresh. The writing is sharp and fresh and has a uniquely definite voice of it's own. It's smart, funny, charming, and clever and is definitely worth a watch. Full Review »
  3. Apr 22, 2012
    4
    Oh joy, yet another show based in New York, let's hope this one ups the ante and doesn't drive our opinions of the city into the ground. ItOh joy, yet another show based in New York, let's hope this one ups the ante and doesn't drive our opinions of the city into the ground. It seems to be mandatory to include a sex scene in your pilot episode and this show wastes no time as it opens with a slightly humorous romp between two characters whom have yet to be named unless of course you've choked on any promo footage prior to viewing. The roommate walks in to find her fiance being screwed (on her birthday cake) that is as we smile before the show's title screen rolls.

    A few more social jokes are thrown in our direction as we realize this show isn't half as bad as the title may suggest which is verified by a rather hilarious scenario that features the main character's dream job prospect going up in near literal flames, we again laugh due to our superiority in combination with suitable casting choices and witty line as we are absorbed into the show with a smooth progression as the main character initiates a hunt for a suitable roommate when upon decision your expected token asian warns her of incoming threat.

    Unfortunately, the quirkiness runs dry as we're presented with censored nudity, perverts from across the way and James Van Der Beek if for some reason you happened to neglect which forgotten celebrity they used to boost this shows starting appeal though our hopes are raised ten minutes into the filler when we're exposed to witnessing a seemingly innocent youth get wasted at the expense of a minor laugh as we're sent to the beginning of the episode and a small reconcile and a premature end to a lacking episode.

    You're still not sure what you just watched but it was enough to confuse you into the second episode we're sure.
    Full Review »