• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 11, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 84
  2. Negative: 9 out of 84

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 26, 2013
    7
    This show is very odd but kind of hilarious. Krysten Ritter is genius and James Van Der Beek playing a parody of himself is just great. Obviously not everyone will enjoy the show but I'd highly suggest checking it out.
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    Works itself out of becoming a potentially bland sitcom with its quirky sense of humor and offbeat, enjoyable characters. It has a few problems: inconsistent jokes and some underwhelming secondary characters. Nonetheless, it has so much going for it that its flaws are mostly minor. I mean, it has Van Der Beek playing himself. 7.7/10 Endearing and very entertaining!
  3. aev
    Jan 30, 2013
    10
    This show is hilarious! At first I wasn't too sure about it. The first episode is not that great, but as the season progressed it just became really good. I would definitely recommend it, but do not just judge it based on the pilot.
  4. Sep 8, 2012
    8
    Season is over and I kind of miss this weirdly hilarious show. What makes it better than the other two girls-in New York show (yes, 2 broke girls) is that there is no need to make a comment about your genitals every 5 seconds. Apartment 23, is a good, quirky and sexy comedy we all should expect to start this fall for its second season. Did I mention Van Der Beeck plays himself in the show? You got to watch it. Expand
  5. May 15, 2012
    10
    loving it! Loving it. Auntie Mame meets Maleficent the evil Queen. "My Favorite Year with Holly Go-Lightly" A few years ago there was play about a con woman called "as Bees in Honey Drown" that was a hit off Broadway. This has that same, twisted, twisty vibe. You can't wait for the next awful surprise that the **** will spring on poor poor June. Krysten Ritter is A Superstar, this role is a tour de force and her beautiful face just captures me. Expand
  6. May 9, 2012
    9
    Okay, after four episodes of pure hilarity, I can safely say that I really really like this show. I know the actor-playing-a-stylized-version-of-himself trope has been done and overdone countless times, but James Van Der Beek is just so charming and funny that he makes it feel fresh. The writing is sharp and fresh and has a uniquely definite voice of it's own. It's smart, funny, charming, and clever and is definitely worth a watch. Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2012
    4
    Oh joy, yet another show based in New York, let's hope this one ups the ante and doesn't drive our opinions of the city into the ground. It seems to be mandatory to include a sex scene in your pilot episode and this show wastes no time as it opens with a slightly humorous romp between two characters whom have yet to be named unless of course you've choked on any promo footage prior to viewing. The roommate walks in to find her fiance being screwed (on her birthday cake) that is as we smile before the show's title screen rolls.

    A few more social jokes are thrown in our direction as we realize this show isn't half as bad as the title may suggest which is verified by a rather hilarious scenario that features the main character's dream job prospect going up in near literal flames, we again laugh due to our superiority in combination with suitable casting choices and witty line as we are absorbed into the show with a smooth progression as the main character initiates a hunt for a suitable roommate when upon decision your expected token asian warns her of incoming threat.

    Unfortunately, the quirkiness runs dry as we're presented with censored nudity, perverts from across the way and James Van Der Beek if for some reason you happened to neglect which forgotten celebrity they used to boost this shows starting appeal though our hopes are raised ten minutes into the filler when we're exposed to witnessing a seemingly innocent youth get wasted at the expense of a minor laugh as we're sent to the beginning of the episode and a small reconcile and a premature end to a lacking episode.

    You're still not sure what you just watched but it was enough to confuse you into the second episode we're sure.
    Expand
  8. Apr 13, 2012
    7
    I read the review in the Post prior to watching this and almost passed it by. I thought it was clever if not gut wrenchingly funny and unlike Mr. Stuever I think the show has great potential.
  9. Apr 12, 2012
    7
    Also judging only the first episode, this series has potential - and that's all that matters at this point. This type of comedy needs 6 or 7 episodes to truly gain its stride (see: New Girl, Happy Endings, Beggars & Choosers, Sherman Oaks). We need some time to get to know the B***'s character - just how bad is she? Will she have the right redeeming qualities to bring us in? Reigning in Van Der Beek and making him a relative softie is probably a wise choice. Krysten Ritter has enormous potential - I loved her in Breaking Bad. Hopefully the writing team is able to develop her character appropriately. I'm not so sure about the masturbating neighbor - he doesn't seem to bring much to the table - hopefully he won't survive the initial burst ... of episodes. Expand
  10. Apr 12, 2012
    8
    Just watched the pilot. I liked it. While it has some elements in common with 2 Broke Girls (i.e. do all girls in New York bond over one girl revealing to the other girl that her boyfriend is cheating on her, and said 2nd girl appreciating her honesty despite how different they are? Just wondering.) That aside, this pilot took a pretty original path in getting there. So while the end was familiar, the journey was fresh. More importantly, it made me laugh and there seems to be good chemistry between the leads. Hopefully subsequent episodes hold up, but it seems like the building blocks are all there. I am curious to see how well Van Der Beek's character holds up. He had some great lines in the pilot. Hopefully he's not a one-note character like all the supporting characters on 2 Broke Girls. Expand
  11. Apr 12, 2012
    8
    Judging solely on the premiere episode, the shows looks to cash in on the success of female led shows of late (2 broke girls, New Girl, Etc.) but does so in a way all it's own. The girl's in the show play roles that don't break any ground, but they they feel very comfortable in their characters, like coming into a show's second season premiere. Van Der Beek playing himself in the show ( obviously a charaterized version of himself ) is a nice twist in the show, and he has some of the best lines. Charming enough to keep a gal interested, raunchy and cast with some lovely ladies to keep this guy interested. Ladies, you get Dawson, pipe down. Collapse
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Apr 27, 2012
    60
    It's an unpretentiously low-down sitcom about a female odd couple--morally speaking, that is--with characters sufficiently odd, plots that unfold with sufficient zest, to lure a viewer in.
  2. Reviewed by: David Eckstein
    Apr 13, 2012
    80
    Don't Trust the B---- in Apt 23 offers a new take on an old formula and it succeeds. It's weird, well cast and, most importantly, funny.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Apr 12, 2012
    50
    Apt. 23 isn't particularly funny, but at least it doesn't have a laugh track to beat you over the head with this fact.