Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 2, 2014
    58
    All this twee is verging on twaddle.
  2. Reviewed by: Kevin Fallon
    Jan 10, 2014
    50
    Its characters are depressingly the same.... Pretty much everyone else is recycling their old plot points, too.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Jan 3, 2014
    50
    Showrunner Julian Fellowes knew he had to spice things up, apparently, so he employed a lazy, “shocking” plot device that will leave fans sickened, indignant and wondering why Fellowes just didn’t give his beloved characters something worthwhile to do instead. That offensive event aside, this season’s repetitive tropes, recycled conflicts and predictable heartbreak are not worth the trouble this time around.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 3, 2014
    50
    The show is becoming somewhat repetitive and a bit dull to the point that it feels like Downton, already renewed for a fifth season, needs to wrap it up sooner rather than later lest it overstay its welcome.
  5. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jan 3, 2014
    50
    The show makes Granthams of all of us: content with what we have now (a middling costume soap opera) because we can still remember its glorious past (that first season). It’s safer and cozier than a show about open class warfare.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    As long as we have the Dowager Countess, there is no way that Downton Abbey can EVER disappoint.

    Season 4 was a little dry, but FAR from a
    As long as we have the Dowager Countess, there is no way that Downton Abbey can EVER disappoint.

    Season 4 was a little dry, but FAR from a disappointment!
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 16, 2014
    6
    While still being a visual masterpiece for a tv-series, the fourth season lacked plot. I guess they thought they'd spiced things up withWhile still being a visual masterpiece for a tv-series, the fourth season lacked plot. I guess they thought they'd spiced things up with Mary's new suitors, but they actually didn't. I think this show needs to try harder to make the viewers perceive the passing of time and add a little bit of action.

    But Fellowes, being an aristocrat himself, is probably used to much slower, quieter, more upper-class paces than what we might be accustomed to. Let's see if season V grabs the bull by the horns and really transforms the Grantham family into something appealing.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 13, 2014
    5
    Starting to loose its creative lure. Tragedy after tragedy does not make for good entertainment. It makes for a news show. There was more ofStarting to loose its creative lure. Tragedy after tragedy does not make for good entertainment. It makes for a news show. There was more of an interesting story line in past. Hope it gets back to that soon. Last night's show was far too disturbing. I'll watch documentraries if I need a heavy dose of that kind of reality.
    Disappointed
    Full Review »