User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 16, 2014
    6
    While still being a visual masterpiece for a tv-series, the fourth season lacked plot. I guess they thought they'd spiced things up with Mary's new suitors, but they actually didn't. I think this show needs to try harder to make the viewers perceive the passing of time and add a little bit of action.

    But Fellowes, being an aristocrat himself, is probably used to much slower, quieter,
    more upper-class paces than what we might be accustomed to. Let's see if season V grabs the bull by the horns and really transforms the Grantham family into something appealing. Collapse
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    As long as we have the Dowager Countess, there is no way that Downton Abbey can EVER disappoint.

    Season 4 was a little dry, but FAR from a disappointment!
  3. Jan 12, 2014
    6
    Not a great Season. Julian Fellows is basically rehashing old stories. No O'Brian but Thomas took over that job. I was happy when BBC announced Siobhan Finneran is leaving the show because she was just too cruel and wondered how they are going to deal with that. However, it was not good at all. Some scenes and plots are completely unnecessary. I also feel that the Season could have done better in approaching the deaths of Lady Sybil and Matthew Crawley. I feel they just moved on too quickly. Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2014
    7
    It is becoming more apparent that creator Julian Fellowes direction/writing is becoming a tad predictable. Storylines/sub-plots developed in tonight's premiere episode seem re-hashed and recycled; it left me at times wondering,"haven't I already seen this brewing conflict before"? Maybe this is why Fellowes has recently hinted that series five may be the last of his hit-show. In any case, despite the agonizing repetition of old points present in this premiere, watching the Dowager Countess giving her witty one-liners and seeing both Carson and Mrs. Hughes in action always gives me life and is truly worth any measure of lackluster direction. I had my quarrels but I enjoyed the premiere immensely; change is never really Downton's thing anyway...... Expand
  5. Jan 13, 2014
    5
    I was so excited for Season 4 and after the first episode I was left a bit deflated. Now, after viewing episode 2 I am seriously considering not watching anymore - and to think I just loved this series. Being aware that our dear Anna was being accosted and the new ladie's maid had her way with Branson with no one being "man" enough to say No or help just disgusts me. I am not a prude but really, this show is beginning to feel like a soap opera -daytime. I truly love the costumes, characters and will give this show one more go around next wee - I truly hope episode redeems itself or you will loose this viewer. Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2014
    5
    Starting to loose its creative lure. Tragedy after tragedy does not make for good entertainment. It makes for a news show. There was more of an interesting story line in past. Hope it gets back to that soon. Last night's show was far too disturbing. I'll watch documentraries if I need a heavy dose of that kind of reality.
    Disappointed
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Garrett
    Jan 15, 2014
    70
    Despite the occasional creakiness and lapses into melodrama Downton Abbey remains a show to watch, notable for its dreamy production values and the real depth of feeling it portrays between the classes.
  2. Reviewed by: Kevin Fallon
    Jan 10, 2014
    50
    Its characters are depressingly the same.... Pretty much everyone else is recycling their old plot points, too.
  3. 100
    The “Masterpiece” drama returns Sunday, recapturing some of the excitement that made America fall so hard for it three years ago.