Downton Abbey : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Downton Abbey Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 320 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Masterpiece imports ITV's miniseries about the lives of those living at Lord Robert Grantham's estate, Downton Abbey, in 1912. Intrigue and romance are a constant after it is discovered that the Titanic has taken all the possible male heirs.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jan 7, 2011
    100
    There are worse sins than looking like a Jane Austen movie. In fact, with PBS' latest British hit import, the unfailingly entertaining Downton Abbey, it might even be a blessing.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 7, 2011
    100
    Fellowes does know how to write some tasty dialogue, especially for Maggie Smith....The other performances are equally winning, but beyond that, you can't help feeling these actors are having a jolly good time with all this overblown fluff. And so will you.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 9, 2011
    100
    Downton Abbey, which premieres Sunday, is this generation's "Upstairs, Downstairs," both in theme--the daily dramas of a titled British family and their many servants--and in stature.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 6, 2011
    90
    As a new year begins, viewers will be hard-pressed to find a more sumptuous, engaging drama than the "Masterpiece Classic" miniseries Downton Abbey.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Swanson
    Jan 10, 2011
    88
    For every Mrs. Patmore, the cook who wants nothing more than to stay in service the remainder of her life, there is a housemaid such as Gwen (Rose Leslie), who dreams of becoming a secretary in a modern office. It's these dichotomies, and the way they exist within both the Abbey itself (half the rooms have electricity and half don't) and its multifaceted inhabitants that make Downton Abbey not only the best soap opera currently on television, but one of the most relevant as well.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark Dawidziak
    Jan 10, 2014
    80
    If some plot elements in the third season seemed forced (and they did), then Fellowes seems to have completely regained his balance in the fourth season. And that balance means expertly bouncing between the upstairs and downstairs worlds of Downton, letting the plot turns flow naturally, carrying us along joyously for the posh ride.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 14, 2011
    60
    Now, I wouldn't say I loved it. Parts of it I didn't even like. I became quite engaged with what was going on downstairs with the servants, while I found virtually everything having to do with the Granthams (at least the parts unrelated to how they dealt with the staff) a chore to get through.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 3 out of 50
  1. Jan 25, 2011
    10
    This is excellent TV. I am fascinated by the story-telling from multiple perspectives, and by the artful portrayal of this time of rapidThis is excellent TV. I am fascinated by the story-telling from multiple perspectives, and by the artful portrayal of this time of rapid social change. I hope it becomes available to watch on Canadian TV. Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    An absolute joy to watch from start to finish. Full of class and sophistication, subtle, humorous, dramatic, enticing, sumptuous and eminentlyAn absolute joy to watch from start to finish. Full of class and sophistication, subtle, humorous, dramatic, enticing, sumptuous and eminently watchable. It's quite simply the best TV series to coming along in a very long time. Production values are excellent resulting in a period story that is believable and immersive. Don't miss it; it's a wonderful experience. Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    A near perfect drama that studies the ins-and-outs of British economic classes, wartime and romance, Downton Abbey is a brilliant way to spendA near perfect drama that studies the ins-and-outs of British economic classes, wartime and romance, Downton Abbey is a brilliant way to spend a Sunday afternoon. A classic in the making. Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    I loved this show and the characters. I'm so glad that they are showing interesting shows to watch on Masterpiece Theater this past year orI loved this show and the characters. I'm so glad that they are showing interesting shows to watch on Masterpiece Theater this past year or two. I can't wait to see what happens to the characters in the next season, which I understand is being filmed. The dialogue was perfect and the whole season was well written. Expand
  5. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    I do love period pieces. That said this is such a wonderful series. Well written, amazing cast that totally delivers. Thank God there isI do love period pieces. That said this is such a wonderful series. Well written, amazing cast that totally delivers. Thank God there is something for adults to enjoy on TV. Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2014
    9
    By chance, I watched an episode from the 4th series on TV and since then I was hooked. I had to get the full package and watched it all fromBy chance, I watched an episode from the 4th series on TV and since then I was hooked. I had to get the full package and watched it all from the start. I find this an outstanding series, from the opening credits with the great music down to the most insignificant detail. In fact I thought it was going to be pretentious and silly, but I found it most engaging.

    The story starts with the tragedy of the Titanic in the background and how the death of the heir to Dowton will affect the lives of many people. Even if it is hard to sympathize with the problems of the upper class, the characters are quite vivid and decent. The “staff” is also portrayed in a captivating way.

    Costumes are magnificent and really makes one feel nostalgic for a time when women were so much better dressed than nowadays.
    Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2011
    0
    Okay, I just finished tonight's episode and that's it for me. I can't take anymore. If I ever hear it's actually ending, I may check in toOkay, I just finished tonight's episode and that's it for me. I can't take anymore. If I ever hear it's actually ending, I may check in to see how. I wonder if the producers/writers, whatever, thought they were making another "Upstairs/Downstairs"? If so, they weren't. That was a fantastic series. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.
  2. 2011 Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    2011 Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2011
    Get a complete list of film and television nominees for the 69th Annual Golden Globe Awards.
  3. 2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 13, 2011
    Throughout the coming weeks, we
  4. 2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 19, 2011
    The 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards are in the books. Get a list and analysis of last night's winners, and find out how critics are reacting to the broadcast hosted by Jane Lynch.