Dracula : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 25, 2013
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 7 out of 33

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Oct 25, 2013
    40
    Unfortunately, this Dracula isn’t fun at all. It’s not really scary, either, although it does spill a lot of blood.
  2. Reviewed by: Marisa LaScala
    Oct 25, 2013
    50
    Rhys Meyers is mostly effective during such inserting, exuding exotic appeal and sensitive yearning—at least when he’s gazing on his object of desire from afar. When he speaks, his appeal is dulled by his flattened, put-on American accent, which makes him sound like Chris Pine.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Oct 25, 2013
    40
    Dracula flirts with camp, without quite committing. Unlike Fox’s Sleepy Hollow, in which Ichabod Crane finds himself alive in the present day, Dracula does not seem to be in on the joke of itself.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 25, 2013
    40
    NBC sent critics five episodes of the 10-episode season. Bored, I bowed out after three [episodes].
  5. Reviewed by: Austin Trunick
    Oct 25, 2013
    55
    Meyers' Dracula is in line with the seductive, brooding bloodsuckers we've become used to lately, sipping fine whiskey as often as he does blood. The pilot moves very slowly, but the production values are outstanding.
  6. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Oct 24, 2013
    50
    Watching NBC’s Dracula isn’t always easy, and not only because its Dublin-born star, Jonathan Rhys Meyers, is often compelled to speak with a cartoonish American accent.... The biggest distraction of all may be the series’ sociopolitical construct, seemingly ripped from the headlines about Occupy Wall Street, as told to climate-change zealots and written up by Dalton Trumbo.... To its credit, this one isn’t camp and doesn’t clown around.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 24, 2013
    50
    There’s nothing overtly bad about the first two episodes of Dracula but neither was there anything compelling.
  8. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Oct 24, 2013
    50
    Turning Dracula into a fanged insurgent battling ruthless oligarchs is a nifty idea, and the electricity plot allows for diverting steampunk-meets-“Bride of Frankenstein” visuals. But nothing about the show is as much fun as it should be. The storytelling is slow and anemic, spelling everything out at length.
  9. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Oct 24, 2013
    58
    An overabundance of ingredients hurts both Dracula and its Dracula, the latter of which is constructed from the discarded bits of characters within and without the public domain.
  10. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 24, 2013
    58
    This supernatural thriller is much more attuned to the times than PBS’ costume period piece “Downton Abbey,” which filters such hot topics as women’s rights and homosexuality through a modern lens.... Mina’s aspirations to become a surgeon are publicly disparaged by the person closest to her next week in a moment that hits harder than the onscreen horror. Dracula’s visit to an under­ground gay club next week is well, bizarre, but it captures how homosexuals dwelled in the shadows, terrified of exposure. Those moments are far more biting than any of the so-called scares.
  11. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Oct 23, 2013
    60
    Directed by Steve Shill, Dracula intrigues but it may not have staying power. It doesn’t look as elegant as it should; it isn’t necessarily cast with an eye toward immortality.
  12. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 23, 2013
    40
    While several subplots swirl around, Drac’s mission will be driving this story, which means we need a commanding presence at the center. Rhys Meyers plays it more subtly. That’s a valid acting choice. It just doesn’t make the story as bloody good as it might be.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 58
  2. Negative: 7 out of 58
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    It has Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Need I say more? Well okay since I need 150 characters for this review to go through... This series followsIt has Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Need I say more? Well okay since I need 150 characters for this review to go through... This series follows Bram's Stokers version but with a modern adjustment. Dracula appears to be an antihero in this adaption making friends with someone I didn't expect... must watch to find out! Love the costumes, the Victoria setting, and all the many talented actors such as Ben Miles from Lark Rise to Candleford, Nonso Anozie from Game of Thrones, Anthony Howell from Wives and Daughters, Katie McGrath from Merlin, and many more. Now that Dexter and Breaking Bad are over and Homeland has sucked majorly this season... I will make this my must watch series. :D Full Review »
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    While I usually don't like to review "seasons" until they are finished, I would like to rate Dracula for being cutting edge when it comes toWhile I usually don't like to review "seasons" until they are finished, I would like to rate Dracula for being cutting edge when it comes to taking an original, classic novel, and turning it into something new. Much like Moulin Rogue, this show has a very modern/vintage vibe, although it is set during the Victorian era, that keeps drawing me back each Friday. The actors and actresses are amazing, and are multi-dimensional. Essentially, they are writing and casting correctly. As someone who has read the book, i love the twist they have given this show especially with Lucy/Mina. Kudos to Katie McGrath and her performance and chemistry with Mina, Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    I don't understand why this show got only 55.
    So far, from all the shows I follow, and it's a lot) It's the one of the only show that I
    I don't understand why this show got only 55.
    So far, from all the shows I follow, and it's a lot) It's the one of the only show that I liked.
    The story is interesting. The characters are skilled enough to give us a good show.
    And for once, a vampire isn't a god like.
    I agree the show isn't scary at all and it's why I only put 9.
    But the rest seems interesting and i hope the show will continue.
    Full Review »