Dracula : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 25, 2013
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 7 out of 33

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Oct 25, 2013
    20
    Not funny enough to be campy, not smart enough to be serious, NBC's Dracula is an incomprehensible mishmash in period costumes.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Oct 25, 2013
    33
    Strip away the name and this is the story of a man trying to tear apart an oil monopoly, which makes Dracula every bit as scary and sexy as the Sherman Antitrust Act.
  3. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Oct 24, 2013
    30
    Dracula features solid performances from the principals, lovely lighting, and evocative cinematography. Shame it's so thoroughly, utterly, irredeemably potty.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Oct 14, 2013
    25
    Underneath the shallow brooding, everything feels like build-up to a massive climactic event, every maneuver directed, written, and acted as if it were yet another crucial move toward some terribly violent, bad end. The tactic is meant to drum up suspense, which it doesn't do particularly well, and the series loses any sense of humanity, shirking the very pulse of life the titular vampire hungers for.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 25, 2013
    20
    Dracula lacks wit, style, surprise--and, most important, bite.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 24, 2013
    37
    Dracula is exhaustingly, confusingly silly, and deadly dull, to boot, which is one thing Dracula has seldom been.
  7. Reviewed by: Billy Nilles
    Oct 28, 2013
    30
    Dracula is meant to be powerful and alluring, but this version of him feels stilted and withdrawn.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 58
  2. Negative: 7 out of 58
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    It has Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Need I say more? Well okay since I need 150 characters for this review to go through... This series followsIt has Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Need I say more? Well okay since I need 150 characters for this review to go through... This series follows Bram's Stokers version but with a modern adjustment. Dracula appears to be an antihero in this adaption making friends with someone I didn't expect... must watch to find out! Love the costumes, the Victoria setting, and all the many talented actors such as Ben Miles from Lark Rise to Candleford, Nonso Anozie from Game of Thrones, Anthony Howell from Wives and Daughters, Katie McGrath from Merlin, and many more. Now that Dexter and Breaking Bad are over and Homeland has sucked majorly this season... I will make this my must watch series. :D Full Review »
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    While I usually don't like to review "seasons" until they are finished, I would like to rate Dracula for being cutting edge when it comes toWhile I usually don't like to review "seasons" until they are finished, I would like to rate Dracula for being cutting edge when it comes to taking an original, classic novel, and turning it into something new. Much like Moulin Rogue, this show has a very modern/vintage vibe, although it is set during the Victorian era, that keeps drawing me back each Friday. The actors and actresses are amazing, and are multi-dimensional. Essentially, they are writing and casting correctly. As someone who has read the book, i love the twist they have given this show especially with Lucy/Mina. Kudos to Katie McGrath and her performance and chemistry with Mina, Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    I don't understand why this show got only 55.
    So far, from all the shows I follow, and it's a lot) It's the one of the only show that I
    I don't understand why this show got only 55.
    So far, from all the shows I follow, and it's a lot) It's the one of the only show that I liked.
    The story is interesting. The characters are skilled enough to give us a good show.
    And for once, a vampire isn't a god like.
    I agree the show isn't scary at all and it's why I only put 9.
    But the rest seems interesting and i hope the show will continue.
    Full Review »