Dracula : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 25, 2013
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 7 out of 33

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 21, 2013
    75
    The show has a lot going on and it isn’t always easy to follow, but for the most part it’s stylish, sexy and smart.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Oct 18, 2013
    83
    The gorgeous art direction make this great fun, and Rhys Meyers plays his part with such blood-slurping, mouth-wiping gusto that even a dentist could love him. [25 Oct/1 Nov 2013, p.94]
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Oct 21, 2013
    70
    Lead writer Daniel Knauf, who created HBO’s “Carnivale,” has tweaked Bram Stoker’s classic tale in delightful, if heavy-handed ways.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 25, 2013
    80
    Its aspirations and its execution are perfectly in sync; there is no way that Meyers could overact, or, indeed, not act enough, that would not suit the material.
  5. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 24, 2013
    80
    Watching this conspiracy, class warfare and romantic indiscretion collide makes for a hugely engaging show, all the more so because of the lushly photographed Victorian settings and droll dialogue.
  6. 80
    The show has a knack for Godfather-style plots and counter­plots, as well as for sixties Hammer-horror violence that doles out gore and suffering strategically: a dollop of blood here, a severed head there. There’s a bracing wantonness to the writers’ inventions here.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Oct 24, 2013
    75
    Rhys Meyers already has his fans, but he’s likely to win over skeptics as this new Dracula makes a seduction out of death.
  8. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 23, 2013
    75
    All dark shadows and gloom, there's a comic-book vigor to the series, and the narrative contortion of a soap.
  9. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 25, 2013
    70
    Nothing in Dracula is as unique or as wonderfully weird as "Twin Peaks," and Dracula plows through plot more quickly, introducing and then writing off several intriguing plots and characters within its first three episodes. It's too soon to say whether that will turn out to be wise or foolhardy, but Dracula at least gets off to a mildly promising start.
  10. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Oct 23, 2013
    63
    It's often dull and heavy-handed. Rhys Meyers is burdened with purposefully heightened dialogue that sounds silly at times. His Dracula is meant to be irresistible, but he's just plain creepy.
  11. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 23, 2013
    75
    Grayson/Dracula and his pals sound closer to characters from a '30s film than a 21st century TV series. But over time, as our modern ears adjust to the melodramatically declarative style, the antiquated dialogue enhances the other-worldly tone of the series.
  12. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 23, 2013
    67
    The first five episodes of Dracula, although unwieldy and murky at times, flex just enough storytelling power to keep the juices flowing.
  13. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 22, 2013
    70
    Like “Hannibal” (another NBC drama built around an antihero with a peculiar diet), this series pushes boundaries in terms of gore, torture and sex, flourishes that feel both organic and perhaps a bit less jarring given the fantastic setting and situations.
  14. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 15, 2013
    67
    Dracula shows a lot of skill when it comes to launching a swift-paced series and weaving together several taut story lines and characters; at times it even finds an undiscovered sweet spot between 'Downton Abbey' and Bela Lugosi. ... Only one crucial piece is missing: Dracula isn’t scary.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 58
  2. Negative: 7 out of 58
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    It has Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Need I say more? Well okay since I need 150 characters for this review to go through... This series followsIt has Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Need I say more? Well okay since I need 150 characters for this review to go through... This series follows Bram's Stokers version but with a modern adjustment. Dracula appears to be an antihero in this adaption making friends with someone I didn't expect... must watch to find out! Love the costumes, the Victoria setting, and all the many talented actors such as Ben Miles from Lark Rise to Candleford, Nonso Anozie from Game of Thrones, Anthony Howell from Wives and Daughters, Katie McGrath from Merlin, and many more. Now that Dexter and Breaking Bad are over and Homeland has sucked majorly this season... I will make this my must watch series. :D Full Review »
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    While I usually don't like to review "seasons" until they are finished, I would like to rate Dracula for being cutting edge when it comes toWhile I usually don't like to review "seasons" until they are finished, I would like to rate Dracula for being cutting edge when it comes to taking an original, classic novel, and turning it into something new. Much like Moulin Rogue, this show has a very modern/vintage vibe, although it is set during the Victorian era, that keeps drawing me back each Friday. The actors and actresses are amazing, and are multi-dimensional. Essentially, they are writing and casting correctly. As someone who has read the book, i love the twist they have given this show especially with Lucy/Mina. Kudos to Katie McGrath and her performance and chemistry with Mina, Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    I don't understand why this show got only 55.
    So far, from all the shows I follow, and it's a lot) It's the one of the only show that I
    I don't understand why this show got only 55.
    So far, from all the shows I follow, and it's a lot) It's the one of the only show that I liked.
    The story is interesting. The characters are skilled enough to give us a good show.
    And for once, a vampire isn't a god like.
    I agree the show isn't scary at all and it's why I only put 9.
    But the rest seems interesting and i hope the show will continue.
    Full Review »