• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 25, 2013
  • Season #: 1
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 191 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 191

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    It has Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Need I say more? Well okay since I need 150 characters for this review to go through... This series follows Bram's Stokers version but with a modern adjustment. Dracula appears to be an antihero in this adaption making friends with someone I didn't expect... must watch to find out! Love the costumes, the Victoria setting, and all the many talented actors suchIt has Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Need I say more? Well okay since I need 150 characters for this review to go through... This series follows Bram's Stokers version but with a modern adjustment. Dracula appears to be an antihero in this adaption making friends with someone I didn't expect... must watch to find out! Love the costumes, the Victoria setting, and all the many talented actors such as Ben Miles from Lark Rise to Candleford, Nonso Anozie from Game of Thrones, Anthony Howell from Wives and Daughters, Katie McGrath from Merlin, and many more. Now that Dexter and Breaking Bad are over and Homeland has sucked majorly this season... I will make this my must watch series. :D Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    I don't understand why this show got only 55.
    So far, from all the shows I follow, and it's a lot) It's the one of the only show that I liked.
    The story is interesting. The characters are skilled enough to give us a good show. And for once, a vampire isn't a god like. I agree the show isn't scary at all and it's why I only put 9. But the rest seems interesting and i hope the show
    I don't understand why this show got only 55.
    So far, from all the shows I follow, and it's a lot) It's the one of the only show that I liked.
    The story is interesting. The characters are skilled enough to give us a good show.
    And for once, a vampire isn't a god like.
    I agree the show isn't scary at all and it's why I only put 9.
    But the rest seems interesting and i hope the show will continue.
    Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    seems the the vimpire season but this realy captivate me be the production the drama and the Story likely nicolas tesla is involved some how but when the press want boycot u cant fight again the media
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    i really enjoyed watching it, it's something different on the tv and Meyers definitely is such an incredible and hilarious actor, i'm looking forward to it.
  5. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Im not a pro but I do love this show. The production, costumes, and acting are first class. Can say ALOT less of other shows on primetime right now that leave much to be desired. I hope it runs for YEARS!
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    9
    I didn't really like the first episode. I was shocked to learn that the beautiful accent I came to love in the Tudors series was being replaced by a Texas accent. Arghh! I really, really hated the modern music juxtaposed with the Victorian era ballroom scene. I almost changed the channel. But, I will say the series improves with each episode. Love the cast. Love the costumes. Love theI didn't really like the first episode. I was shocked to learn that the beautiful accent I came to love in the Tudors series was being replaced by a Texas accent. Arghh! I really, really hated the modern music juxtaposed with the Victorian era ballroom scene. I almost changed the channel. But, I will say the series improves with each episode. Love the cast. Love the costumes. Love the plot line. And I like the sympathetic angle used for Dracula's character. I look forward to seeing the program on Friday nights. Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    Absolutely love the show. Every week we look forward to it. The pageantry, the architecture, and the characters are outstanding. You got this one right NBC.
  8. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    This show is so great. I absolutely love. Love it. (I only wish it wasn't on Friday night. bad time slot) Love it so such, it makes me happy!!!! I love the characters, plot, the time period, Jonathan Rhys Meyers = perfect Dracula.
  9. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    I keep expecting Dracula to collapse beneath the weight of too many diverse elements that are uneasy in a Victorian setting, but somehow it holds itself together and holds my attention. The talented cast carries its burden well, particularly Meyers. The title character is a pleasing shade of gray and grows more faceted as the series progresses.
  10. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    Yes, it is so good! Please do some more Dracula! Me & my husband watch it on DVR every friday night, It gives me chills! Alexander Grayson is awesome!
  11. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Dracula is a great show! I love it! It keeps wanting more. It's nice to have a show with romance. The scenes are great. This is the first season you have to give it some time. As time goes you learn more about the characters.
  12. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    I love this show. Please bring it back for another season. Jonathan Rhys Meyers is an outstanding lead. It has definitely captured my attention. I look forward to every new show.
  13. Nov 30, 2013
    9
    Dracula is a well thought out series with some very interesting twists. I think that making Rhenfield a somewhat brilliant African American barrister, loyal for his own personal reasons and a person of integrity adds much depth and complexity to the story. Making Van Helsing an ally as opposed to an relentless adversary is another interesting twist. I anticipate this series will gain aDracula is a well thought out series with some very interesting twists. I think that making Rhenfield a somewhat brilliant African American barrister, loyal for his own personal reasons and a person of integrity adds much depth and complexity to the story. Making Van Helsing an ally as opposed to an relentless adversary is another interesting twist. I anticipate this series will gain a very loyal cult following from those lovers of vampire lore such as myself. Expand
  14. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Love this show. I look forward to this every Friday. Love the whole cast but Dracula & Renfield are my favorites. Hope it stays on air for more than 1 season.
  15. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    I just keep getting more hooked as this show progresses because it just keeps getting better with each episode. It's well written with amazing actors and a totally fresh take. I will be honest and say that at first I was unsure but I am glad I took the chance of watching a few episodes to fully get immersed in the ever expanding plot and well thought out story line. I think anyone whoI just keep getting more hooked as this show progresses because it just keeps getting better with each episode. It's well written with amazing actors and a totally fresh take. I will be honest and say that at first I was unsure but I am glad I took the chance of watching a few episodes to fully get immersed in the ever expanding plot and well thought out story line. I think anyone who goes into this show with an open mind and truly gives it a chance, which it deserves, will realize it is an amazing show. Expand
  16. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love Dracula! This is the best show that has been out out in a long time. The characters, costumes/outfits and plot are 100% phenomenal. Mr. Alexander (Dracula) is so sexy and Mina is Perfect! I look forward to watching this show and I can promise you will be on the edge of your seat every show!
  17. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    I love this show, and so do my son and daughter. We look forward to it every Friday. Jonathan Rhys Meyers is amazing as "Dracula". All of the characters are portrayed well. Their outfits are great, and I love any shows set in this time period. I really hope the show continues. It would be a shame for it not to be given another season. I can't believe anyone would find it boring.I love this show, and so do my son and daughter. We look forward to it every Friday. Jonathan Rhys Meyers is amazing as "Dracula". All of the characters are portrayed well. Their outfits are great, and I love any shows set in this time period. I really hope the show continues. It would be a shame for it not to be given another season. I can't believe anyone would find it boring. It is one of the best shows I've seen in a long time. Expand
  18. AGA
    Dec 19, 2013
    10
    Why oh why is the American audience so clueless? Dracula is exceedingly well written and executed. I went through all of the episodes in one sitting and can't wait till Jan 3rd. People are disappointed that it's not some rehashed version of something we've seen before? Yeah, that makes no sense at all! People, do yourselves a favor and enjoy this amazing new vision of something that hasWhy oh why is the American audience so clueless? Dracula is exceedingly well written and executed. I went through all of the episodes in one sitting and can't wait till Jan 3rd. People are disappointed that it's not some rehashed version of something we've seen before? Yeah, that makes no sense at all! People, do yourselves a favor and enjoy this amazing new vision of something that has been done many, many times over. God! The bad reviews remind me of the people who walked out of Inception and said that they didn't get it! The masses have absolutely zero imagination. If this show gets cancelled I'll be severely disappointed. Collapse
  19. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    I absolutely love this show. I am a fan of Bram Stroker's Dracula so I am in love with this show. The Victorian setting is perfect and although many say this is a slow start I am finding I cannot wait for the next show. I am saddened to think it may not go father than 10 shows. I hope it is not cancelled. I believe the actor Jonathan Rhys Meyers does an amazing job. I hope he gets hisI absolutely love this show. I am a fan of Bram Stroker's Dracula so I am in love with this show. The Victorian setting is perfect and although many say this is a slow start I am finding I cannot wait for the next show. I am saddened to think it may not go father than 10 shows. I hope it is not cancelled. I believe the actor Jonathan Rhys Meyers does an amazing job. I hope he gets his personal life in order and becomes sober. FYI.....I am a person who never leaves a review for a movie or TV show this is my first review ever!!!!! That's how much I love this show. Expand
  20. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    I would really like this show to be renewed for a second season. I started watching it late, using On Demand, but I caught up quickly and really enjoy the acting and storyline. I do not normally review television shows, but I think that if it is given a little more publicity others would grow to appreciate the show as well. I'm also looking forward to the season finale.
  21. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    This is a very interesting take on Dracula - one I must say I am addicted to! The plot gets better with each episode, and the relationships between the characters are very interesting to watch unfold. Definitely recommend this series.
  22. Jan 22, 2014
    9
    Jonathan Rhys Meyers is an amazing actor and the series is fantastic. Great plot..realistic. I love the fact that its not like other vampire shows that have too much of the fantasy feel. This vampire is sexy and a smart business man, intriguing.
  23. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Love the show. I like that it's a new twist and not just the same tired rehash. Love that Renfield's character is an intelligent, well educated attorney who chooses to be loyal to Dracula. It took a while to get used to Jonathan Rhys Meyers speaking with an American accent. He was fantastic in The Tudors and he has a very commanding presence in Dracula. I enjoy the uneasy allianceLove the show. I like that it's a new twist and not just the same tired rehash. Love that Renfield's character is an intelligent, well educated attorney who chooses to be loyal to Dracula. It took a while to get used to Jonathan Rhys Meyers speaking with an American accent. He was fantastic in The Tudors and he has a very commanding presence in Dracula. I enjoy the uneasy alliance between Dracula and Van Helsing. I was sad to see that next week is the season finale already. I certainly hope NBC brings the show back for another season. Expand
  24. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    Vlad the impaler did exist! Prince of Wallachia of the house of Draculesti,, But the mystery and myth derived from his existence is so compelling that centuries later his name is alive and well on our lips... Writers can do anything they want with this behemoth! I'm captivated by the show and love the humanity of Vlad- Alexander. Circumstance made him what he is and love drives him toVlad the impaler did exist! Prince of Wallachia of the house of Draculesti,, But the mystery and myth derived from his existence is so compelling that centuries later his name is alive and well on our lips... Writers can do anything they want with this behemoth! I'm captivated by the show and love the humanity of Vlad- Alexander. Circumstance made him what he is and love drives him to want to be human/whole again! Love the show! Will keep watching! Expand
  25. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    I can't wait for season 2 of Dracula. I think this show gets better and better with each episode. The "Huntsmen" are pretty badass. As is Dracula himself. I hope they renew it this year.
  26. Jan 27, 2014
    9
    This is an example of a well produced show with amazing art direction and set design that got so many things right, but failed to convince early viewers to stick around. It doesn't hit it's stride until about episode six and for those that stayed with it for the entire season, were rewarded with some great story telling and plot development. The first half of the season was all aboutThis is an example of a well produced show with amazing art direction and set design that got so many things right, but failed to convince early viewers to stick around. It doesn't hit it's stride until about episode six and for those that stayed with it for the entire season, were rewarded with some great story telling and plot development. The first half of the season was all about character development and setting up the confrontation for the second half. And confrontation there is, with plenty of nail biting moments and plot twists that makes you say "I didn't see that coming", along the way.

    For those that criticized the show in it's early days, you should revisit to see how it evolved into a drama worth watching.
    Expand
  27. Feb 6, 2014
    9
    Story build up is fascinating. Well fitting rolls for characters and plot twists to keep you guessing. The primal mix of violence and sex is greattttt
  28. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    Please don't cancel Dracula. I never miss an episode. It's well written and beautifully designed. Not a run of the mill vampire story, this one is thoughtful, with varied layered characters and plots. Exquisite sets and costume designs. Rhys-Meyers is beyond amazing. He IS Dracula. He manages to be both a monster and a sympathetic character who you're glad gets the girl in the seasonPlease don't cancel Dracula. I never miss an episode. It's well written and beautifully designed. Not a run of the mill vampire story, this one is thoughtful, with varied layered characters and plots. Exquisite sets and costume designs. Rhys-Meyers is beyond amazing. He IS Dracula. He manages to be both a monster and a sympathetic character who you're glad gets the girl in the season finale. Can't wait for what's next. Expand
  29. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    Dracula is the breakout sleeper hit of the year 2013. It's one of the best renditions of this old folklore story portrayed in recent years. I hope the delay in announcement of a season 2 is because of contact renewals & production scheduling with the actors and actresses, & not because of lack of interest in the show from it's fans. The NBC Dracula face book page has proved success forDracula is the breakout sleeper hit of the year 2013. It's one of the best renditions of this old folklore story portrayed in recent years. I hope the delay in announcement of a season 2 is because of contact renewals & production scheduling with the actors and actresses, & not because of lack of interest in the show from it's fans. The NBC Dracula face book page has proved success for this drama series by having well over 700,000 "Likes" & it seems to grow by a 1,000 plus every few days. I read that an announcement if there is to be a season 2 will be given sometime in May 2014. It would be wise to allow this show to remain in production for several seasons to come as it is a brilliant show and enjoyable to view. People are so dedicated to bring about the attention needed to help the decision to keep Dracula on air that petitions have been wrote. Fans are signing them by the thousands. The fans are from overseas as well as from stateside. The show is genius, superbly written, and the cast of actors and actresses are a force to be reckoned with. Their performance's abilities are outstanding. Dracula follows the original story close enough but with a steam punk modernistic approach. Which is clever to keep the storyline intriguing and captivating. The sets are spot on with the time era and full of splendor. The costumes are handsome and glamorous. It's refreshing to have a show for the mature viewership and one that reaches out to an all gender audience. A show that has none of the following; federal agents, singing comps, absurd and/or obscured talent shows, police chases, fires that are put out in seconds, unfunny comedy situations, gangs & drug lords running amok in neighborhoods, & celeb games. TV airtime has been saturated with all of this for years and it's tiresome. To have this unique show Dracula for just one season would be unjust to the viewers. Expand
  30. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    I can't wait for the next season, this series are awesome, it's not some cheesy vampires who are trying not to stain the shirt while drinking blood, it has fight, speculations, romance, and Jonathan Rhys Meyers. ;)
  31. Apr 4, 2014
    9
    This show is a must watch, the only disappointing thing is that it only aired 10 episodes. Jonathan Rhys Meyers does an excellent job playing Dracula. Draculas' side-kick/confidante Nonso Anozie AKA Mr.Renfield does an excellent job as well. Can't wait to see season two and soon! Hope there will be a few more episodes added then season one.
  32. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    An amazing show that deserves another season. The multiple story lines are masterfully intertwined while using various historical and cultural sources to give the viewer a new twist to this legendary tale.
  33. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Absolutely loved This show . Couldn't get enough , the story is so magical you want more . Sure it's a well known story , but JRM brings this character back to life once again , breathtaking and sexy . Would love to see a second series to see what happens next . Can definitely keep up with the current series . Love. Love love Dracula
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 7 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Billy Nilles
    Oct 28, 2013
    30
    Dracula is meant to be powerful and alluring, but this version of him feels stilted and withdrawn.
  2. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Oct 25, 2013
    40
    Unfortunately, this Dracula isn’t fun at all. It’s not really scary, either, although it does spill a lot of blood.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Oct 25, 2013
    20
    Not funny enough to be campy, not smart enough to be serious, NBC's Dracula is an incomprehensible mishmash in period costumes.