Drunk History Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Derek Waters, Matt Gourley
  • Summary: Jack Black, Michael Cera, Dave Grohl, Winona Ryder, and Kristen Wiig are some of actors on the comedy show based on the Funny Or Die concept where historical reenactments are explained by drunk narrators.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Educational
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Jul 2, 2013
    83
    If you're thinking about how long it'll be before this joke gets old, then you are not alone. Until then, Drunk History is a high-concept riot.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jul 8, 2013
    80
    Comedy Central has been able to take a can’t-miss idea and move it from short online sketches to a series of sketches that fill a half hour of television with a unified theme and increased production value, while bringing the brilliant idea to a wider audience.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jul 9, 2013
    80
    Some will find it offensive, immoral, irresponsible--a highly defensible position. It's also very funny, a thing of twisted genius and, for the next eight weeks possibly the most original comedy on television.
  4. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jul 9, 2013
    60
    How funny you find all this basically depends on how funny you find drunk people. And not fake-movie drunk people, but realistically drunk people: a little confused, no longer so good with words, and very sleepy.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 8, 2013
    40
    More often than not, watching Drunk History is like being the only sober person at a party where none of the people present are your friends.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 8, 2013
    40
    There’s a chuckle here and a chuckle there, but it’s impossible to escape the feeling that you’ve just been forwarded a stale Internet meme from your dad.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 9, 2013
    20
    The whole exercise has a distinct homemovie feel to it--a small-ball mentality suited to short bursts on the Web, perhaps, but an utter waste of empty, dimwitted calories blown up and out for television.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Forget the critics. If you can't enjoy the ridiculous things drunk people say while sober, then you must be Buzz Killington. The lip sync byForget the critics. If you can't enjoy the ridiculous things drunk people say while sober, then you must be Buzz Killington. The lip sync by A-list talents while sober of someone who is completely inebriated is the best thing to watch. Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    My girlfriend had me watch a clip, and I was genuinely uninterested. I watched the show out of boredom and it quickly became my favorite showMy girlfriend had me watch a clip, and I was genuinely uninterested. I watched the show out of boredom and it quickly became my favorite show on Comedy Central I enjoy the learning aspect of it and they're speaking a youthful language absolutely hilarious hopefully they re-up it for another season. Collapse
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    9
    Oh man...this show is spectacular. The first few episodes are a little off if you were a fan of the series. By the 4th episode, it reallyOh man...this show is spectacular. The first few episodes are a little off if you were a fan of the series. By the 4th episode, it really takes off with Winona Ryder, Jason Ritter (in a star turn), Bob Oedenkirk and Nick Offerman. And the storytellers keep getting more and more bizarre.

    This has to be picked up for a second season but, knowing Comedy Central nowadays, it probably won't.

    When you see an internet "thing" become a TV show, you prepare yourself for the worst. But this stays true to the original concept and builds on it to make for a well-rounded show that can only get more entertaining as it figures out what it is and what it could possibly grow into.
    Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    Drunk history is pretty darn funny. Its a bit of a side step from the online skits as the budget and production have changed but the mainDrunk history is pretty darn funny. Its a bit of a side step from the online skits as the budget and production have changed but the main premise is still the same. Get famous people drunk and have them tell historical events about and in 3rd perspective of famous historical people.

    This show is quite funny and accurate too. It puts a wonderful spin on the mundane telling of historical characters and best of all the thing that matters the most is that the show is entertaining.
    Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2014
    7
    This is a creative concept for a show and everything is funny except the fake drunk acting. These guys are professional actors, they should beThis is a creative concept for a show and everything is funny except the fake drunk acting. These guys are professional actors, they should be more believable and maybe even really get drunk. They make getting drunk look so painful and pitiful. Except for the American Music episode. When Eric REALLY drinks the other guys giggle like little school girls who havent gotten really drunk IN A LONG TIME! Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2013
    5
    I mean, Drunk History isn't necessarily bad. It grows on you, and after a while you find yourself laughing, but it takes too long for anyoneI mean, Drunk History isn't necessarily bad. It grows on you, and after a while you find yourself laughing, but it takes too long for anyone with a remotely busy schedule to watch and find funny, and other than a few funny moments, it's pretty boring Expand
  7. Jul 15, 2014
    1
    This would probably be hilarious if the actors didn't all sound like Dee Reynolds when she is wasted, which by the way, is a really ****This would probably be hilarious if the actors didn't all sound like Dee Reynolds when she is wasted, which by the way, is a really **** portrayal of a drunk person. I think the concept of the show is good, but the execution is very poor. I was actually pretty excited when I first saw the commercials for the show, but when I got to watch it, it was just a let down. The actors slur their words and talk in a monotone voice, that's about it. THe only real compliments I have, is that Drunk History is at least slightly better than the Kroll Show Expand

See all 8 User Reviews