• Network: A&E
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 21, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Tanner Stransky
    Aug 12, 2013
    58
    If you're the type of person who loves when a duckcall patriarch licks a hook under the guise of fishing technique, this is your show.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Aug 14, 2013
    80
    They’re wry and smart about each other and sometimes themselves. Everything also comes out funnier because it’s refreshingly underplayed.
  3. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Aug 14, 2013
    91
    Complaining about the show's pre-fab structure is like shootin' fish in a barrel--no point to ask what's-the-point, no fair to ponder whether it's fair, because you end up with dinner anyhow, and folks gonna gobble it. Duck Dynasty is tasty enough.
  4. Reviewed by: Oliver Jones
    Aug 16, 2013
    75
    At this point the show may lack in si-prises, but like one of Miss Kay's lovingly prepared brisket dinners, there's pleasing comfort in its familiarity. [26 Aug 2013, p.37]
  5. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 12, 2013
    63
    The show is edited almost like a sitcom to draw out maximum humor, with cutaway interviews of cast members at just the right moments to reinforce their folksy philosophies. One could complain about the gender stereotypes at play, but the roles are so exaggerated here it seems the show and the Robertsons are mocking those biases.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Aug 14, 2013
    75
    As concocted backwoods “reality” shows go, it’s stepped to the head of the class and far surpassed the likes of TLC’s Here Comes Honey Boo Boo and Buck Wild.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 8, 2014
    5
    During Season 1 and Season 2 I had to plan my week around making sure I was home to watch the new Duck Dynasty episode for the week, any more I couldn't even tell you what night it is on. Duck Dynasty has jumped the shark and gotten pretty ridiculous with the things they are doing. It is still worth stopping on a new episode to get a few laughs out of Si, but the crux of the show is a rehearsed skit anymore. It reminds me of the shows on True TV. It is worth watching if you know going into it that you are going to get a staged routine. Even if you know that going in you will still be able to get some laughs out of it, but come on! You can't tell me Si and Willie being handcuffed together or Willie's disaster of a speech at the 60's club didn't seem a little too forced. These people have turned into TV characters leaving The Big Bang Theory to be as reality TV as Duck Dynasty is. Full Review »
  2. Sep 11, 2013
    6
    Started off strong but has sort of faded as the season goes on. Plenty of episodes left to rebound though so I am not that worried. It's always been an enjoyable show. Full Review »