• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 27, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Elementary Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A case brings Sherlock and Joan to London, where they also meet Sherlock's estranged brother, Mycroft (Rhys Ifans) in the second season opener.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    Again, with the lady and male side kick or vice versa? Again?

    Now these guys really pulled it off with this one. Being a big fan of Monk,
    Black List, Mentalist and Perception the one thing that really set this one apart for me was the dark side to Sherlock. Jonny Lee Miller performs award winning acting with every episode. Absolutely love the series! Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    The premier episode is again fantastic and I can't wait for the rest of the season 2. Love the dinamic between Sherlock and Watson. again a perfect 10 :D Expand
  3. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Nothing like the tired old attempts at re hashing the same old style thank god. Its about time a new perspective was put on the Sir Arthur Conan Doyle character and this is it. Sherlock has arrived in the present day. Jonny Lee Miller I.M.L.T.H.O has relegated all those before him to pretenders to the throne the same can be said of Lucy Liu`s Watson. No doubt there`s loads of sticks stuck in the mud denigrating it with banal statements like "its Americanised" but who cares. Its better and is a refreshing slant on something that has been getting tired. Excellent Collapse
  4. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    This is the most interesting version of the Sherlock character I have seen to date. This Holmes character is just fun to watch with all his peculiarities. Jonny Lee Miller is brilliant in the role. He delivers the arrogance, and condescension of his character in a matter of fact fashion, yet makes him likable. I love offbeat characters, and this Holmes is as offbeat as it gets. Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The second season of Elementary proves that you can blend a crime drama with a Holmesian world and do it in an interesting way.

    If you've checked my other reviews, you'll know I'm not a big fan of the BBC opposing series about the worlds Greatest Detective, so before I go on, I'll state it right here. I do not judge one series on the other, I base their pro's and cons on what they are rather than what they could be.

    There isn't a major overarching plot in this season to really talk about, each episode is self contained and mostly standalone, there is a little bleeding of aspects as characters get personal stories going from episode to episode and I expect that from a procedural drama, but I really don't have a problem with that, it's the characters that I watch this show for and in that it's been done brilliantly.

    Season 2 expands on every character seen in season 1, I love the interplay between Johnny Lee Miller's Holmes with everyone throughout this, from Lucy Liu's Watson-I'll get to her later-to Rhys Ifans Mycroft, you can see the multi-layered person that a Holmes would be. And I love the way that the addiction aspect of Holmes is being given more and more air time, I said it before that as a narrative aid, drug addiction isn't something to just throw away when you're done with it, if you've had ANY addiction, you'll know the constant temptation to fall back on it and seeing that in Miller this season was wonderful.

    My honestly favourite character in this season turned out to be Jon Michael Hill's Marcus Bell, the aspects of seeing his struggle in the latter half of this season was brilliant and Hill brought a realism to a potentially debilitating injury.

    Lucy Liu's Watson has had a good character improvement during season 2, I like her development from just being an aid for Holmes to showing her own deductive skills and willingness to strike out on her own somewhat, what I don't like is her aspect with Mycroft and the implications of what it means. I'm all for seeing the sexiness of Lucy Liu, I just don't like the idea that it detracts from her character somewhat.

    This is definitely a good looking continuation to series and with season 3 already green lit, I'm anxiously awaiting the Autumn.
    Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    A great show that will disappoint traditionalists but will certainly entertain most. It is a smart show, that brings a freshness to the crime procedural genre. Miller is a phenomenal actor and Liu seems to get increasingly comfortable in her role and starts to become a satisfying partner in the second season. Expand

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Second Look: Elementary (CBS)

    Fall TV Second Look: Elementary (CBS) Image
    Published: October 26, 2012
    The modern-day Sherlock Holmes drama "Elementary" had one of the best-reviewed pilots of the fall season. Find out if critics still like the hit drama now that we're four episodes in.