Elementary : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 27, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Elementary Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 303 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After a stint in rehab, Sherlock Holmes (Jonny Lee Miller) resumes work, this time consulting with the NYPD. His father, however, has appointed him a sober companion in the form of Dr. Joan Watson (Lucy Liu).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 4, 2012
    88
    [A] highly satisfying update. [8 Oct 2012, p.57]
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 14, 2012
    83
    Elementary exhibits enough stylish wit in its mood and look to quickly distinguish itself from the latest British "Sherlock" series.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Sep 27, 2012
    80
    Stylishly directed, Elementary is one loaded show, including its wonderful, well-matched leads.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 25, 2012
    75
    Elementary will probably infuriate Sherlock Holmes purists, but other viewers are likely to find it gripping and well cast.
  5. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Sep 26, 2012
    75
    Miller is infinitely watchable as the twitchy detective, and I'm sure Liu will bring more to Watson if she's given the chance.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 27, 2012
    70
    Miller's approach may be different from Benedict Cumberbatch's in "Sherlock," but he's as riveting a screen presence. Even if you don't care about the weekly whodunit--and mostly, I don't--Elementary" could be fun.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 25, 2012
    40
    The two leads lack any kind of chemistry, platonic or otherwise, and the storytelling lacks the smarts and insight of one of TV's best Sherlockian creations, "House."

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 56
  2. Negative: 11 out of 56
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    I watched the BBC's Sherlock before watching this. Sherlock is boring, but this is exciting. Jonny Miller's acting is fantastic, Lucy LuiI watched the BBC's Sherlock before watching this. Sherlock is boring, but this is exciting. Jonny Miller's acting is fantastic, Lucy Lui not that much. There were a few boring episodes, but overall the best new series Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is so dramatic and very funny sometimes with its quotes. Also, it's funny because of Sherlock! He is always so nervous! He has his own room always upside down! Such a lunatic person!

    All the episodes had a very complicated and encoded connection in one way or another, which makes it more mysterious and adventurous! My best episode: 110 The Leviathan!

    The filming set is very good. Each viewing angle has been filmed perfectly.

    Cant wait for season's 2 episodes
    Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    When BF made me watch it I was skeptical. Another procedural? Cute Asian chick as Watson? I read Sherlock as a kid and that casting is justWhen BF made me watch it I was skeptical. Another procedural? Cute Asian chick as Watson? I read Sherlock as a kid and that casting is just weird. Then again Homeland and Dexter and Breaking Bad are still in the works. Nothing much to watch so I sat through two episodes... At first Lucy Liu just felt too flat and subtle in contrast to Jonny Lee Miller's OTT mad theatrical style. As the fast pace story progressed...I GOT HOOKED. There's a point to their high contrast delivery! Well-written plots, well directed pacing, quick yet allow for character's personalities to shine through. No boring get-this-over-and-done-with-quick moments, not overly procedural-ish...no cheesy weirdness, only surprises after surprises. Well done Elementary team! Can't wait for next series.... Quiicccckkk! Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    Yes Sherlock is much better! I know! I love Sherlock as well! But this series is very different and very good! Now onto the review:Yes Sherlock is much better! I know! I love Sherlock as well! But this series is very different and very good! Now onto the review:
    Elementary is a very different take on the Sherlock character. I really liked the way this series focused on what it's like to be Sherlock Holmes and slightly less on the cases (Which can be good or forgettable). I am still waiting for Moriarty to make his appearance because I do feel that this series needs some kind of overarching villain (There is still time for that though).
    This series does however have a habit of people receiving potentially fatal injuries but being ok afterwards.
    This series has great performances by all the main cast especially Johnny Lee Miller. Also Watson is actually being taught by Sherlock at how to be a detective.
    Yes I know Watson is a girl but don't worry there isn't really any major changes to her personality.
    So all in all I enthusiastically recommend this series.
    Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2015
    7
    I always found the “traditional” Sherlock Holmes stories incredibly boring and I am really glad this show is anything but.

    I truly like the
    I always found the “traditional” Sherlock Holmes stories incredibly boring and I am really glad this show is anything but.

    I truly like the idea of having Watson as a woman and the first series played brilliantly for me. I find Lee Miller’s Sherlock intriguing and interesting. His character is actually developing nicely and his relation with Watson (played by a not-as-good Lucy Liu) is one of the most intriguing and no-cliché that I have seen on TV in a long, long time.

    I just hope Lucy Liu will improve along the way, because she tends to be quite flat and not engaging, especially compared to the great Lee Miller performance.
    Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2012
    4
    I gave it to the first commercial. Police show with eccentric detective, whose eccentricities have been worn thin. Holmes was great before II gave it to the first commercial. Police show with eccentric detective, whose eccentricities have been worn thin. Holmes was great before I was born and modernizing him makes him look......yawn. Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2012
    0
    Desecrates Holmes and Watson. If they insist on a touchy feely show, leave out any references to Holmes. Typically American reworking,Desecrates Holmes and Watson. If they insist on a touchy feely show, leave out any references to Holmes. Typically American reworking, Watson steps in to humanize and dumb down Holmes. As soon as Lucy took over, I knew it was doomed. Goodbye subtle, intelligent television. Expand

See all 56 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble

    Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble Image
    Published: March 10, 2016
    Get the latest renew/cancel predictions for 40 TV shows still on the bubble, including Agent Carter, The X-Files, Elementary, Grimm, iZombie, Nashville, American Crime, and more.
  2. Fall TV Second Look: Elementary (CBS)

    Fall TV Second Look: Elementary (CBS) Image
    Published: October 26, 2012
    The modern-day Sherlock Holmes drama "Elementary" had one of the best-reviewed pilots of the fall season. Find out if critics still like the hit drama now that we're four episodes in.