Emily Owens, M.D. : Season 1

  • Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 16, 2012
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Oct 23, 2012
    50
    Gummer, so good as a clever lawyer on The Good Wife, deserves better than this role as a grown-up, moony teenage girl, even as she makes Emily far more interesting than her own insipid voice-over narration would suggest.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Oct 15, 2012
    50
    The problem is more likely to be the generic nature of Emily's misadventures, and the soap opera implausibility of the medical stories, which is extreme, even for the genre.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 15, 2012
    50
    Finally you get the sense that Meryl Streep's daughter is coming into her own as an actress and even a lead. But Emily needs a script doc, stat.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 15, 2012
    50
    If this all seems too precious, well, it is. But the show is saved by Ms. Gummer and a relentless pace.
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 12, 2012
    50
    The rest of the cast is fine, but without Gummer, they couldn't begin to rescue the series from its enormous burden of predictability and cliche.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 15, 2012
    42
    Adult life may be like high school some of the time, but it isn't all of the time--and a show suggesting that it is becomes just as difficult to endure as some of the worse memories of high school itself.
  7. 40
    The plot has a few moments designed to reassure us that Emily is a competent grown-up who's good at her job, but for the most part, she comes off as a bland, clueless, simpering person who doesn't realize how accomplished (and privileged) she is.
  8. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 15, 2012
    40
    Emily Owens M.D. begins with the mildly interesting if familiar premise that real life is just like high school. Unfortunately, that idea does not become a launching pad for an interesting story.
  9. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Oct 12, 2012
    40
    "Grey's" keeps the high-school analogy to itself. Emily Owens M.D. never stops making the too-obvious comparisons out loud.
  10. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 12, 2012
    40
    As is, there's nary a beat in Emily Owens' pitter-pattering heart we haven't seen elsewhere, as if the whole thing was stitched together from pieces of medical-and young-adult series past.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    4
    I have wanted a new medical drama for a long time. So I'm not going to give this show a negative review, because it does what a medical dramaI have wanted a new medical drama for a long time. So I'm not going to give this show a negative review, because it does what a medical drama should do. It tells the stories of the patients, it showcases the lives of the doctors, it's in a hospital. There is one thing that makes my rating so low. It's the fact that it just seems like a Grey's Anatomy copy, only worse. I hate how it focuses more on the personal lives of the doctors. I also don't like how she talks in her head. This show is kind of annoying. I would recommend it if nothing else is on TV. Full Review »
  2. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    I like the show. It's interesting and decent, a relief after seeing those junky reality shows and rude sitcoms being advertised. I'm ratherI like the show. It's interesting and decent, a relief after seeing those junky reality shows and rude sitcoms being advertised. I'm rather unhappy that it's been canceled after season 1. Full Review »
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    I love this show. I am so sad to hear it is being canceled. It is not often I feel connected to characters in a show these days, I do withI love this show. I am so sad to hear it is being canceled. It is not often I feel connected to characters in a show these days, I do with these. I think it is because many of us have been in Emily's place in some way. It is one of my absolutely favorite shows. Full Review »