• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 16, 2012
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Carina Adly MacKenzie
    Oct 16, 2012
    80
    If you're hoping for a slow-building romance, a relatable lead character, and a sweet follow-up to lighthearted lead-in "Hart of Dixie," you're in the right place.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 16, 2012
    80
    A show with the twin themes that life is high school and the past cannot be escaped sounds inordinately depressing, but the writing and performances on Emily rise far above the apparent limitations.
  3. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Oct 16, 2012
    75
    Thanks to the clever writing and a very appealing performance by Gummer, this is one of my favorites of the fall season.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 16, 2012
    70
    It is smartly written and well played.... This series is also going to be very much a matter of taste.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 15, 2012
    67
    Gummer's a gamer, investing her lead character with smarts, compassion and no small amount of discombobulation. She injects the ordinary with her own unique prescription brand pick-me-ups, making Emily Owens bearable when it's not fully embraceable.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 12, 2012
    67
    At least Emily proves she's got the chops to cast a shadow of her own.
  7. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Oct 16, 2012
    63
    Gummer's a good actress in a mediocre sitcom; one that skirts the line between grown-up series and one that will appeal to The CW's young-girl demographic.
  8. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 12, 2012
    63
    It's like watching someone try to flirt while stuck in a revolving door. But Gummer has a whirring charm that never settles for mere adorkability. [22 Oct 2012m p.42]
  9. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 11, 2012
    63
    The show isn't revolutionary, but it is sweet and relatable.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    4
    I have wanted a new medical drama for a long time. So I'm not going to give this show a negative review, because it does what a medical dramaI have wanted a new medical drama for a long time. So I'm not going to give this show a negative review, because it does what a medical drama should do. It tells the stories of the patients, it showcases the lives of the doctors, it's in a hospital. There is one thing that makes my rating so low. It's the fact that it just seems like a Grey's Anatomy copy, only worse. I hate how it focuses more on the personal lives of the doctors. I also don't like how she talks in her head. This show is kind of annoying. I would recommend it if nothing else is on TV. Full Review »
  2. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    I like the show. It's interesting and decent, a relief after seeing those junky reality shows and rude sitcoms being advertised. I'm ratherI like the show. It's interesting and decent, a relief after seeing those junky reality shows and rude sitcoms being advertised. I'm rather unhappy that it's been canceled after season 1. Full Review »
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    I love this show. I am so sad to hear it is being canceled. It is not often I feel connected to characters in a show these days, I do withI love this show. I am so sad to hear it is being canceled. It is not often I feel connected to characters in a show these days, I do with these. I think it is because many of us have been in Emily's place in some way. It is one of my absolutely favorite shows. Full Review »