• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 16, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Carina Adly MacKenzie
    Oct 16, 2012
    80
    If you're hoping for a slow-building romance, a relatable lead character, and a sweet follow-up to lighthearted lead-in "Hart of Dixie," you're in the right place.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 16, 2012
    80
    A show with the twin themes that life is high school and the past cannot be escaped sounds inordinately depressing, but the writing and performances on Emily rise far above the apparent limitations.
  3. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Oct 16, 2012
    75
    Thanks to the clever writing and a very appealing performance by Gummer, this is one of my favorites of the fall season.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 16, 2012
    70
    It is smartly written and well played.... This series is also going to be very much a matter of taste.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 15, 2012
    67
    Gummer's a gamer, investing her lead character with smarts, compassion and no small amount of discombobulation. She injects the ordinary with her own unique prescription brand pick-me-ups, making Emily Owens bearable when it's not fully embraceable.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 12, 2012
    67
    At least Emily proves she's got the chops to cast a shadow of her own.
  7. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Oct 16, 2012
    63
    Gummer's a good actress in a mediocre sitcom; one that skirts the line between grown-up series and one that will appeal to The CW's young-girl demographic.
  8. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 12, 2012
    63
    It's like watching someone try to flirt while stuck in a revolving door. But Gummer has a whirring charm that never settles for mere adorkability. [22 Oct 2012m p.42]
  9. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 11, 2012
    63
    The show isn't revolutionary, but it is sweet and relatable.
  10. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Oct 23, 2012
    50
    Gummer, so good as a clever lawyer on The Good Wife, deserves better than this role as a grown-up, moony teenage girl, even as she makes Emily far more interesting than her own insipid voice-over narration would suggest.
  11. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Oct 15, 2012
    50
    The problem is more likely to be the generic nature of Emily's misadventures, and the soap opera implausibility of the medical stories, which is extreme, even for the genre.
  12. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 15, 2012
    50
    If this all seems too precious, well, it is. But the show is saved by Ms. Gummer and a relentless pace.
  13. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 15, 2012
    50
    Finally you get the sense that Meryl Streep's daughter is coming into her own as an actress and even a lead. But Emily needs a script doc, stat.
  14. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 12, 2012
    50
    The rest of the cast is fine, but without Gummer, they couldn't begin to rescue the series from its enormous burden of predictability and cliche.
  15. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 15, 2012
    42
    Adult life may be like high school some of the time, but it isn't all of the time--and a show suggesting that it is becomes just as difficult to endure as some of the worse memories of high school itself.
  16. 40
    The plot has a few moments designed to reassure us that Emily is a competent grown-up who's good at her job, but for the most part, she comes off as a bland, clueless, simpering person who doesn't realize how accomplished (and privileged) she is.
  17. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 15, 2012
    40
    Emily Owens M.D. begins with the mildly interesting if familiar premise that real life is just like high school. Unfortunately, that idea does not become a launching pad for an interesting story.
  18. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Oct 12, 2012
    40
    "Grey's" keeps the high-school analogy to itself. Emily Owens M.D. never stops making the too-obvious comparisons out loud.
  19. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 12, 2012
    40
    As is, there's nary a beat in Emily Owens' pitter-pattering heart we haven't seen elsewhere, as if the whole thing was stitched together from pieces of medical-and young-adult series past.
  20. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 26, 2012
    30
    The greatest problem for Ms. Gummer, and everyone else in the cast, has to do with the script, a terminal case of the well-known vacant mind disorder, to which large quarters of the TV writing world are, it would seem, particularly susceptible.
  21. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 16, 2012
    30
    Emily Owens had me cringing from its opening scene all the way through its second episode.
  22. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 15, 2012
    25
    ABC's upcoming Malibu Country is a more egregious waste of talent. But only Emily can provoke an almost irresistible urge to scream, "Shut up, shut up, shut up," at your TV screen.
  23. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 14, 2012
    25
    There's something demeaning about the whole set-up.
  24. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 16, 2012
    0
    Think a less charming Ally McBeal in scrubs, acting out with all the maturity of the dancing baby, and that still can't approximate the annoying aftertaste of this cringe-inducing misfire.
  25. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 12, 2012
    0
    There is not one smart or endurable moment in this series.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    4
    I have wanted a new medical drama for a long time. So I'm not going to give this show a negative review, because it does what a medical dramaI have wanted a new medical drama for a long time. So I'm not going to give this show a negative review, because it does what a medical drama should do. It tells the stories of the patients, it showcases the lives of the doctors, it's in a hospital. There is one thing that makes my rating so low. It's the fact that it just seems like a Grey's Anatomy copy, only worse. I hate how it focuses more on the personal lives of the doctors. I also don't like how she talks in her head. This show is kind of annoying. I would recommend it if nothing else is on TV. Full Review »
  2. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    I like the show. It's interesting and decent, a relief after seeing those junky reality shows and rude sitcoms being advertised. I'm ratherI like the show. It's interesting and decent, a relief after seeing those junky reality shows and rude sitcoms being advertised. I'm rather unhappy that it's been canceled after season 1. Full Review »
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    I love this show. I am so sad to hear it is being canceled. It is not often I feel connected to characters in a show these days, I do withI love this show. I am so sad to hear it is being canceled. It is not often I feel connected to characters in a show these days, I do with these. I think it is because many of us have been in Emily's place in some way. It is one of my absolutely favorite shows. Full Review »